$123 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 2, 2015 Check-out: Sep 3, 2015

Holiday Inn Express RAPID CITY

3 stars
View map of 750 CATHEDRAL DRIVE, RAPID CITY, SD 57701

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
28 reviews
Great central location

Very convenient location. Just outside of the down town. Many places to choose from for dinner... See full review

  • Suchamum
  • Apr 28, 2013
Rushmore Journey

Nicely done! Had not been to South Dakota since June 1990. Excellent location! Great views from... See full review

  • Capable
  • Sep 27, 2011
For hospital visitors, Holiday Inn Express Rapid City is about as convenient as it gets. The hotel lies within walking distance of Rapid City Regional Hospital, as well as major medical facilities like Black Hills Regional Eye Institute and the Same Day Surgery Center. Leisure travelers like to use the hotel as a stopover between day trips to attractions like Mount Rushmore and Badlands National Park. Guests will enjoy the indoor pool and free breakfast buffet: eggs, bacon, the signature Holiday Inn cinnamon rolls and more.
Location
Holiday Inn Express Rapid City is located about a mile south of downtown, near Rapid City Regional Hospital, Black Hills Surgery Center, Black Hills Regional Eye Institute and the Same Day Surgery Center. The hotel also lies within an easy drive of major attractions like Mount Rushmore, Crazy Horse Memorial and Badlands National Park.
Rooms
All Holiday Inn Express Rapid City rooms come with free Wi-Fi, comfortable triple-sheeted beds, and a clean, contemporary look (neutral colors, zero clutter). The king-bed rooms feature large, well-lit work desks in addition to the usual amenities, and suites are available with microwaves and refrigerators.
Property features
Guests may use the on-site indoor pool and whirlpool between 6 a.m. and 11 p.m. There are also several health facilities within a short drive (fees apply). Holiday Inn Express Rapid City treats guests to free breakfast buffets with items like scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, cereals, and cinnamon rolls. For lunch and dinner, guests can choose from a variety of nearby restaurants, from Ruby Tuesday to Colonial House Restaurant.
Highlights
  • Conveniently located near Rapid City Regional Hospital and other major medical facilities
  • Indoor pool and whirlpool
  • Free hot breakfast buffet features eggs, bacon and more
Nearby attractions
  • Journey Museum (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Mount Rushmore National Memorial (22 mi/35.4 km)
  • Custer State Park (40 mi/64.4 km)
  • Crazy Horse Memorial (42 mi/67.6 km)
  • Badlands National Park (45 mi/72.4 km)
  • Historic Deadwood (45 mi/72.4 km)
Business

  • All-hours business center just off the lobby with a computer, printer and high-speed Internet access
  • Copy and fax services (inquire at the front desk)
  • Free high-speed Wi-Fi in all rooms and suites
Transportation
  • Rapid City Regional Airport (12 mi/19.3 km)
  • Free airport shuttle service available

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn Express RAPID CITY also booked these hotels.

★★★
$127
3.9 / 5 33 reviews
★★★
$118
3.4 / 5 30 reviews
★★★
$130
4.3 / 5 42 reviews
★★★
$116
4.2 / 5 29 reviews
★★
$149
4.2 / 5 22 reviews
★★
$75
3.3 / 5 43 reviews
★★★
$74
2.8 / 5 80 reviews

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
General
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
FAX
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Hairdryer in room
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Express RAPID CITY

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
28 out of 28
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4
Value:
3.9

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Express RAPID CITY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hunters Wife
Couples
Suffield Connecticut
Oct 9, 2012

South Dakota Trip

We used this hotel as a base home We went to Mount Rushmore, Egremont, Hot Springs, Sturgis, & Dead Wood. We took a day trip to Devils Tower in Wyoming. The rental car company upgraded us up to a 2012 Chevrolet Camaro Convertible. We had a blast driving it all over. Weather was beautiful all 10 Days we were there. We are so glad we made this trip and everything including hotel for 9 nights was awesome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Holiday Inn Express RAPID CITY

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Tobywolf
Single
Texas
Oct 20, 2014

Good location-bad service -10/10/14

Good points: huge room with kitchen, couch and jaccuzi which I didn't need since I was alone. Location was perfect for me to see Mt Rushmore. Also, it was close to anything I needed and on a main road. Bad points: some lights and the tv didn't work. I was told to jiggle the tv socket as that was normal. didn't work. they said they'd be up to help. 20 min later i was down there to see the holdup. the staff had forgotten and was watching tv. they gave me another room with no apology telling me to bring the key back. same room. some lights didn't work but at least the tv did. the staff were college kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

everything you need from shopping to eating is within 10 minutes driving

Review of Holiday Inn Express RAPID CITY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Duder636
Friends
Canonsburg, Pa
Jun 23, 2014

ok

No hot tub in pool area. Cookies at 6pm were good but there wasn't enough fot everyone. Staff was very nice but there was not enough desk help.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Find where the locals eat and eat there.

Review of Holiday Inn Express RAPID CITY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kathy's friend
Couples
Saint Paul. MN
May 23, 2014

Mt. Rushmore

Close to Mt Rushmore. An easy drive. Lots of restaurants nearby. Comfortable room, however we did get an occasional whiff of cigaret smoke. ?? Front desk staff very accommodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

My. Rushmore is a very close drive.

Review of Holiday Inn Express RAPID CITY

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
crisanee
Couples
Minot ND
Apr 29, 2014

Sucks

This hotel is so so old and I booked my room to a non-smoking room but they gave me a smoking one their reason was all the non-smoking rooms are fully booked before I booked mine, but the point is why they didn't let me know ahead of time instead of waiting for us to get there and especially when we got there, there is only couple cars and people in the hotel so I don't understand why they said that. But all in all pls. as much as possible DON'T STAY IN THIS HOTEL. You will regret.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Holiday Inn Express RAPID CITY

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
crisanee
Couples
Minot ND
Apr 20, 2014

vety disappointed

I booked my room on a non smoking room but when I got there they said that their non smoking room are not available anymore so we ended up staying in a smoking room which is so uncomfortable to me. First the smell's of the room is terrible second I don't smoke and third the room doesn't have any ventilation for the smoke to go out. The building is really old. I wished I didn't stay there that is the ugliest hotel I ever stayed. I wished I can get my money back. So please I'm begging you all don't stay in this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Holiday Inn Express RAPID CITY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Suchamum
Couples
Tega Cay, SC
Apr 28, 2013

Great central location

Very convenient location. Just outside of the down town. Many places to choose from for dinner nearby. We stayed here and took off each day to nearby sites, nothing more than 2 hr drive. Made it nice for day trips. Being able to start our day with nice breakfast was great. Found the staff extremely friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Great base for day trips with many nearby amenities, something for everybody!

Review of Holiday Inn Express RAPID CITY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
bill3bernardo
Family
belo horizonte, brazil
Oct 15, 2012

Fine location for Mt rushmore visits

good overall experience. on the highway towards the mt rushmore and other black hills attractions and sites. close to the rapid city downtown area and to the airport a 15 to 20 minute drive. clean, friendly, overall good experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Holiday Inn Express RAPID CITY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pink Panther
Couples
Charlotte, NC
Jun 11, 2012

Good Choice

The room was fine. Close to all the things we wanted to do. Breakfast was good although the pancake machine was not working but there was plenty of other choices.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Go see Mt. Rushmore before Crazy Horse. You will not believe the difference.

Review of Holiday Inn Express RAPID CITY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Travelers55
Couples
Oklahoma
Oct 9, 2011

Quick stopover

Staff was friendly, amenities limited. No refrigerator in room, bit older than many Express stays. Good location if visiting downtown area. Many other hotels outside of downtown area if quick overnite stay needed along major highway. Would most likely not stay here again with other options in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Holiday Inn Express RAPID CITY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Southern girl
Business
Tennessee, USA
Oct 1, 2011

Great for a business trip

Very clean spacious room. Friendly and helpful staff. Great location. Delicious continental breakfast. Just 22 miles from Mt. Rushmore.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The Colonial House is a fantastic place to eat.

Back to menu Return to top