$29 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 26, 2014 Check-out: Dec 28, 2014

Foothills Inn

2 stars
1625 N. La Crosse Street, Rapid City, SD 57701
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
79 reviews
amazing value

My stay at Foothills Inn was excellent. The room was well maintained and comfortable, staff helpful... See full review

  • higher ed traveler
  • Aug 26, 2014
Nice Price

I stayed at the Foothills for a very reasonable price. The place is a little older but well... See full review

  • barzell
  • Dec 1, 2014
The Foothills Inn a Rapid City Hotel is conveniently located just off I-90 at the gateway to the Black Hills National Forest. The Foothills Inn invites you to experience spectacular geography, abundant wildlife and unforgettable adventures. More than 130 amazing attractions are within a short drive. Among the must-see national treasures are Mount Rushmore National Memorial, Devils Tower, Badlands National Park, Wind Cave National Park, Jewel Cave National Monument and the scenic Custer State Park.

In addition to a complimentary continental breakfast of cereals, juice, toast, coffee and Perkins fresh Baked Muffins daily, guests of The Foothills Inn will enjoy spacious, comfortable guest rooms, hi-speed Internet, a seasonal outdoor pool and fitness center. Adjacent to the hotel is a 24-hour Perkins Restaurant and Cheers Sports Lounge & Casino. Steps away is the Rushmore Mall the areas largest shopping center with over 140 stores. You can also walk to Super Wal-Mart just across the street.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Foothills Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5

Foothills Inn Rooms

Standard Room
Two queen beds. Recliner, credenza, table with 2 chairs, voice mail, wireless internet.
Standard Room
One king bed. Recliner, credenza, table with 2 chairs, voice mail, wireless internet.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
0300
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (79)

Ratings and reviews for Foothills Inn

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
79 out of 79
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.8

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Foothills Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
haven
Business
Montana, USA
Aug 19, 2011

Great TV Channels

Awesome to finally have a motel with Christian TV channels...would return just for that alone. Rooms were sound proof and heard not a thing from the other rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Foothills Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Fastman
Business
idaho
Aug 16, 2011

Great value

Room was clean and comfortable. Quite night. Breakfast was Ok for the price. Overall a good deal for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Walmart across the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Foothills Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
DilloN
Business
Yukon, OK, USA
Aug 13, 2011

Sturgis rally

The hotel was ok but the breakfast was horrible never again at this place do not recommend

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Foothills Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Jacksonville, FL
Aug 8, 2011

National Parks Trip

The stay at Foothills Inn was good. I had no complaints.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

We visited Mount Rushmore and Crazy Horse Memorial. It was awesome to be able to visit there and see Mount Rushmore.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Foothills Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
North-central Nebraska
Aug 7, 2011

A nice place to stay!

Check-in and check-out were quick. Hotel staff were friendly, and they were ready to help when we had questions! Location was easy to get to from I-90 and from all of the tourist sites! AC was noisy, but worked well! Wish the breakfast included fruit, but there was plenty to eat. However, seating was a challenge for a family of 5, we actually ate in shifts a couple of mornings! Don't forget to ask at the front desk for the sandwiches in the morning! Not a super-fancy hotel, but a comfortable place to relax after busy days seeing the sights!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The kids loved the Airforce Museum and all of the huge planes! We couldn't believe it was free (unless you wanted to tour the actual base).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Foothills Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Del traveler
Business
Ocean Shores, WA
Aug 4, 2011

Expectations not met

Hotel was close to restaurants and freeway. In great need of updating. Bed was most uncomfortable. Cleanliness was an issue with large stains on carpet. Staff was courteous and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Closest city to Mount Rushmore

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Foothills Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bay Area, CA
Jul 28, 2011

Plain digs

Needed an overnight stay after visiting Mt Rushmore. Staff was pleasant. Hotel very dated. Very basic accommodations. Odor of cigarettes even in our non smoking room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Foothills Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Greeley, CO
Jul 25, 2011

Very Comfortable

Very nice hotel. Room was great. Pool was great. It was peaceful and quiet when sleeping. Missed having a hot tub though. All but one of the staff members were awesome! But the ONE needs to go! I've never encountered such rudeness each time dealing with [...], yes his name is [...]! We had a slight problem in the fact we had reserved 3 nights, but the hotel only had us for 2 and thankgoodness for the room service staff that alerted me to that "issue". I went to the front desk to clarify our reservation and [...]tersely replied "you are checking out and we are booked!" Thank goodness another staff member was there and pulled our reservation and confirmed I was right and [...]replied "oh that jerk, he's in trouble, wait till he gets here!' and grudgingly acknowledged we had the room. He should keep those kind of thoughts to himself!!! All the other staff though deserve kudos for a great job!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Short, easy drive to two different type of malls, a variety of restaurants and easy in, easy out gas stations. Has it all.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Foothills Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fun mom on a budget
Business
Chippewa Falls, Wi
Jul 20, 2011

hotel with hidden secrets

This hotel was GREAT!!! We truely enjoyed staying here.The room was clean, The owner was there everyday doing things, and everyone that worked there was extremely courtious. It does have its secrets though...for example they offer hot sandwiches in the morning, but you have to ask for them. And their hot tub is hidden in a room in the hotel. We literally stayed right next to it and didn't know it was there till the last day. Overall great stay, we would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

The museum of geology was a great, informative, free place to go for all ages. A must see.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Foothills Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Al Bondigas
Business
Denver, CO
Jul 8, 2011

Decent value for the area

We picked this hotel based on apparent value. It was cheaper during high season than most other hotels in the area, but still a step above, say, Motel 6. The location is convenient to several restaurants, but if you want to visit any bars you're better off in downtown Rapid City. The hotel is in a good central location for day trips to Badlands NP, Mt. Rushmore, Black Hills NF, etc. It was an uneven experience at first. The front desk clerk was polite but didn't volunteer any of the information that you typically want when checking in. For example, the hours of the pool, breakfast and checkout; what restaurants are nearby, location of ice machine and elevator (there isn't one), etc. He'll answer your questions, but you need to ask. Our room was upstairs and to go up the main stairway, you had to squeeze through a small gap between a stuffed chair and a large indoor plant, pushing the branches aside. If your hands are full of luggage, be prepared to push through it with your face. As the trip wore on, I made a big show of holding the branches aside for my wife every time we passed through. We were somewhat amused that the staff never seemed to notice, even when there was no one else in the lobby. Our room had two lamps that didn't work, which I reported to the front desk. They sent a maintenance guy a few minutes later, who arrived with one bulb... To make a long story short, it took about 30 minutes before the whole situation was taken care of. The room was comfortable in the sense that it was spacious and had a generous amount of furniture. The bed was very hard, however, and the pillows were old and squishy. Although I'm normally a deep sleeper, I repeatedly woke up in the middle of the night with a scrunched-up pillow and a neck ache. At the free breakfast, there were 3 kinds of cereal as well as frozen Jimmy Dean sausage biscuits. The biscuits were by request only -- you had to ask the front desk staff for them. I only knew about them by reading reviews before the trip. It also seemed that people had to inform the staff whenever milk and orange juice ran out. Overall it was a decent breakfast and I would rate it as "Good" if they added some fresh fruit. Cleanliness: there was a large vomit stain on the side of our trash can and it remained there for the whole visit. Why didn't I tell someone? Because I don't feel that it should be the guest's job to point out glaringly-obvious things to the staff (see: plant blocking stairs, missing light bulbs, lack of signs about the ice machine and breakfast sandwiches, etc.). Otherwise, the property seemed very clean. We appreciated the spaciousness of the room, the free wireless, the fridge and microwave, and the plentiful supply of plastic-wrapped cups. There were plenty of soft towels, lots of hot water, and we didn't hear much noise from other rooms. Overall, I'd rate this place as "OK". I hope the management reads this review, because they could easily make it a "Good" place without investing much money or effort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top