$93 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 2, 2014 Check-out: May 4, 2014

Holiday Inn RAPID CITY-RUSHMORE PLAZA

3 stars
505 NORTH FIFTH ST, RAPID CITY, SD 57701
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
39 reviews
great stay

We had a very pleasant weeklong stay at the Rushmore Plaza. The staff was extremely courteous and... See full review

  • First time in Rapid City
  • Aug 10, 2013
Awesome Staff & Room

Had a great time at hotel, staff were very nice and Manger of the hotel were very kind and nice to... See full review

  • Mani Kanchana
  • May 27, 2013
Stay at One of the Best Hotels in Rapid City, SD. As soon as you enter our greenery-filled atrium, featuring a 60-feet waterfall, you know you're in for a memorable trip to South Dakota. The Holiday Inn® Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza hotel offers more than beautiful accommodations, though. Friendly service, well-equipped rooms and excellent amenities make us the preferred hotel choice for Rapid City travelers. Our hotel provides guests with an ideal location near some of the most spectacular sites in the world: Mount Rushmore National Memorial, Wind Cave National Park, Badlands National Park and Crazy Horse Monument. Other nearby attractions include The Journey Museum, Bear Country USA and Reptile Gardens. We are also just a short drive from Sturgis, home of the Sturgis Motorcycle Classic. Other hotels in Rapid City, SD can't beat our location adjacent to the Rushmore Plaza Civic Center. When it's time to work, you have everything you need with our business center, free high-speed, wireless Internet access and well-equipped executive rooms. We also have eight meeting rooms to accommodate any event, from a small meeting to a banquet. Take advantage of the great amenities at our Rapid City hotel such as an indoor pool, sauna, whirlpool, fitness center and a sun deck. When it's time to dine, find your favorite dish on the menu at our restaurant, the Grille or enjoy a drink at the Fountain Court Lounge. We look forward to your visit!

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Car rental desk
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn RAPID CITY-RUSHMORE PLAZA also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

44.0882 -103.2219
Nearby airports
Rapid City Regional Airport, (RAP), 12.00, MI, E;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Dining

The Grille
If you're looking for a great family restaurant in Rapid City, SD, our hotel's The Grille offers casual American dining, and kids eat for free. Nestled amid the greenery of our beautiful atrium, The Grille serves up breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Fountain Court Lounge
Enjoy your favorite beverage as you unwind to the sounds of a 60-feet waterfall. Located in the atrium, our Rapid City, SD hotel's Fountain Court Lounge features a wide selection of beer, wine and cocktails in a casual atmosphere.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (39)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn RAPID CITY-RUSHMORE PLAZA

Overall score

4.1 / 5
39 out of 39
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn RAPID CITY-RUSHMORE PLAZA

Reviewer score

5
blrsik
New Jersey
Sep 5, 2012

Summer Road Trip 2012 (Aug 30th - Sep 4th)

We were 3 (2 adults + 1 child) and stayed here for 5 nights. They honored request for a Fridge / Microwave and an additional Fan with no extra charge. We checked in late past midnight and at the reception they arranged for a glass of milk for my Son. The rooms were comfortable and were cleaned very well every day. There is ample parking and overall the experience was positive and although i don't see myself visiting Rapid City in the near future i would recommend this to anyone who is looking for a comfortable option to stay in Rapid City. Note breakfast is not complimentary but internet access is free. I did feel though that being a long weekend this place was not so crowded (I am originally from India and not affiliated to Holiday Inn :D and this is my first review ever)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

There is a walmart nearby for your local shopping needs and DO NOT SPEED ON I90

Review of Holiday Inn RAPID CITY-RUSHMORE PLAZA

Reviewer score

5
First time in Rapid City
Wisconsin
Aug 10, 2013

great stay

We had a very pleasant weeklong stay at the Rushmore Plaza. The staff was extremely courteous and helpful. We would stay here again. The location of the hotel is perfect for travel to any Black Hills destinations. Thanks!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Holiday Inn RAPID CITY-RUSHMORE PLAZA

Reviewer score

5
Mani Kanchana
Saint Louis Park, Minneapolis
May 27, 2013

Awesome Staff & Room

Had a great time at hotel, staff were very nice and Manger of the hotel were very kind and nice to explain everything in detail. Kudos to the manager and the total crew. Especially there were a twin sisters in that hotel who were working in the dining area serving foods for the guests were awesome. In total awesome hotel and great place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Most of the attractions..

Review of Holiday Inn RAPID CITY-RUSHMORE PLAZA

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Brookings
Nov 29, 2008

My review of Holiday Inn RAPID CITY-RUSHMORE PLAZA

This Holiday Inn is next to the Rushmore plaza civic center. Nice when you're attending a concert.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The Journey museum isn't too far away. A good place to visit no matter if you're from the prairie/black hills or farther away.

Review of Holiday Inn RAPID CITY-RUSHMORE PLAZA

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
USA
Jun 7, 2008

Very comfortable place to stay

The Holiday Inn in Rapid City was a very comfortable and enjoyable hotel. Our room met all of our expectations and we had a very pleasant stay. The staff were excellent!! The only change I would make would be the coffee maker, as it only made one cup at a time and seemed rather pointless. We enjoyed spending time in the restaurant chatting with the waiters/waitresses and also enjoyed spending time in the lounge, meeting other hotel guests from all over America.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Journey Museum is just up the street, which we found to be very enjoyable and very educational.

Review of Holiday Inn RAPID CITY-RUSHMORE PLAZA

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Boston MA
Aug 8, 2010

Great Place to stay in Rapid city

Nice place to stay in Rapid city. Room was clean. Staffs were kind.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Holiday Inn RAPID CITY-RUSHMORE PLAZA

Reviewer score

5
Scooter eh
Kvegas
Jun 24, 2012

EPIC

Overall a great value for the $$. Wish the breakfast buffet was included in all rooms. It was really good. The bed's were great, and the TV's were nice. There was a bit of an issue with reception on the TV though. I would stay here again if I were in Rapid City. Sanford's across the park was GREAT.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Holiday Inn RAPID CITY-RUSHMORE PLAZA

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
May 12, 2007

Great Hotel to Stay

Stay at the Holiday Inn RAPID CITY-RUSHMORE PLAZA, RAPID CITY, SD was a very pleasurable experience for my family & me. This was a first vacation as a family with our 15 month old daughter and we had a great time in South Dakota. The hotel is centrally located to everything from the mall & restaurants up on Haines Ave. to being able to go to the Badlands and of course Mt. Rushmore. We also enjoyed having a nice park in front of the hotel & civic center along with downtown Rapid City being down the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Rushmore Mall is right up the street from the hotel. Many shops, reatuarants & a Target that we used a lot on our stay.

Review of Holiday Inn RAPID CITY-RUSHMORE PLAZA

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Chicago area
Aug 7, 2010

Gluten & Organic Store nearby

This was a great hotel. Cost, cleanliness, all worth it. Alas, the exercise room was just too small and too limited. That was the one drawback.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

My kids have gluten allergies, and it was good to find the Staples & Spice Organic store just a few blocks away downtown. We supplemented our meals with some gluten free foods & other organics from this store.

Review of Holiday Inn RAPID CITY-RUSHMORE PLAZA

Reviewer score

5
blrsik
New Jersey
Sep 5, 2012

Summer Road Trip 2012 (Aug 30th - Sep 4th)

We were 3 (2 adults + 1 child) and stayed here for 5 nights. They honored request for a Fridge / Microwave and an additional Fan with no extra charge. We checked in late past midnight and at the reception they arranged for a glass of milk for my Son. The rooms were comfortable and were cleaned very well every day. There is ample parking and overall the experience was positive and although i don't see myself visiting Rapid City in the near future i would recommend this to anyone who is looking for a comfortable option to stay in Rapid City. Note breakfast is not complimentary but internet access is free. I did feel though that being a long weekend this place was not so crowded (I am originally from India and not affiliated to Holiday Inn :D and this is my first review ever)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

There is a walmart nearby for your local shopping needs and DO NOT SPEED ON I90

Review of Holiday Inn RAPID CITY-RUSHMORE PLAZA

Reviewer score

5
LFSD
San Diego, CA
Jul 9, 2009

Great location and price

The rooms are extremely comfortable! The sheets were soft and layered with a thin down comforter. Buffet breakfast was great as well (omelet bar was yummy!). They have an all you can eat prime rib dinner on Friday nights (which I missed out on). The hotel is next to a large park which is great for walking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

We stayed at Rapid City to visit Mt. Rushmore, Custer, Crazy Horse & the Badlands. I wanted a location that was comfortable and somewhat central. It was perfect! Airport is 15 min. from hotel. The hotel is in perfect proximity of the main freeways that took us to the various scenic sites. It only took us 30 minutes to Rushmore, Crazy Horse was in perfect proximity from Rushmore and we visited Custer after Crazy Horse. After Custer, we took the US16A to US79 north to get back to Rapid City (per the GPS). Big mistake. You're better off going back on the US16 past Crazy Horse & Mt. Rushmore heading back to Rapid City. The roads are more of a straight away. Badlands is only a 60 minute drive from Rapid City. A lot of quick eateries are along North St (go north on 5th Street where the hotel is located, make a right on North St) or if you continue on along 5th St, which becomes N Haines St, there are eateries along there as well.

Back to menu Return to top