$79 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 5, 2014 Check-out: Oct 8, 2014

BEST WESTERN Twin Islands

3 stars
539 Parkway, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3201
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
150 reviews
Downtown!!!

This hotel was wonderful. My friend and I's room was right on the river with balcony. Just left my... See full review

  • Troptink
  • Jul 31, 2014
Great family trip!

The hotel was in a great location to downtown gatlinburg & the trolley. The pool was fabulous, the... See full review

  • Ssdevo
  • Jun 23, 2014
Gatlinburg hotel surrounded by streams in the center of the town
The Best Western Twin Islands is located in the center of Gatlinburg within walking distance to Ripley's Aquarium of the Smokies and many restaurants and shops. Streams surround the hotel, and all the rooms have balconies overlooking the water. A large playground and heated, seasonal outdoor pool attract families. Guests can even fish on the property. Business bonuses include meeting facilities, high-speed Internet access and fax and photocopy services.
Highlights
  • Unique setting amid mountain streams can be enjoyed from each room's balcony
  • Centrally located in downtown Gatlinburg within walking distance to many museums, shops and restaurants
  • Large playground for children and heated, seasonal outdoor pool
Location
The Best Western Twin Islands is surrounded by mountain streams, yet the hotel is centrally located in downtown Gatlinburg. Ripley's Aquarium of the Smokies is within walking distance, as are a number of shops, restaurants and museums. The hotel is on the trolley route. The famed Great Smoky Mountains National Park with its hiking and outdoor activities is a short drive away.
Rooms

Every room at the Best Western Twin Islands has a balcony overlooking a stream. Both rooms and suites are available, and options include a whirlpool, a fireplace, a microwave and a refrigerator or a kitchen set-up. Rooms have dark carpeting and printed bedspreads. Cable satellite TVs, local calls less than 30 minutes and Internet access are complimentary at the hotel. The Best Western Twin Islands also has exterior corridors.

Features
The Best Western Twin Islands appeals to families with its sizable playground for children and heated, seasonal outdoor pool. Fishing access on the property is a bonus, too.
Transportation
  • McGhee Tyson Airport (27.7 mi/44.6 km)
Attractions
  • Ripley's Aquarium of the Smokies (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Gatlinburg Convention Center (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Great Smoky Mountains National Park (2.8 mi/4.5 km)
  • Ober-Gatlinburg (3.7 mi/6 km)
  • Pigeon Forge (7.1 mi/11.4 km)
  • Dollywood's Splash Country (7.4 mi/11.9 km)
  • Pigeon Forge Factory Outlet Mall (8 mi/12.9 km)
  • Dollywood (8.7 mi/14 km)
  • WonderWorks (9.7 mi/15.6 km)
  • Knoxville Zoo (38 mi/61.2 km)
Business
  • Business center with fax and photocopy services
  • Meeting facilities
  • Free wireless Internet

Hotel Map

35.7154 -83.5111
Area served
Newport, Pigeon Forge, Maryville, Knoxville, Sevierville, Cherokee, Ashville
Nearby airports
(TYS), 40.00, MI, NW;
Area description
Resort

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN Twin Islands also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

BEST WESTERN Twin Islands Rooms

2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,SMOK,FIREPLACE,RIVER VW,HI SPEED,MICRFG,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,RIVER VW,HI SPEED,MICRFG,COFMKR,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,WHRPL,RIVER VW,MICRFG,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACC,BATHTUB,MINI SUITE,NSMK,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,MINSTE,WHRLPL,FIREPLC,MICRFG,RIVER,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,SMOK,NO VIEW,WHRLPL,FIREPLACE,MICRFG,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
SUITE-2 DOUBLE BEDS
SUITE-2 DOUBLE BEDS,NSMK,APARTMENT,KITCHEN,LIVE RM,HI SPEED,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
SUITE-2 ROOMS 3 BEDS
SUITE-2 ROOMS 3 BEDS,NSMK,3 DBL BEDS,APTMENT,KITCHEN,LIVE RM,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
SUITE-2 ROOMS 3 BEDS
SUITE-2 ROOMS 3 BEDS,SMOK,1 KNG,2 DBL BEDS,APTMENT,KITCHEN,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING 1 QUEEN
SUITE-1 KING 1 QUEEN,NSMK,APTMENT,KITCHEN,RIVER VW,HI SPEED,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,NSMK,RIVER VW,HI SPEED,MICRFG,COFMKR,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,SMOK,FIREPLACE,RIVER VW,HI SPEED,MICRFG,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,SMOK,WHRPL,FIREPLACE,RIVER VW,MICRFG,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
SUITE-2 QUEEN BEDS
SUITE-2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,WHRPL,FIREPLACE,RIVER VW,MICRFG,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,BATHTUB,VIEW,NSMK,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,NSMK,FIREPLACE,RIVER VW,HI SPEED,MICRFG,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,FIREPLACE,RIVER VW,HI SPEED,MICRFG,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,RIVER VW,HI SPEED,MICRFG,COFMKR,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Play ground
Horseback riding
Dining
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Guest laundromat
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Phone with speaker
Kitchen
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Fire place
Sofa bed
Electronic door locks
Ironing board

Dining

Hard Rock Café
Adjacent to Hard Rock Café, 7:00 a.m. to 10:00 p.m.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (150)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN Twin Islands

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
150 out of 150
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN Twin Islands

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Gatlinburg August 2014
Gatlinburg TN.
Sep 1, 2014

Gatlinburg August 2014

Great location, safe for families. Cost to high for old hotel..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Twin Islands

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Huge Gatlinburg fan
Winchester, Ky
Aug 11, 2014

Pretty decent place overall but could use some work on the little things.

We've stayed at this hotel on several occasions before and have always found it to be more than adequate for our needs. It's ideally located right in downtown Gatlinburg and is a very short walk to most of the major downtown attractions. Moreover, the staff is most always very friendly and helpful. Our most recent stay wasn't the most positive one we've ever had however. On our first morning there, housekeeping was banging on our door at 9AM wanting to clean the room. We weren't even up yet. We're generally not late sleepers so we didn't put out the do not disturb sign. On this particular morning, I guess we should have. Also, the A/C unit in our room was not working as it should, blowing out somewhat cool air, but not cold; meaning during the hot humid days of August in Tennessee, our room got a little uncomfortable, especially when trying to sleep at night. I mentioned this to the folks at the front desk and they said they would send someone to look at it. We were out of the room all day that day so I don't know if anyone ever came, but all I know is that the problem didn't get any better. This is not a good thing. Plus the Wi-Fi in our particular part of the complex was terrible. Very low signal strength and unusable. The room was clean however and we always enjoy having the stream right outside our room. Even though our most recent experience wasn't the greatest, we will probably stay there again because of our good experiences prior to this one as well as the good value and excellent location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Pancake Pantry!!! The best breakfast anywhere!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Twin Islands

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RJBAS
North Carolina
Aug 4, 2014

Great location, some of the staff was helpful, some was not, room okay.

You can't beat the location. It's great. When we checked in, our reservations were not correct even though we called ahead. One of the receptionists was very helpful. The other, who was helping others, was rude and difficult. It was an okay stay but we won't stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Twin Islands

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Troptink
Charleston, WV
Jul 31, 2014

Downtown!!!

This hotel was wonderful. My friend and I's room was right on the river with balcony. Just left my truck parked and we walked every where in Gatlinburg. The beds are very comfy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bubba Gump Seafood. Loved Loved Loved the food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Twin Islands

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Trudyd
Lilburn, Ga
Jul 22, 2014

Fun trip with grandkids

Great playground, nice pool, good location. Unfortunately, large, heavy footed family in room above. families with kids should be on bottom floor, so their running does not disturb other tenants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Twin Islands

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Trudyd
Lilburn, Ga
Jul 20, 2014

vacation in Gatlinburg

Great playground for our grandchildren. Convenient location. Nice breakfast area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Twin Islands

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Want my stuff back
Nashville TN
Jul 11, 2014

Keep everything under lock & key!

I stayed here this past weekend for 2 nights. The reception staff were nice enough, the room itself cozy and well kept. We had the room cleaned just once while we were there since it was only a 2 night trip. During that 1 day of housekeeping 3 things were taken; my shorts, shower scrub, and hairbrush. In all, about $45 worth of items. Not the worst amount to loose...yet who wants to stay at a place where you have to keep everything, including toiletries, locked in your car?!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Twin Islands

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
multi task
Rockwell n.c.
Jul 11, 2014

fantastic family getaway

Nice pool with hot tub and kitty pool by the river. The staff as extremely nice and professional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Aquarium

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Twin Islands

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nevanna
Alabama
Jul 10, 2014

Long Weekend

My only gripe is that the hallway to the bathroom is long and way too narrow. Loved that it was equipped with fridge and micro. Large flat screen TV, a/c worked very well. Clean, ducks and pigeons everywhere to entertain little ones. We were directly across from the pool and I could watch the older child with us while staying in the room with the sleeping baby. Front and back doors were great and the stream was full flowing since the downpours were tremendous when we stayed. Free breakfast was wonderful and the hostess/chef? was extremely nice, we left a generous tip. Cleaning staff was always within eyesight so it was easy to get the things we needed. This will be my first choice next time as it is right in the middle of everything! Greatly enjoyed our stay. The narrow hallway is the only reason for a lesser rank from me on room comfort, beds/pillows/carpet were all fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Twin Islands

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bregbry
Mcminnville, Tn
Jul 10, 2014

Family trip

Over all good place to stay, room was rewlly small. Not a big deal. Right next door to aquarium. Really good place to stay with kids. Creek surrounding property nice to walk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to aquarium

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search