$44 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 7, 2015 Check-out: Jan 9, 2015

La Quinta Inn & Suites Rapid City

3 stars
1416 North Elk Vale Rd, 1416 North Elk Vale Rd, Rapid City, SD 57701
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
64 reviews
Excellent Staff very Helpful and friendly

Awesome the best omelets for breakfast and the bar was typical See full review

  • 1Son1
  • Nov 17, 2013
spacious, comfortable room close to airport

Large room with lots of counter space in bathroom. Water park for the kids with water slide that... See full review

  • SSchaf4
  • Sep 13, 2014
Part hotel, part water park -- a retreat on the east side of town
Got kids? La Quinta Inn and Suites Rapid City has the ultimate playground. Home to the largest indoor water park in the state, the hotel boasts 30,000 square feet of aquatic play space (fees apply). Parents can unwind at the on-site restaurant, Sliders Bar and Grill, where a 10-foot video wall plays the latest games and tiny burgers are a must. Mount Rushmore National Memorial is an easy drive from here (27 miles), and guests can also motor to the other major attractions of the area, including Crazy Horse Memorial and Custer State Park.
Highlights
  • Hotel connects to WaTiki Indoor Water Park, a 30,000-square-foot playground with water slides, a lazy float river and more
  • Sliders Bar and Grill, an on-site restaurant with a horseshoe-shaped bar and massive video wall
  • Guests enjoy free continental breakfast every morning
  • Mount Rushmore National Memorial is a 27-mile drive away
Location
La Quinta Inn and Suites sits just off Interstate 90, about four miles east of downtown Rapid City. It is two miles from Rushmore Mall, and convenient to just about every attraction in the region, from Sioux Park (six miles) to Crazy Horse Memorial (40 miles).
Features
Accessible for a fee, the adjoining WaTiki Indoor Water Park draws families with a lazy float river, arcade, lounge and waterslides galore. All rooms and suites at the La Quinta Inn and Suites come with free Wi-Fi. The on-site fitness center has a treadmill, elliptical, recumbent bike and strength-training machine.
Dining
A 10-foot video wall makes the on-site Sliders Bar and Grill a popular hangout for sports fans. Popular menu items include gourmet pizzas and -- of course -- slider sandwiches. The La Quinta Inn and Suites serves free continental breakfast every morning: waffles, hot and cold cereals, pastries, fruit and more.
Transportation
  • Rapid City Regional Airport (6 mi/9.7 km)
  • Airport shuttle service available to hotel guests (fees apply)
Attractions
  • Rushmore Civic Center (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • Sioux Park (6 mi/9.7 km)
  • Bear Country U.S.A. (12 mi/19.3 km)
  • Reptile Gardens (15 mi/24.1 km)
  • Custer State Park (25 mi/40.2 km)
  • Mount Rushmore National Memorial (27 mi/43.5 km)
  • Crazy Horse Memorial (40 mi/64.4 km)
Business
  • Business center, three meeting rooms and 2,475 square feet of event space

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed La Quinta Inn & Suites Rapid City also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

La Quinta Inn & Suites Rapid City Rooms

Deluxe
King Room Non-Smoking Relaxing and comfortable room with king bed, recliner, oversized work area and dataport phone with voice mail and free local calls, and 25-inch TV with expanded cable.
Deluxe
King Room Non Smoking Relaxing and comfortable room with king bed, oversized desk and dataport phone with voice mail and free local calls, and 25-inch TV with expanded cable.
Standard
Two Full Non Smoking Relaxing and comfortable room with two full beds, oversized desk and dataport phone with voice mail and free local calls, and 25-inch TV with expanded cable.
Standard
Two Queen-Bedded Room, Non-Smoking Relaxing and comfortable room with two queen beds, oversized desk and two dataport phones with voice mail and free local calls, and 25-inch TV with expanded cable.
Suite
King Suite Non-Smoking Relaxing and comfortable two room suite with king bed, sofa sleeper in living area, oversized work area and two dataport phones with voice mail and free local calls.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
FEMA approved
Activities
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Children's activities
Game room
Jogging track
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Copy service
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
High-speed internet
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Fire alarm with light
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (64)

Ratings and reviews for La Quinta Inn & Suites Rapid City

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
64 out of 64
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.9

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Rapid City

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Lea T.
Business
Oregon, USA
Dec 30, 2011

Dirty, Noisy and Old

The hotel is run down. It is very noisy and not clean. It sounded like there were old water pipes in the walls that made a loud pump/humming sound and the walls are so thin you can hear your neighbors. I will never stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The restaurants in front of the mall are very good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Rapid City

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Harry the Spontaneous traveler
Business
Bellevue, NE
Jun 15, 2010

Not the best hotel for the price

Did not like the idea of spending 14.95 per person for waterpark. No pool for adults. We went to Mt. Rushmore. Many hotels around Keystone were cheaper and nicer. Keystone is a much better location for Mt. Rushmore and Custer National Park.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Rapid City

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JBN
Business
Massachuestts
May 28, 2009

Not for the light sleepers.........

Staff was very friendly and the hotel itself is in a very convenient location but rooms leave something to be desired. Inasmuch as this is a waterpark hotel, there were lots of kids(and adults) running around and being noisy. There were also several dogs on our floor who occassionally barked. If you want a quieter hotel after a day of sightseeing in the area, you best look elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Several chain type restaurants within a few exits (this LaQuinta is right off I-90, X-61. There is also a good size mall & Wal*MArt at X-59. Easy access to jump to all local attractions (Rushmore, Badlands, Crazy Horse, Black Hills, etc)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Rapid City

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
South Dakota
Feb 21, 2011

TOO many people, TOO few staff!

Pool is super cool, but there were SOOO many people it was hard to enjoy. Grossly understaffed. Hotel is not that clean. We were not aware that they accept pets. Continental breakfast was very slim. Do not go here to relax!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Rapid City

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
South Dakota
Jul 9, 2010

Not as expected!

Our stay at La Quinta Inn and suites was not what we expected. On arrival at check in they told us we couldn't check in until 3pm when our receipt said 1pm. Also we were upset the indoor water park was not complimentary like most Hotels offer, we ended up paying over $50.00 to use the pool, and pool pass was only good for one day. Also the maid service wasn't that good, they hardly brought fresh towels and set the beds. The Hotel did have a great location and the continental breakfast was nice. The staff at the front desk was not that friendly. Also the Hotel did smell of chlorine from the pool. Definitely would not stay again even though the water park was a lot of fun but expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

La Quinta Inn does have a good location, very close to all the attractions in South Dakota.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Rapid City

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sioux Falls
Nov 22, 2009

Pool Burn

Brought my family on a business trip so they could enjoy the indoor waterpark. The two younger ones got itchy, red, bumpy rashes from the pool. My wife and daughter faces looked like they had been sunburned after swimming. The youngest's bathing suit lost all its color. The park was fun but not worth the burns.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Rapid City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Monticello, MN
Jan 7, 2010

Business trip

I pretty much slept at the hotel - This was a business trip where I worked 16 hour days - no time for fun. But, the bed was comfy, and the alarm did not go off randomly at 4am, so I was happy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Rapid City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ian P
Business
Billings, MT
Aug 8, 2012

Not a bad hotel, but Rapid City is overpriced for rooms

This hotel wasn't bad, but every rating on the scale is lower to me because of the price. When I pay almost $200 a night for a room, I think it is reasonable to expect more. This was a $75 a night experience. There wasn't anything wrong with the room, and we had a good time, but these prices are unreasonable. The attached (unaffiliated) restaurant was a joke, and I would not eat there again. My wife ordered a $24 steak and they did not even have a steak knife in the restaurant! Anyway, the staff was very good, but otherwise this hotel was average at best- but at a price where you would expect more. This is definitely a family hotel. It is also disappointing that there is no discount at the water park for guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

If you eat here, don't get suckered in to spending more. The service is bad, and they try to pass the place off for more than it is. Just go to Applebees and get the same thing for less.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Rapid City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BossHossZZ4
Business
ND
Jan 1, 2013

Hotel OK, water park Great!

We Stayed here one night (Dec. 30). After trying twice to make a reservation directly, (once we got cut off, and the second time put on hold for over 6 minutes, and then I hung up) I booked it online. Location is right off of I-90. Check in went OK, fairly smooth. Room was clean, had 2 fridges??, beds ok, TV had good channel selction, but somewhat bad reception. This hotel is attached to the waterpark next door, which I guess it shares with another hotel. Most of the evening and early in the morning it sounds like a herd of buffalo is loose in the building. Kids running back and forth up and down the hallways and in the rooms. If you can live with it, you probably won't mind staying here. I figured the waterpark was included in the price of the hotel. Wrong. Add $7/person. Ok so I dealt with it. The best part (and only??) of staying here is the water park. It has a small lazy river, a good area for the smaller kids, and 3 big slides. The yellow one is not much fun, the green one is very fun, 1 or 2 people on a tube and includs a dark tunnel area. The real fun is the red and white slide. Again 1 or 2 people on a tube, but you start out on the slide, get shot into a big bowl, go round and round and then down thru the center into another slide and finally into the pool. I think I walked up all 70 steps 12 or 13 times to ride these slides and never got sick of them. My teenage son and wife loved it as did I. The bottom line here is simple: if you have kids or are a kid at heart you will like it here, if not probably stay somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Rapid City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kateabate
Business
Rapid city, SD
Jan 17, 2014

Good Price

Best price we could find in town, nice place. Everything seemed new, clean. Thanks!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top