$75 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 23, 2014 Check-out: Dec 26, 2014

BEST WESTERN Twin Islands

3 stars
539 Parkway, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3201
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
157 reviews
Fabulous Customer Service

My husband and I took a much needed getaway and had car trouble the whole time. The staff were so... See full review

  • Satisfied In Alabama
  • Nov 30, 2014
Long weekend getaway

We had a great time away. Our stay was just what we needed and more than we expected! The staff was... See full review

  • Lookin' For A Break
  • Nov 15, 2014
Gatlinburg hotel surrounded by streams in the center of the town
The Best Western Twin Islands is located in the center of Gatlinburg within walking distance to Ripley's Aquarium of the Smokies and many restaurants and shops. Streams surround the hotel, and all the rooms have balconies overlooking the water. A large playground and heated, seasonal outdoor pool attract families. Guests can even fish on the property. Business bonuses include meeting facilities, high-speed Internet access and fax and photocopy services.
Highlights
  • Unique setting amid mountain streams can be enjoyed from each room's balcony
  • Centrally located in downtown Gatlinburg within walking distance to many museums, shops and restaurants
  • Large playground for children and heated, seasonal outdoor pool
Location
The Best Western Twin Islands is surrounded by mountain streams, yet the hotel is centrally located in downtown Gatlinburg. Ripley's Aquarium of the Smokies is within walking distance, as are a number of shops, restaurants and museums. The hotel is on the trolley route. The famed Great Smoky Mountains National Park with its hiking and outdoor activities is a short drive away.
Rooms

Every room at the Best Western Twin Islands has a balcony overlooking a stream. Both rooms and suites are available, and options include a whirlpool, a fireplace, a microwave and a refrigerator or a kitchen set-up. Rooms have dark carpeting and printed bedspreads. Cable satellite TVs, local calls less than 30 minutes and Internet access are complimentary at the hotel. The Best Western Twin Islands also has exterior corridors.

Features
The Best Western Twin Islands appeals to families with its sizable playground for children and heated, seasonal outdoor pool. Fishing access on the property is a bonus, too.
Transportation
  • McGhee Tyson Airport (27.7 mi/44.6 km)
Attractions
  • Ripley's Aquarium of the Smokies (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Gatlinburg Convention Center (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Great Smoky Mountains National Park (2.8 mi/4.5 km)
  • Ober-Gatlinburg (3.7 mi/6 km)
  • Pigeon Forge (7.1 mi/11.4 km)
  • Dollywood's Splash Country (7.4 mi/11.9 km)
  • Pigeon Forge Factory Outlet Mall (8 mi/12.9 km)
  • Dollywood (8.7 mi/14 km)
  • WonderWorks (9.7 mi/15.6 km)
  • Knoxville Zoo (38 mi/61.2 km)
Business
  • Business center with fax and photocopy services
  • Meeting facilities
  • Free wireless Internet

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN Twin Islands also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

BEST WESTERN Twin Islands Rooms

2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,SMOK,FIREPLACE,RIVER VW,HI SPEED,MICRFG,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,RIVER VW,HI SPEED,MICRFG,COFMKR,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,WHRPL,RIVER VW,MICRFG,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACC,BATHTUB,MINI SUITE,NSMK,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,MINSTE,WHRLPL,FIREPLC,MICRFG,RIVER,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,SMOK,NO VIEW,WHRLPL,FIREPLACE,MICRFG,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
SUITE-2 DOUBLE BEDS
SUITE-2 DOUBLE BEDS,NSMK,APARTMENT,KITCHEN,LIVE RM,HI SPEED,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
SUITE-2 ROOMS 3 BEDS
SUITE-2 ROOMS 3 BEDS,NSMK,3 DBL BEDS,APTMENT,KITCHEN,LIVE RM,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
SUITE-2 ROOMS 3 BEDS
SUITE-2 ROOMS 3 BEDS,SMOK,1 KNG,2 DBL BEDS,APTMENT,KITCHEN,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING 1 QUEEN
SUITE-1 KING 1 QUEEN,NSMK,APTMENT,KITCHEN,RIVER VW,HI SPEED,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,NSMK,RIVER VW,HI SPEED,MICRFG,COFMKR,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,SMOK,FIREPLACE,RIVER VW,HI SPEED,MICRFG,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,SMOK,WHRPL,FIREPLACE,RIVER VW,MICRFG,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
SUITE-2 QUEEN BEDS
SUITE-2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,WHRPL,FIREPLACE,RIVER VW,MICRFG,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,BATHTUB,VIEW,NSMK,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,NSMK,FIREPLACE,RIVER VW,HI SPEED,MICRFG,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,FIREPLACE,RIVER VW,HI SPEED,MICRFG,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,RIVER VW,HI SPEED,MICRFG,COFMKR,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Play ground
Horseback riding
Dining
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Guest laundromat
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Phone with speaker
Kitchen
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Fire place
Sofa bed
Electronic door locks
Ironing board

Dining

Hard Rock Café
Adjacent to Hard Rock Café, 7:00 a.m. to 10:00 p.m.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (157)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN Twin Islands

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
157 out of 157
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN Twin Islands

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jenny Gary S.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Sep 2, 2012

Late Summer Vacation

We were very pleased with the room, staff, and location. We will stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Twin Islands

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Satisfied In Alabama
Business
Gadsden, AL, USA
Nov 30, 2014

Fabulous Customer Service

My husband and I took a much needed getaway and had car trouble the whole time. The staff were so nice and let me sit in the lobby while he worked on the car after checkout. It took hours and he was unable to make the repair. The manager brought him coffee while he was working and canned drinks without my asking. The whole staff was understanding and friendly even though we were taking up their parking lot space. Would definitely recommend staying here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Twin Islands

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lookin' For A Break
Business
Portland Tennessee
Nov 15, 2014

Long weekend getaway

We had a great time away. Our stay was just what we needed and more than we expected! The staff was exceptional - the most friendly people you'll ever meet. We felt like we were leaving good friends when we did leave. After walking so much during the day the jacuzzi was wonderful to come back to. All in all, we will return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Sarcasm is their claim to fame but it is a fun place and the food is good so stop in at Dick's Last Resort.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Twin Islands

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Surprise birthday visit
Business
Harrisburg, PA
Oct 19, 2014

Twin Island review

Very good location and accomodations. The only issue was noise from rooms above us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Twin Islands

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
HoosierGirl
Business
Indiana
Oct 12, 2014

Never again...

Location was great and the outdoor hot tub was nice and warm. Breakfast lady was really nice. Other than that, I will never stay again. It started with me booking through here and the first thing the front desk woman said, was that my Best Western Rewards Card won't work since I booked through here, which is completely stupid. If I am using your hotel then I should get the rewards points regardless of how I booked it. The floor in the room felt absolutely disgusting. If you have clean white socks they'll be dirty within 5 minutes. Bugs in the room. Half of the outlets worked. A light was burnt out and they never replaced the bulb when we mentioned something (the lighting is horrible to begin with). There were 4 people booked for our room and we had enough towels for 2 people and had to ask for more. The view was nice, but that was about it. Parking is tight. Not too hard to get out of the lot into traffic though. There were stains on the sheets/pillows. Minus the great location, this place was gross.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Pick up the coupon books you see all over town and in Pigeon Forge. You'll save quite a bit of money!! I can't believe I've never used them in the past!! Big money savers!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Twin Islands

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Granny18
Business
Nashville TN
Oct 6, 2014

Relaxing long weekend

We stayed in a Suite which was very roomy, clean and quiet. No outside noise at night was heard. Very friendly staff- and everything was very clean and well maintained. We have been staying at this Hotel for the past 14 years when we go to Gatlinburg and highly recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Smoky Mountain Art- absolutely some of the best hand craved wood pieces I have ever seen in the Smokies

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Twin Islands

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bill 5151
Business
Ohio
Sep 29, 2014

Good value

Excellent location for the downtown area. Also near National Park entrance. Though room is dated, it is well maintained. Nice creek view too. This is a great value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Twin Islands

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Disney Zombie
Business
Alabama
Sep 22, 2014

The way you want it to be

Nice clean average size room, large LED TV, balcony overlooked the creek, WONDERFUL comfy beds, mini fridge. Housekeeping even picked up and folded my dirty clothes!! No surprises, what you expect when you spend your money for a hotel room. Close to the Aquarium and trolleys. If you don't require a 5 star, this one fills the bill.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Cherokee Grill

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Twin Islands

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Gatlinburg August 2014
Business
Gatlinburg TN.
Sep 1, 2014

Gatlinburg August 2014

Great location, safe for families. Cost to high for old hotel..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Twin Islands

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Huge Gatlinburg fan
Business
Winchester, Ky
Aug 11, 2014

Pretty decent place overall but could use some work on the little things.

We've stayed at this hotel on several occasions before and have always found it to be more than adequate for our needs. It's ideally located right in downtown Gatlinburg and is a very short walk to most of the major downtown attractions. Moreover, the staff is most always very friendly and helpful. Our most recent stay wasn't the most positive one we've ever had however. On our first morning there, housekeeping was banging on our door at 9AM wanting to clean the room. We weren't even up yet. We're generally not late sleepers so we didn't put out the do not disturb sign. On this particular morning, I guess we should have. Also, the A/C unit in our room was not working as it should, blowing out somewhat cool air, but not cold; meaning during the hot humid days of August in Tennessee, our room got a little uncomfortable, especially when trying to sleep at night. I mentioned this to the folks at the front desk and they said they would send someone to look at it. We were out of the room all day that day so I don't know if anyone ever came, but all I know is that the problem didn't get any better. This is not a good thing. Plus the Wi-Fi in our particular part of the complex was terrible. Very low signal strength and unusable. The room was clean however and we always enjoy having the stream right outside our room. Even though our most recent experience wasn't the greatest, we will probably stay there again because of our good experiences prior to this one as well as the good value and excellent location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Pancake Pantry!!! The best breakfast anywhere!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Twin Islands

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RJBAS
Business
North Carolina
Aug 4, 2014

Great location, some of the staff was helpful, some was not, room okay.

You can't beat the location. It's great. When we checked in, our reservations were not correct even though we called ahead. One of the receptionists was very helpful. The other, who was helping others, was rude and difficult. It was an okay stay but we won't stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top