$69 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 12, 2015 Check-out: Jul 13, 2015

BEST WESTERN Thunderbird Motel

3 stars
View map of 900 S Jefferson Avenue, Cookeville, TN 38501-4018

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
23 reviews
Long trip break

After driving 11 hours of driving I was ready to stop. I had determined Cookesville to be my stop... See full review

  • Dada Daddy Prince
  • Jul 9, 2014
just what i needed

stopped in Cookeville on my way to Nashville. I was pleasantly surprised on this side exit to rest.... See full review

  • Linda passing by
  • May 26, 2014
Conveniently located off Interstate 40, Highway 70 and Highway 111, and situated between Knoxville, Nashville and Chattanooga, the BEST WESTERN Thunderbird Motel offers an easy access to the surrounding area and comfortable accommodations while on the road. When staying at the BEST WESTERN Thunderbird Motel, there's plenty to do and something for everyone. Visit students attending Tennessee Tech University, check out Cane Creek Park Sports Complex, stroll through the historic downtown, enjoy the great outdoors at any one of the four surrounding state parks, swing away on local golf courses and discover breathtaking waterfalls in the Cumberland Plateau area. Inside each spacious accommodation at the pet-friendly BEST WESTERN Thunderbird Motel, guests will find all the comforts of home, in addition to all the premium amenities that Best Western hotels are known for, including an iron, ironing board, microwave, refrigerator, hairdryer, coffee/tea maker and more. Two-room suites and hot tub suites, which include a microwave, refrigerator and sofabed, are also available upon request. Other amenities at the BEST WESTERN Thunderbird also include an outdoor pool, and guest laundry facilities. Traveling to Cookeville on business? We offer wired or wireless Internet access, fax and photocopy services, and free local calls for added convenience. Whether traveling here on business, heading through town on a road trip or staying for vacation, the BEST WESTERN Thunderbird Motel offers spacious, comfortable accommodations and all the amenities needed while on the road. Book a stay online and save today! We are a pet friendly hotel and allow them in our designated smoking and non smoking queen rooms only. However, due to other people having allergies we do not allow them in any of our king rooms or our suites.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN Thunderbird Motel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

BEST WESTERN Thunderbird Motel Rooms

1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,WIFI NET,MICRFG,COFMKR,IRON,HAIR,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,BATHTUB,NSMK,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,SMOK,WIFI NET,MICRFG,COFMKR,IRON,HAIR,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,WIFI NET,MICRFG,COFMKR,IRON,HAIR,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,SMOK,WIFI NET,MICRFG,COFMKR,IRON,HAIR,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,NSMK,2ROOMS,2 TVS,WHIRLPOOL,HISPD,SOFABD,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,NSMK,2ROOMS,2 TVS,HISPEED,SOFABED,MICRFG,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
SUITE-2 QUEEN BEDS
SUITE-2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,2ROOMS,2 TVS,HISPEED,SOFABED,MICRFG,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,ROLL IN SHOWER,SMOK,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,BATHTUB,SMOK,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Free breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Services
24 hour front desk
Security
Wake-up service
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Eblen Center: 2.7 mi

Dining

Shoney's
Across the street from Shoney's, Bar/Lounge, American, Open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner
Red Lobster
0.20 mile(s) from Red Lobster, Bar/Lounge, Seafood, Open for: lunch, dinner
IHOP
0.38 mile(s) from IHOP, Bar/Lounge, American, Open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner
Cracker Barrel
0.25 mile(s) from Cracker Barrel, Bar/Lounge, American, Open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner
Crawdaddy's
1.99 mile(s) from Crawdaddy's, Bar/Lounge, Cajun, Open for: lunch, dinner
El Tapatio
El Tapatio, on premises, Bar/Lounge, Mexican, Open for: lunch, dinner,
Applebee's
0.25 mile(s) from Applebee's, Bar/Lounge, American, Open for: lunch, dinner
Fazoli's
0.68 mile(s) from Fazoli's, Bar/Lounge, Italian, Open for: lunch, dinner
O'Charley's
0.20 mile(s) from O'Charley's, Bar/Lounge, American, Open for: lunch, dinner
Mauricos
2.21 mile(s) from Mauricos, Bar/Lounge, Italian, Open for: lunch, dinner

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN Thunderbird Motel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
23 out of 23
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN Thunderbird Motel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
TravelBus
Business
New York, New York
Mar 23, 2011

Parking is like New York. To Many Cars

I could not find parking close to my room. It was so crowded I had to park all the way to the back parking lot. This is due to the Mexican Restaurant. I heard other customer had the same issue. I would stay away from here unless you dont mind the crowd of cars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN Thunderbird Motel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Snoopy mom
Business
Chattanooga, TN
Apr 14, 2014

It's ok for the price

The room was clean. We asked a rollaway when we reserved the room. When we got there they said that they don't think they can put a rollaway in our room. My husband had to sleep on the couch. They provide only shampoo not conditioner. no lotion neither. Bring your own if you stay there. There is a Mexican restaurant next to the hotel and the people go there took our parking spot. We had to park far away from our room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN Thunderbird Motel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
resctrintandion
Business
North Carolina
Oct 21, 2014

Roach

It's clear that they make an effort and everything seemed to be well-maintained but seeing one roach in the room ruined everything. I suppose that's why there are signs in the breakfast area insisting that food not be brought back to the rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN Thunderbird Motel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Furman
Business
USA
Sep 30, 2007

Could use some work

The Best Western in Cookeville, TN could use some work. The property is showing signs of wear and dating. Beds are OK,but housekeeping just threw them back together, and bearly straightened the room. One bar of soap for two people?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dining is close. Longhorn's for a pretty good steak.

Review of BEST WESTERN Thunderbird Motel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ttiger
Business
Nashville, TN
Apr 15, 2013

quick getaway

The staff at this hotel was very nice. I prefer to have inside entrances, but because it was a last minute trip, it was fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

There were plenty of places to eat and it was a short drive. Shopping locations were close as well.

Review of BEST WESTERN Thunderbird Motel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Hampshire
May 11, 2010

Good stay

The hotel is right off the highway which made it super easy to find. Overall appearance at first was typical and what was expected. The check in was fast and the service was perfect. She went above and beyond to give us information about the area. What I didn't like was when we got to the room and looked around the bathroom was tiny. What we had was a room with a separation wall. On the otherside of the wall were the sinks and mirror. At the end of that was the door to the bathroom. It was very tiny once the door was closed. The ceiling looked as though it was falling apart and the tub looked as though it was really old. Kind of grundgy. Actually to the point I was kind of afraid to take a shower without my flip flops. The room itself was fine and the bed was ok for comfortable. The tv, microwave, fridge, etc. all worked and looked decent. The only other complaint that I have is the parking. There is an adjoining Mexican Rest.(which is very good and cheap) and they share the parking lot. When they get busy it was hard to find a decent place to park. :(

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN Thunderbird Motel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Littlenester
Business
Huntsville, AL
Sep 26, 2009

Okay for 1 night stay....

Good for a one night or quick trip stay. Ok clean room, but very musty dank smell coming from a/c unit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN Thunderbird Motel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AMPhil
Business
Virginia
Jun 12, 2014

decent location

Location was 0.2 miles off the freeway and .25 miles from the super Walmart. Right next to DC so breakfast was easy. The bed wasn't very comfortable and the pillows seemed a bit hard. Traveling with my 15 yo son and he said his bed was comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN Thunderbird Motel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Furman
Business
USA
Sep 30, 2007

Could use some work

The Best Western in Cookeville, TN could use some work. The property is showing signs of wear and dating. Beds are OK,but housekeeping just threw them back together, and bearly straightened the room. One bar of soap for two people?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dining is close. Longhorn's for a pretty good steak.

Review of BEST WESTERN Thunderbird Motel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Glad2bhm
Business
Missouri, USA
Sep 13, 2013

Quick stop

Room was very nice and comfortable. Bed was excellent. Nice TV. I could see where they needed a little updating - paint etc but very minimal. I would stay there again. The discount didn't hurt either

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top