Travelodge Rapid City

2 stars
1313 LaCrosse Street, South of I-90 Exit # 59, Rapid City, SD 57701
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.3
out of 5
8 reviews
Convenient Location

This is quite a nice but somewhat dated hotel off the main highway. The room I had was quite nice,... See full review

  • Teunerik
  • Jun 7, 2014
"Good location, good price; a bit noisy"

SUMMARY: cheap, adequate, good location, but a bit noisy and Internet access and other amenities... See full review

  • Travelling-Fool (or Frequent-Traveller)
  • May 3, 2011
Ideally located amid Rapid Citys best attractions, shopping and restaurants. We are only minutes away from Mount Rushmore, Badlands National Park and various other attractions. All of our rooms feature FREE wireless internet, 25-inch TVs, cable with HBO, iron/ironing board and coffee makers. FREE Continental breakfast, and guest laundry facilities.Pet Friendly .

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Jacuzzi
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Guest laundromat
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
Over sized rooms
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Hotel Map

44.0981 -103.2018
Area description
Business district

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (8)

Ratings and reviews for Travelodge Rapid City

Overall score

2.3 / 5
5.01.0
8 out of 8
Amenities:
2.4
Room cleanliness:
2.9
Hotel staff:
3.3
Room comfort:
2.6
Location:
3.6
Value:
2.6

25% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Travelodge Rapid City

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Jul 7, 2010

Not so great family vacation experience

Room was very hot when we arrived only the fan was turned on and it was 99 degrees, we had to go to Walmart and purchase a fan. There did not seem to be any A/C in the hall and all the windows were open which let in more heat. We requested 2 Queen beds, 1 was in the very small room and 1 was seperated by a door which would not stay open so we had to prop it open because there were no windows or A/C vents in the room, that door was closed when we arrived so that room was extremely hot. The beds were not comfortable and the pillows were very thin, we used our own that we had brought for traveling. The bath drain was very slow, there was standing water by the time we finished our shower, the jacuzzi faucet had been caulked but still leaked when turned on, and the jets were not very clean. When we went down for the continental breakfast the room was very small, it only had 5 tables and the sun was shining in the window which made the room very hot, there was a window A/c unit but was not turned on either day, the fruit was rotten, the milk was left out on the counter instead of refridgerated (the ref was only for the employees use). We did not use the pool area as the campground also had use of the pool and it was very crowded with lots of small children. The front desk manager was very helpful when asked directions to sites and very pleasant and the hotel is in a very good location with plenty of dining within walking distance and attractions only a short drive. There were plenty of other hotels in the area so we would not stay at this travelodge again because of this experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Lots of sights within short drive. Plenty of dining within walking distance.

Review of Travelodge Rapid City

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Angry and Dissatisfied
Pine Ridge
Dec 22, 2010

Business & Family getaway

Horrible, just horrible! I was unable to check in. The manager did not have handicap accomadations I requested, through [...]. He told me I should have booked directly through the motel,bause he doenotget these special requests from [...]. He didn't even have a room on the first floor! I had no extra money to pay for another room, and I had to wait 3-5 days for a refund. I had driven over a hundred miles to get to my destination, there were no other rooms available in the area. This situation put me in a terrible predicument.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Travelodge Rapid City

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Reyguncatering85
Business
St. Louis, MO
Jan 27, 2013

Would not stay again

This hotel was near the place I had a job interview at and I thought it would be a little bit nicer. There was the worst kind of hair on the back of the toilet and in the shower. There were three switches for the bathroom and only one worked. The heater would not alternate temperature. It was either hot or no heat at all. The staff did not know if they had a vending machine or where it was located. I eventually found it for water because I refused to drink out of their tap. The carpet in the rooms and furniture was new and had a mini fridge. I did not look at these but the iron would not get hot enough to iron any clothes. The traffic in and out of the hotel was very loud, slamming doors etc. Beds were very hard if you like a very firm mattress, you would be comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Rapid Taxi is the only in-town taxi service besides the airport shuttle. I ended up calling an auto parts store listed as a cab company online. I finally found out from the airport shuttle driver that Rapid Taxi is the only cab service in the city.

Review of Travelodge Rapid City

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Rapid City
Aug 14, 2010

Disappointed

Our original hotel said our room was flood and sent us to a different hotel (Super 8). We have stay at Super 8's in Rapid City but not this one. The Check in staff didn't seem to be interested in us as guests. We didn't have much contact with the with the staff. The only poor contact was the check in and the breakfast staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Travelodge Rapid City

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Marysville, CA
Jan 1, 2011

Only worth the Cheap Price it Cost

The staff was very helpful, but rooms were very small and seemed dirty and cheap. Iron stains burned into the carpet and overall just a dingy feel, not horrible for the price but probally others better for a little more. would only recommend if you only need a cheap room for the night not worth much money

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Walmart right across road, restaurants all up and down road, next to everything and all you need is in short distance away!

Review of Travelodge Rapid City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
100 West Erie Street, Chicago 60654
Oct 18, 2010

unbeatable location for the price

It is a comfortable hotel. While I was there, I watched the TV and went to bed very early.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Travelodge Rapid City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Travelling-Fool (or Frequent-Traveller)
Washington State
May 3, 2011

"Good location, good price; a bit noisy"

SUMMARY: cheap, adequate, good location, but a bit noisy and Internet access and other amenities cost extra. I suggest comparing prices for rooms at alternate 2-3 star Rapid City hotels which may be had at the same or nearly the same price during the Off-Season. DETAILS: Rapid City provides excellent access to Mount Rushmore, Black Hills NF (including the marvelous Black Elk Wilderness Area), Wind Cave (and Jewel Cave) National Parks, etc. And during the "off-season" (eg. March, April, through mid-May) the hotels are amazingly inexpensive (eg. I paid $26 + tax&fees = $31/night for a 2-3 star hotel, such as Foothills Inn - which I would definitely recommend over The Travel Lodge). The Travel Lodge was adequate - especially given the cheap price, but as I pointed out above, ALL Rapid City hotels have surprisingly cheap rates in The-Off-Season. Therefore, I would try higher-star hotels first, since they can likely be had for the same or almost the same price. Also, the higher star hotels are likely to include many amenities for free. Again, as an example, The Foothills Inn provided excellent high-speed Internet access in all rooms for free, while at The Travel Lodge this amenity is $4/night EXTRA (I did without it while staying there). Also, The Travel Lodge was a bit noisy - ie. the sound insulation between rooms is inadequate. I could hear both the people in the adjacent room AND the people downstairs (their noise awoke me several times in the early AM until I put in the ear plugs I always travel with, then I was finally able to get an undisturbed sleep). Again, by comparison The Foothills Inn was quiet as a tomb.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Hunan Chinese Buffet, 1720 Mt. Rushmore Rd. (Hwy 16); 605-341-3888; you can also special-order off the menu, get take-out (or with a sufficiently large order get FREE DELIVERY).

Review of Travelodge Rapid City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Teunerik
Perth, Australia
Jun 7, 2014

Convenient Location

This is quite a nice but somewhat dated hotel off the main highway. The room I had was quite nice, big and clean. However, tere was no fridge, microwave or flat screen tv in the room. Breakfast was in the foyer. The place is oppiste Walmart, so if you like that sort of thing, this may be the hotel for you

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a very good second hand sporting goods shop 1 mile up the road on the opposite side of the road.

Back to menu Return to top