$106 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 27, 2014 Check-out: Sep 28, 2014

Holiday Inn RAPID CITY-RUSHMORE PLAZA

3 stars
505 North Fifth St, Rapid City, SD 57701
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
40 reviews
Relaxing Getaway

Staff are nice and friendly. Rooms are fresh and clean. Buffet was awesome! Definitely going back. See full review

  • Jumpman Jack
  • Jul 22, 2014
great stay

We had a very pleasant weeklong stay at the Rushmore Plaza. The staff was extremely courteous and... See full review

  • First time in Rapid City
  • Aug 10, 2013
Stay at One of the Best Hotels in Rapid City, SD. As soon as you enter our greenery-filled atrium, featuring a 60-feet waterfall, you know you're in for a memorable trip to South Dakota. The Holiday Inn® Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza hotel offers more than beautiful accommodations, though. Friendly service, well-equipped rooms and excellent amenities make us the preferred hotel choice for Rapid City travelers. Our hotel provides guests with an ideal location near some of the most spectacular sites in the world: Mount Rushmore National Memorial, Wind Cave National Park, Badlands National Park and Crazy Horse Monument. Other nearby attractions include The Journey Museum, Bear Country USA and Reptile Gardens. We are also just a short drive from Sturgis, home of the Sturgis Motorcycle Classic. Other hotels in Rapid City, SD can't beat our location adjacent to the Rushmore Plaza Civic Center. When it's time to work, you have everything you need with our business center, free high-speed, wireless Internet access and well-equipped executive rooms. We also have eight meeting rooms to accommodate any event, from a small meeting to a banquet. Take advantage of the great amenities at our Rapid City hotel such as an indoor pool, sauna, whirlpool, fitness center and a sun deck. When it's time to dine, find your favorite dish on the menu at our restaurant, the Grille or enjoy a drink at the Fountain Court Lounge. We look forward to your visit!

Hotel Map

44.0882 -103.2219
Nearby airports
RAPID CITY, (RAP), 12.00, MI, E;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn RAPID CITY-RUSHMORE PLAZA also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Car rental desk
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (40)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn RAPID CITY-RUSHMORE PLAZA

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
40 out of 40
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn RAPID CITY-RUSHMORE PLAZA

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
chill lucille
Menifee, Calfornia
Jul 27, 2009

No discipline

The Manager has no control of his or her hotel. kids running up and down the hall. Pool area is available for kids till midnight . No down time for adults was never able to enjoy the pool nor at ALL. kids as young as 6 in the sauna room. Worst Holiday inn I have stayed at . One of these days something will happen in that pool. No pool rule and parent surpervision. The night hotel manager told me "its too bad" deal with it. I was shock. I will never stay at a holiday Inn and if you are traveling for a nice peaceful vacation stay at a place that kids go to bed at 10 and enjoy the stay. Stay at MOTEL 6 instead.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Very safe area.

Review of Holiday Inn RAPID CITY-RUSHMORE PLAZA

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
G and C
Enfield, CT
Jul 6, 2009

Tired hotel, but close to airport

Furniture was old and tired. Hair dryer didn't work and was not replaced, even after being reported to desk. Close to the festival being held in the park. Holiday Inn Express was not far away -- should have stayed there instead.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't miss Mt. Rushmore, the Badlands, Custer State Park, and Deadwood.

Review of Holiday Inn RAPID CITY-RUSHMORE PLAZA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Inger
Des Moines, IA
Aug 1, 2007

Holiday Inn - Rushmore Plaza

I stayed at the Holiday Inn Rapid City-Rushmore plaza for 4 nights. The room was nicely decorated and very clean. Housekeeping did a great job in the room. I was a bit put off by the lobby decor - hundreds of dusty plastic plants. Seems like they could figure out something less phony. I was also irritated that there was no option to NOT have the sheets changed daily (to save on laundry energy usage), and no place to recycle newspapers or bottles that accumulate during a vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

This hotel was a short drive or walk to the downtown area, where there were numerous good restaurants in a range of prices, and a lot of shops to browse. Loved the statues of presidents on the street corners - very educational.

Review of Holiday Inn RAPID CITY-RUSHMORE PLAZA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
abc_123
San Francisco, CA
Jul 3, 2009

7 of 10 hotel, 8 of 10 downtown location

Location-next to a nice large park, very easy to find everything from it. Traffic around hotel was good. About 1/2 mile walk to downtown, but across a large street so we drove. At dinner I was always looking at the 2 downtown hotels (on Main Street) thinking if there I could have skipped driving and had a couple of drinks with dinner. Staff-friendly and helpful, very pleasant. Breakfast-buffet was scrambled eggs, sausage, bacon, french toast, toast, but not very good. Should have got the free breakfast item instead. Charged extra for coffee and orange juice. Room-clean, quiet, comfortable beds, no strong smells. Great water pressure in shower on 7th floor !! Amenities-no fridge or microwave. We like to get some fruits and vegetables from the supermarket for picnics or breaks from heavy restaurant food; or, sometimes eat the leftovers from a big dinner for lunch; or, keep cool drinks in the room. Usually standard in other hotels we've stayed at. We got by,but fridge/microw would have been nice. Summary-would stay there again, especially if hotel threw in some perks, but would probably give the Main Street hotels a chance if not.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Main Street has the 4-5 big restaurants, but if you want something lighter for lunch, Alternative Fuel (on Main) had a salad with some fresh vegetables. Other cafes probably do too. If not, Family Thrift Center supermarket is right on the corner, just one left turn to get back to hotel. Go a few blocks past the Main Street area then there is the usual fast food.

Review of Holiday Inn RAPID CITY-RUSHMORE PLAZA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nick from Indy
Indianapolis
Jul 30, 2012

Nice Hotel

Nice place. Location was fine and breakfast was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Holiday Inn RAPID CITY-RUSHMORE PLAZA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Puterputt
Midland,SD
Nov 17, 2013

Location, Location, Location

This facility takes advantage of the fact that it is on the grounds of the Civic Center. This is both a blessing and a curse if you are a guest. If you arrive early enough, you can park your vehicle in the hotel parking lot and have a short walk to take in the entertainment available at the Civic Center. If, however, you show up anywhere near the time of the events going on at the Civic Center, there is no parking reserved for guests. Not even if they have reservations. We checked in 1 hour before the concert we planned to attend. There was also a hockey game and a rodeo at the facility that night. We had to park more than 3 blocks away from the hotel. I suppose the rooms would have cost at least $50 more for a decent parking space. When we got to the room we were a little more informed about how the owners feel about their facility. They put it all into the construction of a nice atrium hotel in the John Q. Hammons cookie cutter style. Pretty special for a small town 30 years ago. About the only improvements since have been newer linen and newer TV's. The rooms are in dire need of a makeover. OK, they put more modern light fixtures in. That just shows where the housekeepers haven't dusted. Not to mention the mold in the grout joints in the shower. The open atrium allows for the noise from the bar to carry throughout the facility. Not a bad deal if you're one of the partiers. Not so good if you're looking for some quite time. We had breakfast two mornings and dinner one evening. The wait staff for the most part was good. The evening menu was not all that impressive. I would have expected a little more upscale menu with more imagination. In my opinion it was on a par with Denny's. The food was not bad. It was just not impressive. When I go out to eat, I like an experience. I'm not looking to just fill my stomach. I can do that at McDonald's.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Show up early or expect to park a long way away if there is an event at the civic center.

Review of Holiday Inn RAPID CITY-RUSHMORE PLAZA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
TUCSON,AZ
Jul 24, 2009

AVERAGE

THE ATMOSPHERE WAS NICE IN THE LOBBY, HOTEL STAFF WAS VERY HELPFUL WITH DIRECTIONS

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

30 MIN. DRIVE TO ATTRACTIONS

Review of Holiday Inn RAPID CITY-RUSHMORE PLAZA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Buffalo, NY
Jun 24, 2011

Excellent Stay

Staff was very helpful and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Holiday Inn RAPID CITY-RUSHMORE PLAZA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Orlando, FL
Jul 9, 2009

Great location for the price

The location was great close to downtown. I really liked the shuttle service to and from the airport and to any location within five miles. I recommend this location to anyone traveling to Rapid City.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Holiday Inn RAPID CITY-RUSHMORE PLAZA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Annamae
Reno, NV
May 27, 2012

Great location, friendly, efficient staff shuttle availability.

Our experience at this hotel was excellent. The staff was very friendly, helpful and always available to advise/assist us in our needs. We did have minor maintenance problems with keys but the response was immediate. Atmosphere was calming. We were very happy with the decision to stay at the Holiday Inn. Our only advice is to have a small table with two chairs in the room for comfort. Sofa beds were not comfortable for sitting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top

Change search