$123 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 3, 2015 Check-out: Sep 4, 2015

Holiday Inn Express RAPID CITY

3 stars
View map of 750 CATHEDRAL DRIVE, RAPID CITY, SD 57701

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Express RAPID CITY

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
28 out of 28
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4
Value:
3.9

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Express RAPID CITY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bikereverett
Family
Long Beach, CA
Jul 26, 2009

Clean and Great Breakfast

Good location for Rushmore and the Black Hills. Restraunts nearby. Staff friendly. Free breakfast more extensive than usual.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Nine hour bus tour from Ft. Hays very good value. 1-888-343-3113.

Review of Holiday Inn Express RAPID CITY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
tracy city, tn
Jul 20, 2009

best hotel we have stayed in awhile

This hotel is in an excellent location. Quite alot to do with little travel. The staff was very courtous and helpful. We enjoyed our time there and would come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Was able to go see mount rushmore, crazy horse and a whole lot more attractaions

Review of Holiday Inn Express RAPID CITY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chrige
Single
Bern Switzerland
Jul 16, 2009

Excellent Hotel

Visit Badlands National Park, Mt. Rushmore and Custer State Park

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Holiday Inn Express RAPID CITY

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Unresolved
Family
Garland, TX
Jul 10, 2009

Rip off

I traveled 10 days and stayed in 7 hotels including two other Holiday Inn types. This was by far the most expensive room and the least pleasant stay. I had a reservation for a NON SMOKING room and was given SMOKING. When I asked to be moved to NON as my reservation and pre-payment had guaranteed, I was told no other NON SMOKING rooms were available. However, 30 minutes later a family checked in across the hall into a NON SMOKING room. I immediately went to [...] the young clerk who checked us in and he admitted he had 'lied' to us about their being an available NON SMOKING room. The room stunk like smoke and we had to sleep with the window open. I was traveling with a 78 year old woman with emphysema; a SMOKING room was less than ideal. I have asked for a refund of my ridiculous payment and have been denied. I booked this thru Orbitz which has not helped me get my money back. No guarantees on this Orbitz? This room was also in need of repair, the shower head was coming off the wall and the towels were very messy; looked as if they had been used and sloppily refolded. Floors needed vacuuming. I took pictures. I want my money back. Worst day of our trip. Thanks Rapid City. Thanks Holiday Inn. Thanks Orbitz. I'm not giving up by the way until I have my money back. I will then donate it to American Lung Assoc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Holiday Inn Express RAPID CITY

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
EAGLE RIVER, WI
Jul 3, 2009

Rapid City Night

The Hotel was average. The room was clean and the breakfast was good. The hotel itself was very noisy outside and inside. The Hot Tub did not work it was hard to relax. It was our last night on our nine day trip we were looking to relax before going home and it was difficult to do.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: In Hotel

They had local restaurants to do delivery.

Review of Holiday Inn Express RAPID CITY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Minneapolis MN
Jun 20, 2009

very satisfactory experience

Spent 1st day touring Rushmore and Crazy Horse monuments.Second day 70 mile loop through Black Hills wildlife Loop Dinners at convenient across the HWY Restaurants.Handy and fair priced.Staff was Friendly and solicitous.Good PackAGE WITH CAR

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Holiday Inn Express RAPID CITY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
MN
Jun 18, 2009

Great Place and Great People!

Everything was great. Staff very helpful. Will stay again when in the Black Hills.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Holiday Inn Express RAPID CITY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Atlanta, GA
Jun 22, 2007

Very friendly and conveniently located

We were very pleased with our stay in Rapid City. The people at the Holiday Inn Express were more that courteous. The room was plenty big enough for the four of us and was very clean and well prepared. I liked the two suitcase stands. I would have liked for the ac to be more user friendly instead of being controlled by the conditions outside. Other than this, we enjoyed our stay and would recommend this unit to our friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Mt. Rushmore, Crazy Horse Museum, Bear Country and beautiful scenery! The Colonial Restaurant just down the street is a must. Family atmosphere, great food and the desserts were fabulous!

Back to menu Return to top