$49 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 22, 2014 Check-out: Oct 23, 2014

Grand Gateway Hotel

3 stars
1721 N. LaCrosse Street, Rapid City, SD 57701
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
101 reviews
Mt Rushmore vacation

Hotel was great. But the bed had big dip in it. That was our only comcomplaint See full review

  • michael biggs
  • Jul 6, 2014
A night away from home

Awesome! I would stay here any time! The hotel is very charming/ See full review

  • Travel 2 anywhere
  • May 13, 2014
The Grand Gateway Hotel, just off of I-90 at exit 59, is in the center of everything the Black Hills has to offer. Our central location provides travelers the convenience of only unpacking once to enjoy everything from Mount Rushmore and Crazy Horse Memorial to museums, shopping malls, restaurants, and theaters. The Grand Gateway is only a few miles from Rapid City's sports fields, downtown, the Central States Fair Grounds, our beautiful city parks, the Civic Center Arena, Cabelas, and The South Dakota School of Mines and Technology. Just outside our doors, American Heritage awaits you. The "cowboy way", legends of the famous Black Hills Gold rush, Native American culture, and nearly one million acres of breathtaking national parks teeming with wildlife are nearby. The Grand Gateway Hotel is a full service facility, and everyone at our hotel invites you to enjoy a great vacation. Grand Gateway Rewards is a free benefit program offered to our most loyal guests. To become a member of our rewards program simply inquire with our staff next time you check in. The Grand Gateway also participates in most airline award programs. Be sure to ask your reservation agent how we can help you earn airline rewards. All 132 rooms are non smoking Every room offers a minimum of 365 sq. ft. of space and connecting rooms are available Free wi-fi Pet friendly rooms available (owners must be present with dogs at all times) Handicap accessible (with some limitations) Fitness Center On site Perkins restaurant with 24/7 service and menus for both seniors and children On site Cheers lounge featuring entertainment 6 nights a week, the NFL package, and video lottery with payouts up to $1000 Indoor pool area with a 130 foot waterslide, soothing hot tub and pool tables. Newspapers in lobby Free computer access in lobby Convenience store with gas service adjacent to the property Laundry service, M-F Free Parking Outside power outlets Tour planning assistance Shuttle Service available Meeting & Banquet rooms can accommodate up to 300 people in beautifully designed spaces featuring state of the art equipment and high performance acoustics 4 floors serviced by 2 separate elevators.

Hotel Map

44.1056 -103.2035
Area served
Rapid City, Sturgis, Spearfish, Gillette, Wall, Lead, Deadwood, Hill City, Keystone, Custer, Hot Springs, Black Hills, Mt Rushmore, Elsworth AFB.
Nearby airports
Rapid City Regional Airport.
Area description
The Grand Gateway Hotel's central location, state of the art equipment, and spaces able to handle up to 300 people make it the perfect place to host your convention, conference or meeting.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grand Gateway Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5

Grand Gateway Hotel Rooms

STANDARD - QUEEN
2 Queen Beds. Desk. In-room safe (accommodates laptop). Wireless (high-speed) Internet access - complimentary. Television - Cable service. Premium TV channel(s). HBO. Telephone. Free local calls. Voice mail. Clock radio. Coffee/tea maker. Shower/tub combination. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Air conditioning. Non-smoking rooms only.
STANDARD - KING
1 king bed. Desk. In-room safe (accommodates laptop). In-room safe. Wireless (high-speed) Internet access - complimentary. Television - Cable service. Premium TV channel(s). HBO. Telephone. Free local calls. Voice mail. Clock radio. Coffee/tea maker. Shower/tub combination. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Air conditioning. Non-smoking rooms only.
SUPERIOR - QUEEN
2 queen beds. Located on floors 2-4. Sitting area. Desk. Complimentary wireless Internet access. TV with HBO. Clock radio. Coffee/tea maker. Hair dryer. Iron/ironing board. In-room safe
SUPERIOR - KING
1 king bed. Located on floors 2-4. Sitting area. Desk. Complimentary wireless Internet access. TV with HBO. Clock radio. Coffee/tea maker. Hair dryer. Iron/ironing board. In-room safe.
DELUXE - QUEEN
2 queen beds. Top Floor with Mountain view. Desk. In-room safe (accommodates laptop). In-room safe. Wireless high-speed Internet access (complimentary). Cable television service. Premium television channel(s). HBO. Phone. Free local calls. Voice mail. Clock radio. Coffee/tea maker. Shower/tub combination. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Air conditioning. Non-smoking only.
DELUXE - KING
1 king bed. Mountain view. Desk. In-room safe (accommodates laptop). In-room safe. Wireless high-speed Internet access (complimentary). Cable television service. Premium television channel(s). HBO. Phone. Free local calls. Voice mail. Clock radio. Coffee/tea maker. Shower/tub combination. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Air conditioning. Non-smoking only.
DELUXE - SUITE
1 king bed. Mountain view. Separate Dining and Living Room, Desk. In-room safe (accommodates laptop). In-room safe. Wireless high-speed Internet access (complimentary). Cable television service. Premium television channel(s). HBO. Phone. Free local calls. Voice mail. Clock radio. Coffee/tea maker. Shower/tub combination. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Air conditioning. Non-smoking only.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Ramp access to buildings

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Grand Ballroom A-D Salon Meeting Rooms Board Room.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
0300
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (101)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Gateway Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
101 out of 101
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4
Value:
3.5

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Lou loves to travel
Business
Montreal
Sep 5, 2012

The hotel was ok but the location is terrible.

Nothing to do in the area and we didn't feel secure at all . . . it seemed to be in a poor area of town. Don't stay here if you don't have a car.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

The restaurant next to the hotel was great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Andrews Paul
Business
Andrews, TX
Aug 11, 2012

Too expensive for quality

It was during Sturgis bike rally so they have a right to charge something extra. However, this was the most expensive hotel we have stayed in to date and that is saying a lot. Needs some interior work in the rooms to make it worth staying.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kim from Colorado
Business
Colorado
Aug 9, 2012

Great Experience!

The room was very nice, bed was comfortable! I love the bathroom...very spacious! We went down to the pool and my husband and I loved the indoor water slide! The pool was a bit small but was okay. Our baby boy loved the water! The pool area had a nice atmosphere like a resort-type feel. Very relaxing. Great location as it seemed to be close to everything! A great experience all around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a nice golf course just down the road. Didn't go there but it looked like a lot of fun!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
melizie
Business
Manchester, NH
Jul 23, 2012

Dakota Getaway

The location is perfect, at the highway exit. There is a great breakfast restaurant connected to it, not any other available on the Sunday morning we tried to find somewhere different.Indoor pool with a waterslide and sitting area.Bar with entertainment nightly. Only critisizm is that the table in the room needs touching up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Rapid City is a great jumping off point for many natural attractions and is a tourist mecca. Be there on a Thursday evening in Summer for their great celebration. Lots to do for everyone. Very family friendly. I would check out local transportation if there is any, hard to park in the city.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sioux Rule
Business
Minnesota
Jun 30, 2012

Family Vacation to Mt. Rushmore

The hotel was perfect for us and our two kids (8 and 11). Pool and waterside were great for them and the bar next to the pool was very accommodating for us after a long day in the car. Staff was very friendly. We'd go back for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
katrinkus
Business
Gordon, NE 69343, USA
Dec 1, 2011

weekend

Good location. close to all the shopping. The kids can swim or play. Rooms are comfortable. All in all, a good deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Architect
Business
Wisconsin
Oct 12, 2011

Room Assignment Issues

My party was assigned 3 different rooms before they found one that was not already occupied. Disconcerting that their computer system could not distinguish between occupied and not occupied.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MegaMom
Business
Palos Heights, IL
Aug 12, 2011

South Dakota Family Vacation

The hotel rooms were clean. The pool was clean, but the hot tub was gross. Green water means GERMS! I would not allow my husband or daughter to go near it. We chose this hotel because they advertised a fitness room, and I am training for a marathon so needed to run a few mornings while we were there. One of the treadmills did not work. I had told the staff TWICE. They never put a sign on it and then when a different gentlemen came in to use it I told him it was broken. He brought a staff member in to look at it (the first staff person I had told) and the staff told him that they had not had any complaints about it. Really? The elliptical did not work either. You practically toppled over when trying to use it. Other than that, it was a nice place. I just did not like the dishonesty about the treadmill.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Bostons' has fabulous pizza and they give you a 10% discount for staying at the Grand Gateway.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Texas
Aug 9, 2011

Great Hotel

Great hotel, easy to find and get in and out of traffic wise. Only downfall was the absense of a laundry room. We had to drive several miles to the nearest laundry.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Several restaurants within blocks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Virginia
Aug 9, 2011

Convinent to Interstate 90

It was very central to all the sightseeing that we did. The only comment I have is that even though Perkins resturant was right next door a continental breakfast would have been nice. Sometimes you do not want a whole big meal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Be sure a get a map of the area with the highlighted scenic routes in different colors. We did a different colored route each day. The hotel was in a great location to do this.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top