$49 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 7, 2014 Check-out: Dec 8, 2014

La Quinta Inn & Suites Rapid City

3 stars
1416 North Elk Vale Rd, 1416 North Elk Vale Rd, Rapid City, SD 57701
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
64 reviews
Excellent Staff very Helpful and friendly

Awesome the best omelets for breakfast and the bar was typical See full review

  • 1Son1
  • Nov 17, 2013
spacious, comfortable room close to airport

Large room with lots of counter space in bathroom. Water park for the kids with water slide that... See full review

  • SSchaf4
  • Sep 13, 2014
Part hotel, part water park -- a retreat on the east side of town
Got kids? La Quinta Inn and Suites Rapid City has the ultimate playground. Home to the largest indoor water park in the state, the hotel boasts 30,000 square feet of aquatic play space (fees apply). Parents can unwind at the on-site restaurant, Sliders Bar and Grill, where a 10-foot video wall plays the latest games and tiny burgers are a must. Mount Rushmore National Memorial is an easy drive from here (27 miles), and guests can also motor to the other major attractions of the area, including Crazy Horse Memorial and Custer State Park.
Highlights
  • Hotel connects to WaTiki Indoor Water Park, a 30,000-square-foot playground with water slides, a lazy float river and more
  • Sliders Bar and Grill, an on-site restaurant with a horseshoe-shaped bar and massive video wall
  • Guests enjoy free continental breakfast every morning
  • Mount Rushmore National Memorial is a 27-mile drive away
Location
La Quinta Inn and Suites sits just off Interstate 90, about four miles east of downtown Rapid City. It is two miles from Rushmore Mall, and convenient to just about every attraction in the region, from Sioux Park (six miles) to Crazy Horse Memorial (40 miles).
Features
Accessible for a fee, the adjoining WaTiki Indoor Water Park draws families with a lazy float river, arcade, lounge and waterslides galore. All rooms and suites at the La Quinta Inn and Suites come with free Wi-Fi. The on-site fitness center has a treadmill, elliptical, recumbent bike and strength-training machine.
Dining
A 10-foot video wall makes the on-site Sliders Bar and Grill a popular hangout for sports fans. Popular menu items include gourmet pizzas and -- of course -- slider sandwiches. The La Quinta Inn and Suites serves free continental breakfast every morning: waffles, hot and cold cereals, pastries, fruit and more.
Transportation
  • Rapid City Regional Airport (6 mi/9.7 km)
  • Airport shuttle service available to hotel guests (fees apply)
Attractions
  • Rushmore Civic Center (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • Sioux Park (6 mi/9.7 km)
  • Bear Country U.S.A. (12 mi/19.3 km)
  • Reptile Gardens (15 mi/24.1 km)
  • Custer State Park (25 mi/40.2 km)
  • Mount Rushmore National Memorial (27 mi/43.5 km)
  • Crazy Horse Memorial (40 mi/64.4 km)
Business
  • Business center, three meeting rooms and 2,475 square feet of event space

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed La Quinta Inn & Suites Rapid City also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

La Quinta Inn & Suites Rapid City Rooms

Deluxe
King Room Non-Smoking Relaxing and comfortable room with king bed, recliner, oversized work area and dataport phone with voice mail and free local calls, and 25-inch TV with expanded cable.
Deluxe
King Room Non Smoking Relaxing and comfortable room with king bed, oversized desk and dataport phone with voice mail and free local calls, and 25-inch TV with expanded cable.
Standard
Two Full Non Smoking Relaxing and comfortable room with two full beds, oversized desk and dataport phone with voice mail and free local calls, and 25-inch TV with expanded cable.
Standard
Two Queen-Bedded Room, Non-Smoking Relaxing and comfortable room with two queen beds, oversized desk and two dataport phones with voice mail and free local calls, and 25-inch TV with expanded cable.
Suite
King Suite Non-Smoking Relaxing and comfortable two room suite with king bed, sofa sleeper in living area, oversized work area and two dataport phones with voice mail and free local calls.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
FEMA approved
Activities
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Children's activities
Game room
Jogging track
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Copy service
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
High-speed internet
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Fire alarm with light
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (64)

Ratings and reviews for La Quinta Inn & Suites Rapid City

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
64 out of 64
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.9

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Rapid City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ji Jones
Business
ND
May 9, 2010

Good Time

The description for the hotel was all true. We enjoyed the stay; the kids especially raved that it was connected to the WaTiki water park. The kids (and us) enjoyed that convenience. Overall, we enjoyed this trip and the hotel experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Rapid City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dickinson, ND
May 9, 2010

OK stay

we waited for about 15 minutes to check ib (*the lady was on the phone) when she was off she began to help us then to stop again to attend to the phone. They had our room info wrong we were booked for a room with one bed when we had 2 small children with us we managed to get that changed, and finnally made it to our room after a half an hour. I booked on the internet thinking it would save time. The hot tub was free to get into but was cold. The beds were very uncomfortable, and our bath tub was stained with some yukky rust colored stuff, i will not stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The water park the kids really enjoyed

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Rapid City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Professional Shopping Mom
Business
Sioux Falls, SD
Apr 18, 2010

Loved but not in love..

When we checked in, the staff was SUPER friendly. They were more like old friends than staff. They were very sociableas well as professional and gave us all the information we needed. The water park was great, VERY cheap for what you get. For parents that don't want to go on the slides, get a free wristband where you watch and also enjoy the hot tub which was very big and spacious. One thing that mae me not want to ever stay there is that the walls have nothing to them. I could hear the people next door taking a shower and hear EVERYONE'S conversation in the hallway.As well as the people above us It was hard to not be upset. Our room was on the 3rd floor and not even close to the elevevator. It made me feel like I was in an apartment building. The free breakfast was good, but the staff was not friendly at all. They didn't say good morning to a single person. I had to ask for a new spatula because someone's hair got on it and it was a big inconveience

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Red Lobster had the best service. I love the restaurant so we go to the one in out town. On a Friday night with 3 kids we were sat immediately, had the best server in the world add were in and out in a flash which was great ( we all were exhausted!)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Rapid City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bidouille
Business
Minnetonka, MN
Apr 4, 2010

Family getaway...

Great waterpark, but the room was very too noisy, you could hear your neighboor's TV !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Rapid City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hospitalmom
Business
Hettinger ND
Mar 22, 2010

Birthday weekend away

Very busy weekend for the Hotel, only one check in clerk on duty when we checked in. He did a fantastic job getting us through and answering the phone but needed more help. Rooms smelled of smoke.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Rapid City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
SD
Mar 21, 2010

comfort

Beds very comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Rapid City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sioux Falls, SD
Mar 17, 2010

Decent place to stay

Staff were friendly, rooms were ok, bed was comfortable, but linens were not in great shape. Not the cleanest room, but pretty good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Try Sanfords or Firehouse for great dinner options. Both are in downtown Rapid City.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Rapid City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
SD
Jan 16, 2010

Ready for next time

will be back to stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Rapid City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Monticello, MN
Jan 7, 2010

Business trip

I pretty much slept at the hotel - This was a business trip where I worked 16 hour days - no time for fun. But, the bed was comfy, and the alarm did not go off randomly at 4am, so I was happy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Rapid City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Wyo Family
Business
Casper
Jan 5, 2010

Fine not Fancy

Ok, rooms are getting old, but clean. Pool need to get things fixed, many parts were closed or broken.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top