$90 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 19, 2015 Check-out: Apr 20, 2015

Holiday Inn Express RAPID CITY

3 stars
View map of 750 CATHEDRAL DRIVE, RAPID CITY, SD 57701

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
30 reviews
Great central location

Very convenient location. Just outside of the down town. Many places to choose from for dinner... See full review

  • Suchamum
  • Apr 28, 2013
South Dakota Trip

We used this hotel as a base home We went to Mount Rushmore, Egremont, Hot Springs, Sturgis, & Dead... See full review

  • Hunters Wife
  • Oct 9, 2012
Comfy rooms and suites in the medical hub of Rapid City
For hospital visitors, Holiday Inn Express Rapid City is about as convenient as it gets. The hotel lies within walking distance of Rapid City Regional Hospital, as well as major medical facilities like Black Hills Regional Eye Institute and the Same Day Surgery Center. Leisure travelers like to use the hotel as a stopover between day trips to attractions like Mount Rushmore and Badlands National Park. Guests will enjoy the indoor pool and free breakfast buffet: eggs, bacon, the signature Holiday Inn cinnamon rolls and more.
Highlights
  • Conveniently located near Rapid City Regional Hospital and other major medical facilities
  • Indoor pool and whirlpool
  • Free hot breakfast buffet features eggs, bacon and more
Location
Holiday Inn Express Rapid City is located about a mile south of downtown, near Rapid City Regional Hospital, Black Hills Surgery Center, Black Hills Regional Eye Institute and the Same Day Surgery Center. The hotel also lies within an easy drive of major attractions like Mount Rushmore, Crazy Horse Memorial and Badlands National Park.
Rooms
All Holiday Inn Express Rapid City rooms come with free Wi-Fi, comfortable triple-sheeted beds, and a clean, contemporary look (neutral colors, zero clutter). The king-bed rooms feature large, well-lit work desks in addition to the usual amenities, and suites are available with microwaves and refrigerators.
Features
Guests may use the on-site indoor pool and whirlpool between 6 a.m. and 11 p.m. There are also several health facilities within a short drive (fees apply). Holiday Inn Express Rapid City treats guests to free breakfast buffets with items like scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, cereals, and cinnamon rolls. For lunch and dinner, guests can choose from a variety of nearby restaurants, from Ruby Tuesday to Colonial House Restaurant.
Transportation
  • Rapid City Regional Airport (12 mi/19.3 km)
  • Free airport shuttle service available
Attractions
  • Journey Museum (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Mount Rushmore National Memorial (22 mi/35.4 km)
  • Custer State Park (40 mi/64.4 km)
  • Crazy Horse Memorial (42 mi/67.6 km)
  • Badlands National Park (45 mi/72.4 km)
  • Historic Deadwood (45 mi/72.4 km)
Business

  • All-hours business center just off the lobby with a computer, printer and high-speed Internet access
  • Copy and fax services (inquire at the front desk)
  • Free high-speed Wi-Fi in all rooms and suites

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn Express RAPID CITY also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
General
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Hairdryer in room
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Express RAPID CITY

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
30 out of 30
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Express RAPID CITY

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
crisanee
Business
Minot ND
Apr 20, 2014

vety disappointed

I booked my room on a non smoking room but when I got there they said that their non smoking room are not available anymore so we ended up staying in a smoking room which is so uncomfortable to me. First the smell's of the room is terrible second I don't smoke and third the room doesn't have any ventilation for the smoke to go out. The building is really old. I wished I didn't stay there that is the ugliest hotel I ever stayed. I wished I can get my money back. So please I'm begging you all don't stay in this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express RAPID CITY

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
crisanee
Business
Minot ND
Apr 29, 2014

Sucks

This hotel is so so old and I booked my room to a non-smoking room but they gave me a smoking one their reason was all the non-smoking rooms are fully booked before I booked mine, but the point is why they didn't let me know ahead of time instead of waiting for us to get there and especially when we got there, there is only couple cars and people in the hotel so I don't understand why they said that. But all in all pls. as much as possible DON'T STAY IN THIS HOTEL. You will regret.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express RAPID CITY

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Colorado Springs, CO
Jun 29, 2010

Stinky motel with unfriendly staff

Both front office staff and most other staff seemed to not welcome my family as they did not greet us and looked at us like zoo animals. I would highly recommend racial sensitivity training. Many of the guests were very friendly and treated us the way we would treat others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express RAPID CITY

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Unresolved
Business
Garland, TX
Jul 10, 2009

Rip off

I traveled 10 days and stayed in 7 hotels including two other Holiday Inn types. This was by far the most expensive room and the least pleasant stay. I had a reservation for a NON SMOKING room and was given SMOKING. When I asked to be moved to NON as my reservation and pre-payment had guaranteed, I was told no other NON SMOKING rooms were available. However, 30 minutes later a family checked in across the hall into a NON SMOKING room. I immediately went to [...] the young clerk who checked us in and he admitted he had 'lied' to us about their being an available NON SMOKING room. The room stunk like smoke and we had to sleep with the window open. I was traveling with a 78 year old woman with emphysema; a SMOKING room was less than ideal. I have asked for a refund of my ridiculous payment and have been denied. I booked this thru Orbitz which has not helped me get my money back. No guarantees on this Orbitz? This room was also in need of repair, the shower head was coming off the wall and the towels were very messy; looked as if they had been used and sloppily refolded. Floors needed vacuuming. I took pictures. I want my money back. Worst day of our trip. Thanks Rapid City. Thanks Holiday Inn. Thanks Orbitz. I'm not giving up by the way until I have my money back. I will then donate it to American Lung Assoc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express RAPID CITY

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Nate Henry
Business
South Dakota
Sep 13, 2011

Disappointed

Staff was rude and not very accomadating. We booked a room with a king bed, we were given 2 doubles. It would have been nice to have a small fridge in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express RAPID CITY

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
EAGLE RIVER, WI
Jul 3, 2009

Rapid City Night

The Hotel was average. The room was clean and the breakfast was good. The hotel itself was very noisy outside and inside. The Hot Tub did not work it was hard to relax. It was our last night on our nine day trip we were looking to relax before going home and it was difficult to do.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

They had local restaurants to do delivery.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express RAPID CITY

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Tobywolf
Business
Texas
Oct 20, 2014

Good location-bad service -10/10/14

Good points: huge room with kitchen, couch and jaccuzi which I didn't need since I was alone. Location was perfect for me to see Mt Rushmore. Also, it was close to anything I needed and on a main road. Bad points: some lights and the tv didn't work. I was told to jiggle the tv socket as that was normal. didn't work. they said they'd be up to help. 20 min later i was down there to see the holdup. the staff had forgotten and was watching tv. they gave me another room with no apology telling me to bring the key back. same room. some lights didn't work but at least the tv did. the staff were college kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

everything you need from shopping to eating is within 10 minutes driving

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express RAPID CITY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pink Panther
Business
Charlotte, NC
Jun 11, 2012

Good Choice

The room was fine. Close to all the things we wanted to do. Breakfast was good although the pancake machine was not working but there was plenty of other choices.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Go see Mt. Rushmore before Crazy Horse. You will not believe the difference.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express RAPID CITY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
bill3bernardo
Business
belo horizonte, brazil
Oct 15, 2012

Fine location for Mt rushmore visits

good overall experience. on the highway towards the mt rushmore and other black hills attractions and sites. close to the rapid city downtown area and to the airport a 15 to 20 minute drive. clean, friendly, overall good experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express RAPID CITY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kathy's friend
Business
Saint Paul. MN
May 23, 2014

Mt. Rushmore

Close to Mt Rushmore. An easy drive. Lots of restaurants nearby. Comfortable room, however we did get an occasional whiff of cigaret smoke. ?? Front desk staff very accommodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

My. Rushmore is a very close drive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top