Western Thrifty Inn

2 stars
621 East North Street, 621 East North Street, Rapid City, SD 57701
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.2
out of 5
13 reviews
Newell Tea Party

Wonnderful, accomodating...just good South Dakota people who run the place. No Iron, hair dryer or... See full review

  • Rep Lora
  • Jul 17, 2012
nice clean place, convenient area,glad I booked it

This place was really clean! It was near I-90 which is very convenient. There are several fast food... See full review

  • Visitor66
  • Aug 7, 2012
Thank you for choosing the Western Thrifty Inn in Rapid City South Dakota. We are conveniently located near many area attractions such as Mount Rushmore Bear Country USA Reptile Gardens and more. We provide spacious and comfortable rooms which were recently renovated in 2010. We offer Wireless High Speed Internet Cable TV and Free Local Calls. Escape the high prices of franchise hotels and enjoy comfort and value right here at Western Thrifty Inn.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Western Thrifty Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Western Thrifty Inn Rooms

1 Double Bed NS
Description not provided
2 Double Beds NS
Description not provided

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
24 hour security
Dining
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Wake-up service
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Room
Television with cable
Smoke detectors

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (13)

Ratings and reviews for Western Thrifty Inn

Overall score

2.2 / 5
5.01.0
13 out of 13
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2.5
Hotel staff:
2.7
Room comfort:
2.3
Location:
3.3
Value:
2.8

23% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Western Thrifty Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rep Lora
Business
Sioux Falls
Jul 17, 2012

Newell Tea Party

Wonnderful, accomodating...just good South Dakota people who run the place. No Iron, hair dryer or clock....but even without these it was well worth the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Western Thrifty Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Visitor66
Business
SF, CA
Aug 7, 2012

nice clean place, convenient area,glad I booked it

This place was really clean! It was near I-90 which is very convenient. There are several fast food places next door, which was convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

near a few fast food chain restaurants, so you know what quality food you are getting, no unpleasant surprises.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Western Thrifty Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Brazilrocks
Business
Mountain View, CA
Sep 9, 2013

Clean and cheap

The hotel room exceeded my expectations. From the outside it didnt look that great but the room was organized, clean and comfortable. It had a little fridge, microwave, TV and a very nice desk. The location was also a plus. It was convinient (10 minutes way from the airport and only 2 minutes away from downtown. Although the staff was friendly (when they were around), they seemed to be very disorganized. They werent there when l tried to check in. I had to wait 20 minutes, called a few times and still didnt succeed. They didnt clean my room ( l stayed there a couple of days and at the end did not give me the right receipt. I was promised to get it through email. Still waiting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

All you can eat Chinese buffet for only $8.99. I am very particular when it comes to food but this place had great food and outstanding cleaness and food. Name of place: Hunan Chinese Restaurant. Better time to go 11:00am.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Western Thrifty Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Zrzka
Business
Fremont, CA, USA
Sep 7, 2011

Not so satisfied

I did not expect luxury, but I did not know I would spend half hour on my cell phone and the hotel internal telephone simultaneously to get in contact with the front desk lady. Finally I gave up and expected to sleep in the car. After a while I called again and the lady with sleepy voice answered and came to give me my key. I called her from the airport, that I will be late because of the line for renting a car. She answered unfriendly, that check in is 4pm. But in my papers was “24 hours front desk”. After this stressful time in the car I really did not care about the room and wanted just to sleep and leave in the morning as soon as possible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Western Thrifty Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ed L
Business
Honolulu, HI, USA
Jun 4, 2012

Perfect room rate

It was an interesting experience at this hotel. The Western Thrifty Hotel is a family run business and it showed. The check in process ws fairly messy, but it was ok. The property was under renovations at the time, so I could not fault them for that. The tv had one channel, but I guess having a roof over my head for dirt cheap made it the most value for my money. The bed was comfortable, although the shower made me think of a boys locker room shower in my days in high school. Mildly comfortable in humble surroundings.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Western Thrifty Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mo and the FAT BOY
Business
New Jersey
Aug 13, 2012

okay for sleeping only

no one to check us in at 2:00 check in, waited 45 minutes for mgr to arrive then room not ready, they were changing the broken blinds in the window and mattresses were up on end in the room! Mgr pulled up with/ pick up full of mattresses but we didn't get a new one. Had to wait another 45 minutes while they "fixed" the beds, "cleaned" the room, etc. Coffee pot in room/no coffee,cups,etc. Toilet seat broke off day 2. did not vacuum 10 days we were there. Bed was comfy, but pillows lumpy. We really only slept there so it didn't really matter. BUT - NO BugS - a plus! Mgr very nice and friendly. Get what you pay for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Western Thrifty Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ravi Raj
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Jul 6, 2011

WesternThriftyInnRapidCity

The hotel did not have microwave or fridge in the room. That was basic! Top it all, it was not well lighted. The room had only 2 lights in it and you have walk in the dark to the other end to switch the light on. The bed was also not made up very well and looked like a used one. TV had no remote. We did not have much time to stay in the room, but otherwise this experience would have been worse.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Walmart - Walgreens are nearby < 1 mile.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Western Thrifty Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Wendy Freetanan
Business
Folsom, CA
Jul 22, 2014

Basic Accommodation

If you don't care for amenities or comfort, this is a good place as any to spend the night. The staff though is accommodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Downtown Rapid City offers a diverse experience. National history, local culture, entertainment, dining, all within a few blocks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Western Thrifty Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Powerwave
Business
Trenton, MO 64683, USA
Jun 24, 2012

Be very careful

I received a good rate for the area. The mattress appeared to be in good shape, but I woke up at 3am with several bites from something. Could have been spiders, more than likely bed bugs although I never found any. I went and slept in my truck for the rest of the night. Everything else was fine, but that kinda ruined my stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Good location for visiting Mt Rushmore.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Western Thrifty Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Cubanrunner
Business
Seattle
Sep 4, 2012

Lousy

This hotel not very well upkept. The phone did not work. There were wires pertruding out of the walls. You had to slam the door to get it to lock. There's no staff on duty. The shower was small. They did not come and make up the bed or give fresh towels during the day. Would not stay here agian nor recomend to anyone else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top