Western Thrifty Inn

2 stars
621 East North Street, Rapid City, SD 57701
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.1
out of 5
15 reviews
Newell Tea Party

Wonnderful, accomodating...just good South Dakota people who run the place. No Iron, hair dryer or... See full review

  • Rep Lora
  • Jul 17, 2012
nice clean place, convenient area,glad I booked it

This place was really clean! It was near I-90 which is very convenient. There are several fast food... See full review

  • Visitor66
  • Aug 7, 2012
Thank you for choosing the Western Thrifty Inn in Rapid City South Dakota. We are conveniently located near many area attractions such as Mount Rushmore Bear Country USA Reptile Gardens and more. We provide spacious and comfortable rooms which were recently renovated in 2010. We offer Wireless High Speed Internet Cable TV and Free Local Calls. Escape the high prices of franchise hotels and enjoy comfort and value right here at Western Thrifty Inn.

Hotel Map

44.0876 -103.2005
Area served
Rapid City, Spearfish, Sturgis, Keystone, Deadwood, Hill City
Nearby airports
Regional, (RAP), 10.00, MI, SE;
Area description
Airport, Head southeast on Terminal Rd toward Rtr Rd. Turn left onto Air

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Western Thrifty Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Western Thrifty Inn Rooms

1 Double Bed NS
Description not provided
2 Double Beds NS
Description not provided

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
24 hour security
Dining
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Wake-up service
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Room
Television with cable
Smoke detectors

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (15)

Ratings and reviews for Western Thrifty Inn

Overall score

2.1 / 5
5.01.0
15 out of 15
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2.5
Hotel staff:
2.5
Room comfort:
2.3
Location:
3.3
Value:
2.7

20% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Western Thrifty Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Colorado
Jul 6, 2011

The not so great

My family had a reat time in South Dakota despite the motel...I had no wifi connection the whole time I was there, instead I had to drive to the Starbucks to get internet each day. There wasn't a turndown service and when I needed clean towels we had to go to the office to ask for them even after we put the sign on the door, the T.V only had sound sometimes. There was no dresser or closet so we had to keep our clothes in our suit cases

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Western Thrifty Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Powerwave
Business
Trenton, MO 64683, USA
Jun 24, 2012

Be very careful

I received a good rate for the area. The mattress appeared to be in good shape, but I woke up at 3am with several bites from something. Could have been spiders, more than likely bed bugs although I never found any. I went and slept in my truck for the rest of the night. Everything else was fine, but that kinda ruined my stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Good location for visiting Mt Rushmore.

Review of Western Thrifty Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bugtaster
Columbus, GA
Jul 9, 2013

Disappointed

I'm not mad at the Western Thrifty Inn for saying they're nicer than they are, they need customers. I am, however, upset that this motel was rated as a 2 star. It's a dump. It's one of those pay by the week transient motels. It's run down. We pulled in and my son asked if we could sleep in the car at Wal-Mart. I had to initial a form saying I wouldn't do drugs or drink in the parking lot if that's any indication of the clientele. In the parking lot there was a car with the rear windshield and another window broken out, filled with trash. It had been there a while. Inside the room had paint peeling and rusty fixtures. There was a clean microwave and refrigerator although the fridge was only at about 65 degrees. The bed was one of those cheap cloth on wire mattresses, although it was surprisingly comfortable. Sheets and towels and carpet were thin and worn. The shade on the window fell off but we got it back up. It had huge holes in it. The guy that checked us in was friendly enough. I will never book a room that is not a national chain through a website again and I will read reviews on other sites first.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Western Thrifty Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Colorado
Jul 6, 2011

The not so great

My family had a reat time in South Dakota despite the motel...I had no wifi connection the whole time I was there, instead I had to drive to the Starbucks to get internet each day. There wasn't a turndown service and when I needed clean towels we had to go to the office to ask for them even after we put the sign on the door, the T.V only had sound sometimes. There was no dresser or closet so we had to keep our clothes in our suit cases

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Western Thrifty Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Cubanrunner
Seattle
Sep 4, 2012

Lousy

This hotel not very well upkept. The phone did not work. There were wires pertruding out of the walls. You had to slam the door to get it to lock. There's no staff on duty. The shower was small. They did not come and make up the bed or give fresh towels during the day. Would not stay here agian nor recomend to anyone else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Western Thrifty Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Deserter
Denver, CO
Dec 2, 2012

Nothing fancy

Nothing fancy. No wi-fi, was told the router had been accidentally broken. Saw a little cockroach in the room. Ghetto hotel, lots of people living there as an apartment

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Western Thrifty Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mo and the FAT BOY
New Jersey
Aug 13, 2012

okay for sleeping only

no one to check us in at 2:00 check in, waited 45 minutes for mgr to arrive then room not ready, they were changing the broken blinds in the window and mattresses were up on end in the room! Mgr pulled up with/ pick up full of mattresses but we didn't get a new one. Had to wait another 45 minutes while they "fixed" the beds, "cleaned" the room, etc. Coffee pot in room/no coffee,cups,etc. Toilet seat broke off day 2. did not vacuum 10 days we were there. Bed was comfy, but pillows lumpy. We really only slept there so it didn't really matter. BUT - NO BugS - a plus! Mgr very nice and friendly. Get what you pay for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Western Thrifty Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ed L
Honolulu, HI, USA
Jun 4, 2012

Perfect room rate

It was an interesting experience at this hotel. The Western Thrifty Hotel is a family run business and it showed. The check in process ws fairly messy, but it was ok. The property was under renovations at the time, so I could not fault them for that. The tv had one channel, but I guess having a roof over my head for dirt cheap made it the most value for my money. The bed was comfortable, although the shower made me think of a boys locker room shower in my days in high school. Mildly comfortable in humble surroundings.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of Western Thrifty Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ravi Raj
Minneapolis, MN
Jul 6, 2011

WesternThriftyInnRapidCity

The hotel did not have microwave or fridge in the room. That was basic! Top it all, it was not well lighted. The room had only 2 lights in it and you have walk in the dark to the other end to switch the light on. The bed was also not made up very well and looked like a used one. TV had no remote. We did not have much time to stay in the room, but otherwise this experience would have been worse.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Walmart - Walgreens are nearby < 1 mile.

Review of Western Thrifty Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ravi Raj
Minneapolis, MN
Jul 6, 2011

WesternThriftyInnRapidCity

The hotel did not have microwave or fridge in the room. That was basic! Top it all, it was not well lighted. The room had only 2 lights in it and you have walk in the dark to the other end to switch the light on. The bed was also not made up very well and looked like a used one. TV had no remote. We did not have much time to stay in the room, but otherwise this experience would have been worse.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Walmart - Walgreens are nearby < 1 mile.

Back to menu Return to top