$81 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 21, 2014 Check-out: Dec 22, 2014

Holiday Inn RAPID CITY-RUSHMORE PLAZA

3 stars
505 North Fifth St, Rapid City, SD 57701
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
44 reviews
Fantastic Mount Rushmore getaway

Terrific, close to everything, great dinning and shopping. See full review

  • Happy handler
  • Oct 22, 2014
Fantastic place to stay

Fabulous, convenient, perfect. If you are planning a trip to Rapid City this is the place to go.... See full review

  • Happy handler
  • Oct 20, 2014
Stay at One of the Best Hotels in Rapid City, SD. As soon as you enter our greenery-filled atrium, featuring a 60-feet waterfall, you know you're in for a memorable trip to South Dakota. The Holiday Inn® Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza hotel offers more than beautiful accommodations, though. Friendly service, well-equipped rooms and excellent amenities make us the preferred hotel choice for Rapid City travelers. Our hotel provides guests with an ideal location near some of the most spectacular sites in the world: Mount Rushmore National Memorial, Wind Cave National Park, Badlands National Park and Crazy Horse Monument. Other nearby attractions include The Journey Museum, Bear Country USA and Reptile Gardens. We are also just a short drive from Sturgis, home of the Sturgis Motorcycle Classic. Other hotels in Rapid City, SD can't beat our location adjacent to the Rushmore Plaza Civic Center. When it's time to work, you have everything you need with our business center, free high-speed, wireless Internet access and well-equipped executive rooms. We also have eight meeting rooms to accommodate any event, from a small meeting to a banquet. Take advantage of the great amenities at our Rapid City hotel such as an indoor pool, sauna, whirlpool, fitness center and a sun deck. When it's time to dine, find your favorite dish on the menu at our restaurant, the Grille or enjoy a drink at the Fountain Court Lounge. We look forward to your visit!

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn RAPID CITY-RUSHMORE PLAZA also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Tennis
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (44)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn RAPID CITY-RUSHMORE PLAZA

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
14 out of 44
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.6

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn RAPID CITY-RUSHMORE PLAZA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dr8989
Business
MI
Sep 11, 2014

Good place to visit

Friendly staff and clean room. Room is wide and the beds are firm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn RAPID CITY-RUSHMORE PLAZA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Puterputt
Business
Midland,SD
Nov 17, 2013

Location, Location, Location

This facility takes advantage of the fact that it is on the grounds of the Civic Center. This is both a blessing and a curse if you are a guest. If you arrive early enough, you can park your vehicle in the hotel parking lot and have a short walk to take in the entertainment available at the Civic Center. If, however, you show up anywhere near the time of the events going on at the Civic Center, there is no parking reserved for guests. Not even if they have reservations. We checked in 1 hour before the concert we planned to attend. There was also a hockey game and a rodeo at the facility that night. We had to park more than 3 blocks away from the hotel. I suppose the rooms would have cost at least $50 more for a decent parking space. When we got to the room we were a little more informed about how the owners feel about their facility. They put it all into the construction of a nice atrium hotel in the John Q. Hammons cookie cutter style. Pretty special for a small town 30 years ago. About the only improvements since have been newer linen and newer TV's. The rooms are in dire need of a makeover. OK, they put more modern light fixtures in. That just shows where the housekeepers haven't dusted. Not to mention the mold in the grout joints in the shower. The open atrium allows for the noise from the bar to carry throughout the facility. Not a bad deal if you're one of the partiers. Not so good if you're looking for some quite time. We had breakfast two mornings and dinner one evening. The wait staff for the most part was good. The evening menu was not all that impressive. I would have expected a little more upscale menu with more imagination. In my opinion it was on a par with Denny's. The food was not bad. It was just not impressive. When I go out to eat, I like an experience. I'm not looking to just fill my stomach. I can do that at McDonald's.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Show up early or expect to park a long way away if there is an event at the civic center.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn RAPID CITY-RUSHMORE PLAZA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mani Kanchana
Business
Saint Louis Park, Minneapolis
May 27, 2013

Awesome Staff & Room

Had a great time at hotel, staff were very nice and Manger of the hotel were very kind and nice to explain everything in detail. Kudos to the manager and the total crew. Especially there were a twin sisters in that hotel who were working in the dining area serving foods for the guests were awesome. In total awesome hotel and great place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Most of the attractions..

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn RAPID CITY-RUSHMORE PLAZA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Annamae
Business
Reno, NV
May 27, 2012

Great location, friendly, efficient staff shuttle availability.

Our experience at this hotel was excellent. The staff was very friendly, helpful and always available to advise/assist us in our needs. We did have minor maintenance problems with keys but the response was immediate. Atmosphere was calming. We were very happy with the decision to stay at the Holiday Inn. Our only advice is to have a small table with two chairs in the room for comfort. Sofa beds were not comfortable for sitting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn RAPID CITY-RUSHMORE PLAZA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jewlz
Business
Twin Falls, ID
Aug 16, 2011

Great

In town for Sturgis motorcycle rally. Very comfortable and clean. On-site restaurant was was a little pricy, but good food. We enjoyed our two night stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn RAPID CITY-RUSHMORE PLAZA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Buffalo, NY
Jun 24, 2011

Excellent Stay

Staff was very helpful and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn RAPID CITY-RUSHMORE PLAZA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
sc
Nov 12, 2009

Rushmpre plaza

People there were beyond nice and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn RAPID CITY-RUSHMORE PLAZA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago Illinois
Oct 8, 2009

Great place to unwind.

The staff was very friendly. We liked the location; close to the Civic Center - a lot of things to do close by.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn RAPID CITY-RUSHMORE PLAZA

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
chill lucille
Business
Menifee, Calfornia
Jul 27, 2009

No discipline

The Manager has no control of his or her hotel. kids running up and down the hall. Pool area is available for kids till midnight . No down time for adults was never able to enjoy the pool nor at ALL. kids as young as 6 in the sauna room. Worst Holiday inn I have stayed at . One of these days something will happen in that pool. No pool rule and parent surpervision. The night hotel manager told me "its too bad" deal with it. I was shock. I will never stay at a holiday Inn and if you are traveling for a nice peaceful vacation stay at a place that kids go to bed at 10 and enjoy the stay. Stay at MOTEL 6 instead.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Very safe area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn RAPID CITY-RUSHMORE PLAZA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
May breeze
Business
buffalo, ny
Jul 17, 2009

Comfortable stay

Nice hotel but a little off the beaten path.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

convenient to all attractions - which are spread out in every direction

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top