$66 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Mar 13, 2015 Check-out: Mar 14, 2015

BEST WESTERN Thunderbird Motel

3 stars
View map of 900 S Jefferson Avenue, Cookeville, TN 38501-4018

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
22 reviews
Long trip break

After driving 11 hours of driving I was ready to stop. I had determined Cookesville to be my stop... See full review

  • Dada Daddy Prince
  • Jul 9, 2014
just what i needed

stopped in Cookeville on my way to Nashville. I was pleasantly surprised on this side exit to rest.... See full review

  • Linda passing by
  • May 26, 2014
Conveniently located off Interstate 40, Highway 70 and Highway 111, and situated between Knoxville, Nashville and Chattanooga, the BEST WESTERN Thunderbird Motel offers an easy access to the surrounding area and comfortable accommodations while on the road. When staying at the BEST WESTERN Thunderbird Motel, there's plenty to do and something for everyone. Visit students attending Tennessee Tech University, check out Cane Creek Park Sports Complex, stroll through the historic downtown, enjoy the great outdoors at any one of the four surrounding state parks, swing away on local golf courses and discover breathtaking waterfalls in the Cumberland Plateau area. Inside each spacious accommodation at the pet-friendly BEST WESTERN Thunderbird Motel, guests will find all the comforts of home, in addition to all the premium amenities that Best Western hotels are known for, including an iron, ironing board, microwave, refrigerator, hairdryer, coffee/tea maker and more. Two-room suites and hot tub suites, which include a microwave, refrigerator and sofabed, are also available upon request. Other amenities at the BEST WESTERN Thunderbird also include an outdoor pool, and guest laundry facilities. Traveling to Cookeville on business? We offer wired or wireless Internet access, fax and photocopy services, and free local calls for added convenience. Whether traveling here on business, heading through town on a road trip or staying for vacation, the BEST WESTERN Thunderbird Motel offers spacious, comfortable accommodations and all the amenities needed while on the road. Book a stay online and save today! We are a pet friendly hotel and allow them in our designated smoking and non smoking queen rooms only. However, due to other people having allergies we do not allow them in any of our king rooms or our suites. Welcome to Best Western.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN Thunderbird Motel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

BEST WESTERN Thunderbird Motel Rooms

1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,WIFI NET,MICRFG,COFMKR,IRON,HAIR,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,BATHTUB,NSMK,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,SMOK,WIFI NET,MICRFG,COFMKR,IRON,HAIR,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,WIFI NET,MICRFG,COFMKR,IRON,HAIR,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,SMOK,WIFI NET,MICRFG,COFMKR,IRON,HAIR,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,NSMK,2ROOMS,2 TVS,WHIRLPOOL,HISPD,SOFABD,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,NSMK,2ROOMS,2 TVS,HISPEED,SOFABED,MICRFG,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
SUITE-2 QUEEN BEDS
SUITE-2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,2ROOMS,2 TVS,HISPEED,SOFABED,MICRFG,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,ROLL IN SHOWER,SMOK,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,BATHTUB,SMOK,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Free breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Services
24 hour front desk
Security
Wake-up service
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Eblen Center: 2.7 mi

Dining

Ruby Tuesday
0.49 mile(s) from Ruby Tuesday, Bar/Lounge, American, Open for: lunch, dinner
Outback
0.63 mile(s) from Outback, Bar/Lounge, Steak House, Open for: lunch, dinner
Fazoli's
0.68 mile(s) from Fazoli's, Bar/Lounge, Italian, Open for: lunch, dinner
Applebee's
0.25 mile(s) from Applebee's, Bar/Lounge, American, Open for: lunch, dinner
Olive Garden
0.38 mile(s) from Olive Garden, Bar/Lounge, Italian, Open for: lunch, dinner
Chili's
0.79 mile(s) from Chili's, Bar/Lounge, American, Open for: lunch, dinner
IHOP
0.38 mile(s) from IHOP, Bar/Lounge, American, Open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner
Mauricos
2.21 mile(s) from Mauricos, Bar/Lounge, Italian, Open for: lunch, dinner
O'Charley's
0.20 mile(s) from O'Charley's, Bar/Lounge, American, Open for: lunch, dinner
Cracker Barrel
0.25 mile(s) from Cracker Barrel, Bar/Lounge, American, Open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (22)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN Thunderbird Motel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
22 out of 22
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.1

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN Thunderbird Motel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cocomo11
Business
Kingston Springs, TN
Sep 9, 2012

Happily Surprised!

This is an older hotel that has made new renovations and the rooms are great! Beautiful and comfortable. It has very good insulation so we didn't hear others while in our room. Alot of newer hotels don't have that good noise reduction that is necessary for the good nights sleep. Check in lady was wonderful, so sweet. The pool is very nice and is not right next to rooms so you don't get the noise from it. I slept better there than at any other hotel I have been in a LONG TIME. And you Couldn't Beat the Price. Just Loved it! Only minus was the carpet, it had spots, but everything else was clean. Especially the bathroom , I am very picky about them being clean and it was.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Thunderbird Motel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
barb1945
Business
tn
Dec 19, 2011

getaway

Everything was great but did not have suger/cream or spoon in room for coffee.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Thunderbird Motel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tunnel Hill, Ga
Jun 14, 2011

Nice room. Would stay again

pool, breakfast All good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Great Mexican restaurant

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Thunderbird Motel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
TravelBus
Business
New York, New York
Mar 23, 2011

Parking is like New York. To Many Cars

I could not find parking close to my room. It was so crowded I had to park all the way to the back parking lot. This is due to the Mexican Restaurant. I heard other customer had the same issue. I would stay away from here unless you dont mind the crowd of cars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Thunderbird Motel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tn
Mar 3, 2011

Great Service

[...] The hotel is a little older but the rooms are very spacious and clean. Good Mexican and other restaurants right next door. Will stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Thunderbird Motel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Super Dad/Husband
Business
Jackson, TN
Oct 25, 2010

Very clean, pleasantly surprised!

We arrived late in the evening just to sleep as we were on our way to another destination. Check-in was very easy and direct. This hotel was very nice. It smelled clean, looked clean and was presented well. Breakfast in the morning was really good. I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Thunderbird Motel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Hampshire
May 11, 2010

Good stay

The hotel is right off the highway which made it super easy to find. Overall appearance at first was typical and what was expected. The check in was fast and the service was perfect. She went above and beyond to give us information about the area. What I didn't like was when we got to the room and looked around the bathroom was tiny. What we had was a room with a separation wall. On the otherside of the wall were the sinks and mirror. At the end of that was the door to the bathroom. It was very tiny once the door was closed. The ceiling looked as though it was falling apart and the tub looked as though it was really old. Kind of grundgy. Actually to the point I was kind of afraid to take a shower without my flip flops. The room itself was fine and the bed was ok for comfortable. The tv, microwave, fridge, etc. all worked and looked decent. The only other complaint that I have is the parking. There is an adjoining Mexican Rest.(which is very good and cheap) and they share the parking lot. When they get busy it was hard to find a decent place to park. :(

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Thunderbird Motel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Littlenester
Business
Huntsville, AL
Sep 26, 2009

Okay for 1 night stay....

Good for a one night or quick trip stay. Ok clean room, but very musty dank smell coming from a/c unit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Thunderbird Motel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Furman
Business
USA
Sep 30, 2007

Could use some work

The Best Western in Cookeville, TN could use some work. The property is showing signs of wear and dating. Beds are OK,but housekeeping just threw them back together, and bearly straightened the room. One bar of soap for two people?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dining is close. Longhorn's for a pretty good steak.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Thunderbird Motel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 12, 2007

Nice,friendly,safe& comfortable

The check in was fast and easy, when we went into the room it was large and clean. We enjoyed our stay at the Best Western.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There is plenty of resturants and shopping in just walking distance

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top