$135 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 9, 2014 Check-out: Sep 11, 2014

Holiday Inn Express RAPID CITY

3 stars
750 CATHEDRAL DRIVE, RAPID CITY, SD 57701
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
29 reviews
Great central location

Very convenient location. Just outside of the down town. Many places to choose from for dinner... See full review

  • Suchamum
  • Apr 28, 2013
South Dakota Trip

We used this hotel as a base home We went to Mount Rushmore, Egremont, Hot Springs, Sturgis, & Dead... See full review

  • Hunters Wife
  • Oct 9, 2012
Comfy rooms and suites in the medical hub of Rapid City
For hospital visitors, Holiday Inn Express Rapid City is about as convenient as it gets. The hotel lies within walking distance of Rapid City Regional Hospital, as well as major medical facilities like Black Hills Regional Eye Institute and the Same Day Surgery Center. Leisure travelers like to use the hotel as a stopover between day trips to attractions like Mount Rushmore and Badlands National Park. Guests will enjoy the indoor pool and free breakfast buffet: eggs, bacon, the signature Holiday Inn cinnamon rolls and more.
Highlights
  • Conveniently located near Rapid City Regional Hospital and other major medical facilities
  • Indoor pool and whirlpool
  • Free hot breakfast buffet features eggs, bacon and more
Location
Holiday Inn Express Rapid City is located about a mile south of downtown, near Rapid City Regional Hospital, Black Hills Surgery Center, Black Hills Regional Eye Institute and the Same Day Surgery Center. The hotel also lies within an easy drive of major attractions like Mount Rushmore, Crazy Horse Memorial and Badlands National Park.
Rooms
All Holiday Inn Express Rapid City rooms come with free Wi-Fi, comfortable triple-sheeted beds, and a clean, contemporary look (neutral colors, zero clutter). The king-bed rooms feature large, well-lit work desks in addition to the usual amenities, and suites are available with microwaves and refrigerators.
Features
Guests may use the on-site indoor pool and whirlpool between 6 a.m. and 11 p.m. There are also several health facilities within a short drive (fees apply). Holiday Inn Express Rapid City treats guests to free breakfast buffets with items like scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, cereals, and cinnamon rolls. For lunch and dinner, guests can choose from a variety of nearby restaurants, from Ruby Tuesday to Colonial House Restaurant.
Transportation
  • Rapid City Regional Airport (12 mi/19.3 km)
  • Free airport shuttle service available
Attractions
  • Journey Museum (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Mount Rushmore National Memorial (22 mi/35.4 km)
  • Custer State Park (40 mi/64.4 km)
  • Crazy Horse Memorial (42 mi/67.6 km)
  • Badlands National Park (45 mi/72.4 km)
  • Historic Deadwood (45 mi/72.4 km)
Business

  • All-hours business center just off the lobby with a computer, printer and high-speed Internet access
  • Copy and fax services (inquire at the front desk)
  • Free high-speed Wi-Fi in all rooms and suites

Hotel Map

44.0592 -103.2307
Nearby airports
Rapid City Regional, (RAP), 12.00, MI, SW;
Area description
Suburban, suburban

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn Express RAPID CITY also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
General
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Hairdryer in room
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (29)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Express RAPID CITY

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
29 out of 29
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Express RAPID CITY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Capable
Lakewood, CO, USA
Sep 27, 2011

Rushmore Journey

Nicely done! Had not been to South Dakota since June 1990. Excellent location! Great views from where I stayed. One of the best experiences I have ever had!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

If you're planning to be in South Dakota, such as the Black Hills region, this is a great hotel to stay at.

Review of Holiday Inn Express RAPID CITY

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Nate Henry
South Dakota
Sep 13, 2011

Disappointed

Staff was rude and not very accomadating. We booked a room with a king bed, we were given 2 doubles. It would have been nice to have a small fridge in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Holiday Inn Express RAPID CITY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Pueblo CO
Oct 12, 2010

Great place to stay

very nice very helpful would stay here again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Holiday Inn Express RAPID CITY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
wayneh7974
Coarsegold, CA
Oct 1, 2010

Great get away location

Great location, away from freeway noise, close to many easting establishments, friendly and helpful staff, clean rooms, great view of the city from our room. Black Hills gold jewelery factory right across the street with free tours and good discounts. Visited Mt. Rushmore, Crazy Horse, Sturgis and Deadwood. Breakfast buffet was great, food hot and nice variety.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Mt Rushmore Jewelery factory and outlet right across the street.

Review of Holiday Inn Express RAPID CITY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
New orleans
Aug 14, 2010

Great stay

Big clean rooms, great location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Holiday Inn Express RAPID CITY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Louis and Family
Indiana
Jul 16, 2010

Great Place to Stay for Family Vacations

This hotel is centrally located if you plan to see local area attractions. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. If you want to spend all day in a pool, don't stay here, but if you plan to get out and see Mt. Rushmore, Deadwood, Custer Park, and the Badlands, locations don't get much better than this. We saved big by eating the great free breakfast which included meat and eggs every day. We went for a room with a jacuzzi tub, and our feet were grateful after long days of sightseeing and hiking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Be sure to get a Smart Alec device if you're going to see the Black Hills. This was a great addition to our trip. It helped us find attractions, see sights we would have otherwise missed, and learn a lot of interesting history and stories.

Review of Holiday Inn Express RAPID CITY

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Colorado Springs, CO
Jun 29, 2010

Stinky motel with unfriendly staff

Both front office staff and most other staff seemed to not welcome my family as they did not greet us and looked at us like zoo animals. I would highly recommend racial sensitivity training. Many of the guests were very friendly and treated us the way we would treat others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
2
Review of Holiday Inn Express RAPID CITY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Rapid City,SD
Jun 15, 2010

Good Value/Comfort, too.

Very friendly helpful staff, choice of soft or firm pillows, soft linens, and comforter. Bed was very comfortable. Nice breakfast. Near Rapid City and all the tourist's attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Holiday Inn Express RAPID CITY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Anderson, SC
Sep 19, 2009

trip to Mt. Rushmore, Badlands, Deadwood

Breakfast (gratis with stay) was excellent. We had trouble with our room keys working in the door reader. The staff(all were helpful and courteous)twice made us new keys, but it was still annoying. Our room was clean and comfortable, but we were on the first floor, and we could hear the people in the room over us walking back and forth. Great location for attractions in sw South Dakota.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Holiday Inn Express RAPID CITY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nella Nasus
Merlin, Orygun
Sep 8, 2009

Mixed feelings

The people at the front desk were terrific. The jacooz was great. But, one of the florescent lights in the bathroom went out, the desk called maintenance, but it wasn't fixed during our 2 night stay. After we got back from sightseeing, the bed wasn't made. It didn't appear the bathroom had been swept when we got back, just towels replaced. It wasn't bad, mostly perplexing. The room was clean and comfortable. The breakfast was delicious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Red Robin. We don't have one in our area, so I was "excited" to try it. Very good.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search