$110 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 29, 2015 Check-out: Sep 30, 2015

Holiday Inn RAPID CITY-RUSHMORE PLAZA

3 stars
View map of 505 North Fifth St, Rapid City, SD 57701

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
42 reviews
Rushmore trip

We had a wonderful trip. The hotel was very nice and the staff was most friendly vary central to... See full review

  • Stefano
  • Aug 7, 2015
Fantastic Mount Rushmore getaway

Terrific, close to everything, great dinning and shopping. See full review

  • Happy handler
  • Oct 22, 2014
Stay at One of the Best Hotels in Rapid City, SD. As soon as you enter our greenery-filled atrium, featuring a 60-foot waterfall, you know you're in for a memorable trip. The Holiday Inn Rushmore Plaza hotel offers more than beautiful accommodations, though. Friendly service, well-equipped rooms and excellent amenities make us the preferred hotel choice for Rapid City travelers. Our hotel provides guests with an ideal location near some of the most spectacular sites in the world: Mount Rushmore National Memorial, Wind Cave National Park, Badlands National Park and Crazy Horse Monument. Other nearby attractions include The Journey Museum, Bear Country USA and Reptile Gardens. We are also just a short drive from Sturgis, home of the Sturgis Motorcycle Classic. You can't beat our location adjacent to the Rushmore Plaza Civic Center. When it's time to work, you have everything you need with our Business Center, free high-speed, wireless Internet access and well-equipped executive rooms. We also have 14,000 sq. ft. of banquet space to accommodate any event, from a small meeting to a large banquet. Take advantage of all our great amenities: indoor pool, sauna, whirlpool, Fitness Center and a sun deck. When it's time to dine, find your favorite dish at our restaurant, the Grille or enjoy a drink at the Fountain Court Lounge. We look forward to your visit!

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn RAPID CITY-RUSHMORE PLAZA also booked these hotels.

★★
$67
4.1 / 5 64 reviews
★★★
$127
3.9 / 5 33 reviews
★★
$70
4.3 / 5 22 reviews
★★★
$69
3.8 / 5 60 reviews
★★★
$99
4.4 / 5 11 reviews
★★★
$116
4.2 / 5 29 reviews
★★
$149
4.2 / 5 22 reviews

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Tennis
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn RAPID CITY-RUSHMORE PLAZA

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
42 out of 42
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

98% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn RAPID CITY-RUSHMORE PLAZA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JAKE J.
Family
N/A
Aug 14, 2015

Mt.Rushmore Trip

This hotel was about 20 mins away from Mt.Rushmore and Custer park. The hotel was very clean and we were comfortable in our room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Holiday Inn RAPID CITY-RUSHMORE PLAZA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Stefano
Couples
N/A
Aug 7, 2015

Rushmore trip

We had a wonderful trip. The hotel was very nice and the staff was most friendly vary central to all activities. The Sturgis Rally was going on at the time but the folks were also friendly and courteous. Mt. Rushmore was just as spectacular as I have always imagined. One thing that could have been better was the filet (2 ~ 4oz) had wonderful flavor and cooked perfectly but had a lot of gristle. All in all was a lovely trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Holiday Inn RAPID CITY-RUSHMORE PLAZA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bigessfour
Couples
Colorado Springs, CO
Nov 6, 2014

Great Location

Love staying here. Very nice and people are very friendly. Short drive to many of Rapid City's attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Holiday Inn RAPID CITY-RUSHMORE PLAZA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Happy handler
Business
Conifer, Co
Oct 22, 2014

Fantastic Mount Rushmore getaway

Terrific, close to everything, great dinning and shopping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Only a half mile from main st where there is great dinning and shopping

Review of Holiday Inn RAPID CITY-RUSHMORE PLAZA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Happy handler
Business
Conifer, Co
Oct 20, 2014

Fantastic place to stay

Fabulous, convenient, perfect. If you are planning a trip to Rapid City this is the place to go. You can park your car at the hotel and everything is within walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Take a half mile walk to Main Street and you have all the restaurants a shopping you ever need.

Review of Holiday Inn RAPID CITY-RUSHMORE PLAZA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dr8989
Couples
MI
Sep 11, 2014

Good place to visit

Friendly staff and clean room. Room is wide and the beds are firm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Holiday Inn RAPID CITY-RUSHMORE PLAZA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Moont Rushmore miller
Family
Ft Worth, TX
Sep 1, 2014

Great place to stay

Staff was excellent, all the amentities you need in one place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Holiday Inn RAPID CITY-RUSHMORE PLAZA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jumpman Jack
Family
Aberdeen, SD
Jul 22, 2014

Relaxing Getaway

Staff are nice and friendly. Rooms are fresh and clean. Buffet was awesome! Definitely going back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Holiday Inn RAPID CITY-RUSHMORE PLAZA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Puterputt
Couples
Midland,SD
Nov 17, 2013

Location, Location, Location

This facility takes advantage of the fact that it is on the grounds of the Civic Center. This is both a blessing and a curse if you are a guest. If you arrive early enough, you can park your vehicle in the hotel parking lot and have a short walk to take in the entertainment available at the Civic Center. If, however, you show up anywhere near the time of the events going on at the Civic Center, there is no parking reserved for guests. Not even if they have reservations. We checked in 1 hour before the concert we planned to attend. There was also a hockey game and a rodeo at the facility that night. We had to park more than 3 blocks away from the hotel. I suppose the rooms would have cost at least $50 more for a decent parking space. When we got to the room we were a little more informed about how the owners feel about their facility. They put it all into the construction of a nice atrium hotel in the John Q. Hammons cookie cutter style. Pretty special for a small town 30 years ago. About the only improvements since have been newer linen and newer TV's. The rooms are in dire need of a makeover. OK, they put more modern light fixtures in. That just shows where the housekeepers haven't dusted. Not to mention the mold in the grout joints in the shower. The open atrium allows for the noise from the bar to carry throughout the facility. Not a bad deal if you're one of the partiers. Not so good if you're looking for some quite time. We had breakfast two mornings and dinner one evening. The wait staff for the most part was good. The evening menu was not all that impressive. I would have expected a little more upscale menu with more imagination. In my opinion it was on a par with Denny's. The food was not bad. It was just not impressive. When I go out to eat, I like an experience. I'm not looking to just fill my stomach. I can do that at McDonald's.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Show up early or expect to park a long way away if there is an event at the civic center.

Review of Holiday Inn RAPID CITY-RUSHMORE PLAZA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
First time in Rapid City
Family
Wisconsin
Aug 10, 2013

great stay

We had a very pleasant weeklong stay at the Rushmore Plaza. The staff was extremely courteous and helpful. We would stay here again. The location of the hotel is perfect for travel to any Black Hills destinations. Thanks!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top