$64 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 15, 2014 Check-out: Jul 16, 2014

BEST WESTERN Thunderbird Motel

3 stars
900 S Jefferson Avenue, Cookeville, TN 38501-4018
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
29 reviews
Hotel Front Desk

Our stay here was great. The Desk Clerk, Paul was awesome! He was very honest and helped us resolve... See full review

  • Paulaann
  • Jun 24, 2013
Long trip break

After driving 11 hours of driving I was ready to stop. I had determined Cookesville to be my stop... See full review

  • Dada Daddy Prince
  • Jul 9, 2014
Conveniently located off Interstate 40, Highway 70 and Highway 111, and situated between Knoxville, Nashville and Chattanooga, the BEST WESTERN Thunderbird Motel offers an easy access to the surrounding area and comfortable accommodations while on the road. When staying at the BEST WESTERN Thunderbird Motel, there's plenty to do and something for everyone. Visit students attending Tennessee Tech University, check out Cane Creek Park Sports Complex, stroll through the historic downtown, enjoy the great outdoors at any one of the four surrounding state parks, swing away on local golf courses and discover breathtaking waterfalls in the Cumberland Plateau area. Inside each spacious accommodation at the pet-friendly BEST WESTERN Thunderbird Motel, guests will find all the comforts of home, in addition to all the premium amenities that Best Western hotels are known for, including an iron, ironing board, microwave, refrigerator, hairdryer, coffee/tea maker and more. Two-room suites and hot tub suites, which include a microwave, refrigerator and sofabed, are also available upon request. Other amenities at the BEST WESTERN Thunderbird also include an outdoor pool, and guest laundry facilities. Traveling to Cookeville on business? We offer wired or wireless Internet access, fax and photocopy services, and free local calls for added convenience. Whether traveling here on business, heading through town on a road trip or staying for vacation, the BEST WESTERN Thunderbird Motel offers spacious, comfortable accommodations and all the amenities needed while on the road. Book a stay online and save today! We are a pet friendly hotel and allow them in our designated smoking and non smoking queen rooms only. However, due to other people having allergies we do not allow them in any of our king rooms or our suites.

BEST WESTERN Thunderbird Motel Rooms

1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,WIFI NET,MICRFG,COFMKR,IRON,HAIR,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,BATHTUB,NSMK,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,SMOK,WIFI NET,MICRFG,COFMKR,IRON,HAIR,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,WIFI NET,MICRFG,COFMKR,IRON,HAIR,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,SMOK,WIFI NET,MICRFG,COFMKR,IRON,HAIR,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,NSMK,2ROOMS,2 TVS,WHIRLPOOL,HISPD,SOFABD,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,NSMK,2ROOMS,2 TVS,HISPEED,SOFABED,MICRFG,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
SUITE-2 QUEEN BEDS
SUITE-2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,2ROOMS,2 TVS,HISPEED,SOFABED,MICRFG,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,ROLL IN SHOWER,SMOK,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,BATHTUB,SMOK,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Free breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Services
24 hour front desk
Security
Wake-up service
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN Thunderbird Motel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

36.14 -85.5003
Area served
Nashville, Cincinnati,, Memphis, Atlanta,, Knoxville, Jacksonville,, Sevierville, Asheville,, Gatlinburg, Chattanooga, Lexington,, Pigeon Forge
Nearby airports
(BNA), 72.00, MI, W;
Area description
Expressway

Nearby points of interest

  • Eblen Center: 2.7 mi

Dining

Olive Garden
0.38 mile(s) from Olive Garden, Bar/Lounge, Italian, Open for: lunch, dinner
Chili's
0.79 mile(s) from Chili's, Bar/Lounge, American, Open for: lunch, dinner
Buffalo Wild Wings
0.57 mile(s) from Buffalo Wild Wings, Bar/Lounge, American, Open for: lunch, dinner
Outback
0.63 mile(s) from Outback, Bar/Lounge, Steak House, Open for: lunch, dinner
Crawdaddy's
1.99 mile(s) from Crawdaddy's, Bar/Lounge, Cajun, Open for: lunch, dinner
Logan's Roadhouse
0.64 mile(s) from Logan's Roadhouse, Bar/Lounge, Steak House, Open for: lunch, dinner
Golden Corral
0.57 mile(s) from Golden Corral, Buffet, American, Open for: lunch, dinner
El Tapatio
El Tapatio, on premises, Bar/Lounge, Mexican, Open for: lunch, dinner,
Red Lobster
0.20 mile(s) from Red Lobster, Bar/Lounge, Seafood, Open for: lunch, dinner
Cheddar's
0.56 mile(s) from Cheddar's, Bar/Lounge, American, Open for: lunch, dinner

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (29)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN Thunderbird Motel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
29 out of 29
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.2

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN Thunderbird Motel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dada Daddy Prince
Business
Texas
Jul 9, 2014

Long trip break

After driving 11 hours of driving I was ready to stop. I had determined Cookesville to be my stop and had booked online. I was welcomed with a smile and checked in promptly and everything I might need was explained. Room was great and very comfortable. I got the rest I needed to continue my drive. Thank you!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A lot of eating choices, some you can walk to other you just need a short drive. Plenty of choices.

Review of BEST WESTERN Thunderbird Motel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AMPhil
Virginia
Jun 12, 2014

decent location

Location was 0.2 miles off the freeway and .25 miles from the super Walmart. Right next to DC so breakfast was easy. The bed wasn't very comfortable and the pillows seemed a bit hard. Traveling with my 15 yo son and he said his bed was comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of BEST WESTERN Thunderbird Motel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Linda passing by
Knoxville TN
May 26, 2014

just what i needed

stopped in Cookeville on my way to Nashville. I was pleasantly surprised on this side exit to rest. The room was actually better than the hotel room I got in Nashville - which cost more. It has a microwave, fridge, and my son was happy with the Wi-Fi. Hotel in Nashville, which was same size, had none of these and cost more. Best Western room was clean and comfortable; nice pool too. Enjoyed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of BEST WESTERN Thunderbird Motel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Snoopy mom
Chattanooga, TN
Apr 14, 2014

It's ok for the price

The room was clean. We asked a rollaway when we reserved the room. When we got there they said that they don't think they can put a rollaway in our room. My husband had to sleep on the couch. They provide only shampoo not conditioner. no lotion neither. Bring your own if you stay there. There is a Mexican restaurant next to the hotel and the people go there took our parking spot. We had to park far away from our room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of BEST WESTERN Thunderbird Motel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
becca m
cookeville tn
Jan 4, 2014

great, great, great!

it was very clean, a great price and a perfect location. the deck clerk was very helpful and friendly. I will stay there again!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of BEST WESTERN Thunderbird Motel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Old timers 123
Florida
Oct 14, 2013

Two day stay

Check in and out was easy. The room was clean and roomy. The bathrooms were so-so. Very convenient to many fine restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of BEST WESTERN Thunderbird Motel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Glad2bhm
Missouri, USA
Sep 13, 2013

Quick stop

Room was very nice and comfortable. Bed was excellent. Nice TV. I could see where they needed a little updating - paint etc but very minimal. I would stay there again. The discount didn't hurt either

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of BEST WESTERN Thunderbird Motel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Paulaann
Sweetwater, Tennessee
Jun 24, 2013

Hotel Front Desk

Our stay here was great. The Desk Clerk, Paul was awesome! He was very honest and helped us resolve a double booking issue . The room was very comfortable. The only thing I would chang is the continental breakfast times. We are late risers and check out time is twelve at hotel. Breakfast hours would be nice if extended to maybe 10:30 for those of us who drive until 9:00 or so at night and sleep in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Family Traditions Cafe is a MUST if you want Southern home cooking in a VERY friendly atmosphere. 1 meat 3 sides $6.49! Indian Wedding Cake and Banana Pudding, all homemade, are to die for.

Review of BEST WESTERN Thunderbird Motel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ttiger
Nashville, TN
Apr 15, 2013

quick getaway

The staff at this hotel was very nice. I prefer to have inside entrances, but because it was a last minute trip, it was fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

There were plenty of places to eat and it was a short drive. Shopping locations were close as well.

Review of BEST WESTERN Thunderbird Motel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cocomo11
Business
Kingston Springs, TN
Sep 9, 2012

Happily Surprised!

This is an older hotel that has made new renovations and the rooms are great! Beautiful and comfortable. It has very good insulation so we didn't hear others while in our room. Alot of newer hotels don't have that good noise reduction that is necessary for the good nights sleep. Check in lady was wonderful, so sweet. The pool is very nice and is not right next to rooms so you don't get the noise from it. I slept better there than at any other hotel I have been in a LONG TIME. And you Couldn't Beat the Price. Just Loved it! Only minus was the carpet, it had spots, but everything else was clean. Especially the bathroom , I am very picky about them being clean and it was.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top