$171 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 28, 2014 Check-out: Jul 29, 2014

Holiday Inn Express RAPID CITY

3 stars
750 CATHEDRAL DRIVE, RAPID CITY, SD 57701
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
49 reviews
Great central location

Very convenient location. Just outside of the down town. Many places to choose from for dinner... See full review

  • Suchamum
  • Apr 28, 2013
South Dakota Trip

We used this hotel as a base home We went to Mount Rushmore, Egremont, Hot Springs, Sturgis, & Dead... See full review

  • Hunters Wife
  • Oct 9, 2012
Comfy rooms and suites in the medical hub of Rapid City
For hospital visitors, Holiday Inn Express Rapid City is about as convenient as it gets. The hotel lies within walking distance of Rapid City Regional Hospital, as well as major medical facilities like Black Hills Regional Eye Institute and the Same Day Surgery Center. Leisure travelers like to use the hotel as a stopover between day trips to attractions like Mount Rushmore and Badlands National Park. Guests will enjoy the indoor pool and free breakfast buffet: eggs, bacon, the signature Holiday Inn cinnamon rolls and more.
Highlights
  • Conveniently located near Rapid City Regional Hospital and other major medical facilities
  • Indoor pool and whirlpool
  • Free hot breakfast buffet features eggs, bacon and more
Location
Holiday Inn Express Rapid City is located about a mile south of downtown, near Rapid City Regional Hospital, Black Hills Surgery Center, Black Hills Regional Eye Institute and the Same Day Surgery Center. The hotel also lies within an easy drive of major attractions like Mount Rushmore, Crazy Horse Memorial and Badlands National Park.
Rooms
All Holiday Inn Express Rapid City rooms come with free Wi-Fi, comfortable triple-sheeted beds, and a clean, contemporary look (neutral colors, zero clutter). The king-bed rooms feature large, well-lit work desks in addition to the usual amenities, and suites are available with microwaves and refrigerators.
Features
Guests may use the on-site indoor pool and whirlpool between 6 a.m. and 11 p.m. There are also several health facilities within a short drive (fees apply). Holiday Inn Express Rapid City treats guests to free breakfast buffets with items like scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, cereals, and cinnamon rolls. For lunch and dinner, guests can choose from a variety of nearby restaurants, from Ruby Tuesday to Colonial House Restaurant.
Transportation
  • Rapid City Regional Airport (12 mi/19.3 km)
  • Free airport shuttle service available
Attractions
  • Journey Museum (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Mount Rushmore National Memorial (22 mi/35.4 km)
  • Custer State Park (40 mi/64.4 km)
  • Crazy Horse Memorial (42 mi/67.6 km)
  • Badlands National Park (45 mi/72.4 km)
  • Historic Deadwood (45 mi/72.4 km)
Business

  • All-hours business center just off the lobby with a computer, printer and high-speed Internet access
  • Copy and fax services (inquire at the front desk)
  • Free high-speed Wi-Fi in all rooms and suites

Hotel Map

44.0592 -103.2307
Nearby airports
Rapid City Regional, (RAP), 12.00, MI, SW;
Area description
Suburban, suburban

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn Express RAPID CITY also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
General
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Hairdryer in room
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (49)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Express RAPID CITY

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
22 out of 49
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.1

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Express RAPID CITY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kathy's friend
Saint Paul. MN
May 23, 2014

Mt. Rushmore

Close to Mt Rushmore. An easy drive. Lots of restaurants nearby. Comfortable room, however we did get an occasional whiff of cigaret smoke. ?? Front desk staff very accommodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

My. Rushmore is a very close drive.

Review of Holiday Inn Express RAPID CITY

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
crisanee
Minot ND
Apr 29, 2014

Sucks

This hotel is so so old and I booked my room to a non-smoking room but they gave me a smoking one their reason was all the non-smoking rooms are fully booked before I booked mine, but the point is why they didn't let me know ahead of time instead of waiting for us to get there and especially when we got there, there is only couple cars and people in the hotel so I don't understand why they said that. But all in all pls. as much as possible DON'T STAY IN THIS HOTEL. You will regret.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Holiday Inn Express RAPID CITY

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
crisanee
Minot ND
Apr 20, 2014

vety disappointed

I booked my room on a non smoking room but when I got there they said that their non smoking room are not available anymore so we ended up staying in a smoking room which is so uncomfortable to me. First the smell's of the room is terrible second I don't smoke and third the room doesn't have any ventilation for the smoke to go out. The building is really old. I wished I didn't stay there that is the ugliest hotel I ever stayed. I wished I can get my money back. So please I'm begging you all don't stay in this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Holiday Inn Express RAPID CITY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Suchamum
Tega Cay, SC
Apr 28, 2013

Great central location

Very convenient location. Just outside of the down town. Many places to choose from for dinner nearby. We stayed here and took off each day to nearby sites, nothing more than 2 hr drive. Made it nice for day trips. Being able to start our day with nice breakfast was great. Found the staff extremely friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Great base for day trips with many nearby amenities, something for everybody!

Review of Holiday Inn Express RAPID CITY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hunters Wife
Suffield Connecticut
Oct 9, 2012

South Dakota Trip

We used this hotel as a base home We went to Mount Rushmore, Egremont, Hot Springs, Sturgis, & Dead Wood. We took a day trip to Devils Tower in Wyoming. The rental car company upgraded us up to a 2012 Chevrolet Camaro Convertible. We had a blast driving it all over. Weather was beautiful all 10 Days we were there. We are so glad we made this trip and everything including hotel for 9 nights was awesome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Holiday Inn Express RAPID CITY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pink Panther
Charlotte, NC
Jun 11, 2012

Good Choice

The room was fine. Close to all the things we wanted to do. Breakfast was good although the pancake machine was not working but there was plenty of other choices.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Go see Mt. Rushmore before Crazy Horse. You will not believe the difference.

Review of Holiday Inn Express RAPID CITY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Travelers55
Oklahoma
Oct 9, 2011

Quick stopover

Staff was friendly, amenities limited. No refrigerator in room, bit older than many Express stays. Good location if visiting downtown area. Many other hotels outside of downtown area if quick overnite stay needed along major highway. Would most likely not stay here again with other options in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Holiday Inn Express RAPID CITY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Travelers55
Oklahoma
Oct 9, 2011

Quick stopover

Staff was friendly, amenities limited. No refrigerator in room, bit older than many Express stays. Good location if visiting downtown area. Many other hotels outside of downtown area if quick overnite stay needed along major highway. Would most likely not stay here again with other options in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Holiday Inn Express RAPID CITY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
wayneh7974
Coarsegold, CA
Oct 1, 2010

Great get away location

Great location, away from freeway noise, close to many easting establishments, friendly and helpful staff, clean rooms, great view of the city from our room. Black Hills gold jewelery factory right across the street with free tours and good discounts. Visited Mt. Rushmore, Crazy Horse, Sturgis and Deadwood. Breakfast buffet was great, food hot and nice variety.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Mt Rushmore Jewelery factory and outlet right across the street.

Review of Holiday Inn Express RAPID CITY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
wayneh7974
Coarsegold, CA
Oct 1, 2010

Great get away location

Great location, away from freeway noise, close to many easting establishments, friendly and helpful staff, clean rooms, great view of the city from our room. Black Hills gold jewelery factory right across the street with free tours and good discounts. Visited Mt. Rushmore, Crazy Horse, Sturgis and Deadwood. Breakfast buffet was great, food hot and nice variety.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Mt Rushmore Jewelery factory and outlet right across the street.

Back to menu Return to top