$98 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 9, 2014 Check-out: Nov 11, 2014

Holiday Inn Express RAPID CITY

3 stars
750 CATHEDRAL DRIVE, RAPID CITY, SD 57701
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
29 reviews
Great central location

Very convenient location. Just outside of the down town. Many places to choose from for dinner... See full review

  • Suchamum
  • Apr 28, 2013
South Dakota Trip

We used this hotel as a base home We went to Mount Rushmore, Egremont, Hot Springs, Sturgis, & Dead... See full review

  • Hunters Wife
  • Oct 9, 2012
Comfy rooms and suites in the medical hub of Rapid City
For hospital visitors, Holiday Inn Express Rapid City is about as convenient as it gets. The hotel lies within walking distance of Rapid City Regional Hospital, as well as major medical facilities like Black Hills Regional Eye Institute and the Same Day Surgery Center. Leisure travelers like to use the hotel as a stopover between day trips to attractions like Mount Rushmore and Badlands National Park. Guests will enjoy the indoor pool and free breakfast buffet: eggs, bacon, the signature Holiday Inn cinnamon rolls and more.
Highlights
  • Conveniently located near Rapid City Regional Hospital and other major medical facilities
  • Indoor pool and whirlpool
  • Free hot breakfast buffet features eggs, bacon and more
Location
Holiday Inn Express Rapid City is located about a mile south of downtown, near Rapid City Regional Hospital, Black Hills Surgery Center, Black Hills Regional Eye Institute and the Same Day Surgery Center. The hotel also lies within an easy drive of major attractions like Mount Rushmore, Crazy Horse Memorial and Badlands National Park.
Rooms
All Holiday Inn Express Rapid City rooms come with free Wi-Fi, comfortable triple-sheeted beds, and a clean, contemporary look (neutral colors, zero clutter). The king-bed rooms feature large, well-lit work desks in addition to the usual amenities, and suites are available with microwaves and refrigerators.
Features
Guests may use the on-site indoor pool and whirlpool between 6 a.m. and 11 p.m. There are also several health facilities within a short drive (fees apply). Holiday Inn Express Rapid City treats guests to free breakfast buffets with items like scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, cereals, and cinnamon rolls. For lunch and dinner, guests can choose from a variety of nearby restaurants, from Ruby Tuesday to Colonial House Restaurant.
Transportation
  • Rapid City Regional Airport (12 mi/19.3 km)
  • Free airport shuttle service available
Attractions
  • Journey Museum (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Mount Rushmore National Memorial (22 mi/35.4 km)
  • Custer State Park (40 mi/64.4 km)
  • Crazy Horse Memorial (42 mi/67.6 km)
  • Badlands National Park (45 mi/72.4 km)
  • Historic Deadwood (45 mi/72.4 km)
Business

  • All-hours business center just off the lobby with a computer, printer and high-speed Internet access
  • Copy and fax services (inquire at the front desk)
  • Free high-speed Wi-Fi in all rooms and suites

Hotel Map

44.0592 -103.2307
Nearby airports
Rapid City Regional, (RAP), 12.00, MI, SW;
Area description
Suburban, suburban

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn Express RAPID CITY also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
General
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Hairdryer in room
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (29)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Express RAPID CITY

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
29 out of 29
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Express RAPID CITY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bikereverett
Business
Long Beach, CA
Jul 26, 2009

Clean and Great Breakfast

Good location for Rushmore and the Black Hills. Restraunts nearby. Staff friendly. Free breakfast more extensive than usual.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Nine hour bus tour from Ft. Hays very good value. 1-888-343-3113.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express RAPID CITY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
tracy city, tn
Jul 20, 2009

best hotel we have stayed in awhile

This hotel is in an excellent location. Quite alot to do with little travel. The staff was very courtous and helpful. We enjoyed our time there and would come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Was able to go see mount rushmore, crazy horse and a whole lot more attractaions

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express RAPID CITY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chrige
Business
Bern Switzerland
Jul 16, 2009

Excellent Hotel

Visit Badlands National Park, Mt. Rushmore and Custer State Park

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express RAPID CITY

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Unresolved
Business
Garland, TX
Jul 10, 2009

Rip off

I traveled 10 days and stayed in 7 hotels including two other Holiday Inn types. This was by far the most expensive room and the least pleasant stay. I had a reservation for a NON SMOKING room and was given SMOKING. When I asked to be moved to NON as my reservation and pre-payment had guaranteed, I was told no other NON SMOKING rooms were available. However, 30 minutes later a family checked in across the hall into a NON SMOKING room. I immediately went to [...] the young clerk who checked us in and he admitted he had 'lied' to us about their being an available NON SMOKING room. The room stunk like smoke and we had to sleep with the window open. I was traveling with a 78 year old woman with emphysema; a SMOKING room was less than ideal. I have asked for a refund of my ridiculous payment and have been denied. I booked this thru Orbitz which has not helped me get my money back. No guarantees on this Orbitz? This room was also in need of repair, the shower head was coming off the wall and the towels were very messy; looked as if they had been used and sloppily refolded. Floors needed vacuuming. I took pictures. I want my money back. Worst day of our trip. Thanks Rapid City. Thanks Holiday Inn. Thanks Orbitz. I'm not giving up by the way until I have my money back. I will then donate it to American Lung Assoc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express RAPID CITY

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
EAGLE RIVER, WI
Jul 3, 2009

Rapid City Night

The Hotel was average. The room was clean and the breakfast was good. The hotel itself was very noisy outside and inside. The Hot Tub did not work it was hard to relax. It was our last night on our nine day trip we were looking to relax before going home and it was difficult to do.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

They had local restaurants to do delivery.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express RAPID CITY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis MN
Jun 20, 2009

very satisfactory experience

Spent 1st day touring Rushmore and Crazy Horse monuments.Second day 70 mile loop through Black Hills wildlife Loop Dinners at convenient across the HWY Restaurants.Handy and fair priced.Staff was Friendly and solicitous.Good PackAGE WITH CAR

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express RAPID CITY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
MN
Jun 18, 2009

Great Place and Great People!

Everything was great. Staff very helpful. Will stay again when in the Black Hills.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express RAPID CITY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St Louis, MO
Oct 2, 2007

Very nice hotel staffs

the room was very clean, the staffs were very friendly and nice. staffs were very helpful, tried their best to satisfice me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

you can go to fast food restaurants, there were a lot, cagino is near by, the good restaurant was near too. across the street, there is a accesory shop, you can get suvenior too.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express RAPID CITY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jun 22, 2007

Very friendly and conveniently located

We were very pleased with our stay in Rapid City. The people at the Holiday Inn Express were more that courteous. The room was plenty big enough for the four of us and was very clean and well prepared. I liked the two suitcase stands. I would have liked for the ac to be more user friendly instead of being controlled by the conditions outside. Other than this, we enjoyed our stay and would recommend this unit to our friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Mt. Rushmore, Crazy Horse Museum, Bear Country and beautiful scenery! The Colonial Restaurant just down the street is a must. Family atmosphere, great food and the desserts were fabulous!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top