$59 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 15, 2014 Check-out: Sep 17, 2014

Foothills Inn

2 stars
1625 N. La Crosse Street, Rapid City, SD 57701
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
73 reviews
Good choice

Nice hotel, near from many good places such as MT RushMore, Deadwood, Spring HIlls. See full review

  • elcuahu
  • May 30, 2013
more than I expected

The hotel was more beauty and confortable than I expected. Great choice if you wanna visit South... See full review

  • elcuahu
  • May 27, 2013
The Foothills Inn a Rapid City Hotel is conveniently located just off I-90 at the gateway to the Black Hills National Forest. The Foothills Inn invites you to experience spectacular geography, abundant wildlife and unforgettable adventures. More than 130 amazing attractions are within a short drive. Among the must-see national treasures are Mount Rushmore National Memorial, Devils Tower, Badlands National Park, Wind Cave National Park, Jewel Cave National Monument and the scenic Custer State Park.

In addition to a complimentary continental breakfast of cereals, juice, toast, coffee and Perkins fresh Baked Muffins daily, guests of The Foothills Inn will enjoy spacious, comfortable guest rooms, hi-speed Internet, a seasonal outdoor pool and fitness center. Adjacent to the hotel is a 24-hour Perkins Restaurant and Cheers Sports Lounge & Casino. Steps away is the Rushmore Mall the areas largest shopping center with over 140 stores. You can also walk to Super Wal-Mart just across the street.

Hotel Map

44.1033 -103.2035
Area served
Rapid City, Deadwood, Spearfish, Gillette, Hill City, Keystone, Custer, Mt Rushmore, Sturgis, Lead
Nearby airports
Rapid City Regional Airport (RAP)
Area description
Rapid City.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Foothills Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5

Foothills Inn Rooms

Standard Room
Two queen beds. Recliner, credenza, table with 2 chairs, voice mail, wireless internet.
Standard Room
One king bed. Recliner, credenza, table with 2 chairs, voice mail, wireless internet.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
0300
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (73)

Ratings and reviews for Foothills Inn

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
73 out of 73
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.8

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Foothills Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Al Bondigas
Denver, CO
Jul 8, 2011

Decent value for the area

We picked this hotel based on apparent value. It was cheaper during high season than most other hotels in the area, but still a step above, say, Motel 6. The location is convenient to several restaurants, but if you want to visit any bars you're better off in downtown Rapid City. The hotel is in a good central location for day trips to Badlands NP, Mt. Rushmore, Black Hills NF, etc. It was an uneven experience at first. The front desk clerk was polite but didn't volunteer any of the information that you typically want when checking in. For example, the hours of the pool, breakfast and checkout; what restaurants are nearby, location of ice machine and elevator (there isn't one), etc. He'll answer your questions, but you need to ask. Our room was upstairs and to go up the main stairway, you had to squeeze through a small gap between a stuffed chair and a large indoor plant, pushing the branches aside. If your hands are full of luggage, be prepared to push through it with your face. As the trip wore on, I made a big show of holding the branches aside for my wife every time we passed through. We were somewhat amused that the staff never seemed to notice, even when there was no one else in the lobby. Our room had two lamps that didn't work, which I reported to the front desk. They sent a maintenance guy a few minutes later, who arrived with one bulb... To make a long story short, it took about 30 minutes before the whole situation was taken care of. The room was comfortable in the sense that it was spacious and had a generous amount of furniture. The bed was very hard, however, and the pillows were old and squishy. Although I'm normally a deep sleeper, I repeatedly woke up in the middle of the night with a scrunched-up pillow and a neck ache. At the free breakfast, there were 3 kinds of cereal as well as frozen Jimmy Dean sausage biscuits. The biscuits were by request only -- you had to ask the front desk staff for them. I only knew about them by reading reviews before the trip. It also seemed that people had to inform the staff whenever milk and orange juice ran out. Overall it was a decent breakfast and I would rate it as "Good" if they added some fresh fruit. Cleanliness: there was a large vomit stain on the side of our trash can and it remained there for the whole visit. Why didn't I tell someone? Because I don't feel that it should be the guest's job to point out glaringly-obvious things to the staff (see: plant blocking stairs, missing light bulbs, lack of signs about the ice machine and breakfast sandwiches, etc.). Otherwise, the property seemed very clean. We appreciated the spaciousness of the room, the free wireless, the fridge and microwave, and the plentiful supply of plastic-wrapped cups. There were plenty of soft towels, lots of hot water, and we didn't hear much noise from other rooms. Overall, I'd rate this place as "OK". I hope the management reads this review, because they could easily make it a "Good" place without investing much money or effort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Foothills Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
West Salem, WI
Jul 6, 2011

nice hotel

We seen Mt Rushmore & wind cave and traveled around the national parks. The hotel was nice but the breakfast was simple.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Foothills Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
# 1 gramma
omaha, ne
Jun 17, 2011

can't be beat for the money

We took our granddaughter with us for a family affair and mini vacation. Clean rooms! reasonable price! nice outdoor heated pool! nice cleaning staff! nice man at desk during check in. not so pleasant lady at desk during check out. older hotel, but cleaner and nicer than any other family members stayed at! close to shopping and good food choices. need a car though. breakfast passable (cereal, muffins, juice, coffee,etc.) we were very pleased and will stay again! stayed 4 nights at very nice price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

pick up coupon book at the visitors center downtown. mega savings!

Review of Foothills Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jun 17, 2011

Convenient, Comfortable, Friendly

Nice room, friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Foothills Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Nebraska
Jun 13, 2011

"no frills but nice hotel"

no frills if you just need a place to crash. Nice hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Foothills Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
william
Not Provided
Jun 7, 2011

excellent.

excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Foothills Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
william
Not Provided
Jun 5, 2011

checked in early due to time change,

checked in early due to time change, given a suprior room very good service would stay here again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Foothills Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
black hills, south dakota
May 24, 2011

just what we were after

Clean, courteous staff, good location. Was a little worried when we booked, not sure if it would be OK. My 13 year old loved the breakfast, hubby thought they could have had fruit and yogurt. Our beds were clean and comfortable, and the windows actually open-nice. Heat lamps in the bathroom a nice touch. The pool didn't open till Memorial Day, but as it rained, didn't matter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Within a mile: Target, Dress Barn, Rushmore Mall, Walmart, lots of dining options very close by too.

Review of Foothills Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Washington State
May 3, 2011

Great Hotel with excellent staff, amenit

SUMMARY: Definitely good value for the money (caveat: I paid Off-Season-Rates) with comfortable rooms, many free amenities, and friendly helpful staff. (Problems: their deposit policy; some rooms lack some amenities, eg. frig, MicroW - see Details below)DETAILS:Rapid City has good access to Mt. Rushmore (ie. 4 presidential busts carved in granite), the Crazyhorse Monument (even larger than Mt. RM, but incomplete except for the face), and a half dozen other National Parks and N. Monuments, eg. Blackhills, Jewel Cave, Wind Cave, Badlands, etc.The Foothills Inn is not part of a chain or franchise (so much the better IMHO), but provides comfortable rooms with lots of amenities including outdoor pool, free high-speed internet, HBO, breakfast (the usual simple fare plus a sort of microwavable McMuffin-like entry). The rooms have excellent noise-sound-proofing, showers, firm single king or double queen beds, iron & ironing board, etc.In the off season (thru mid-May), the price is amazingly low for all this. [...] I paid only $26 + tax&fees or about $31/night total; quite a bargain.There is a 24-hour desk staffed by very helpful and courteous personnel both day and night.The only negatives: for some reason not all rooms have refrigerators and microwaves so be sure to check-first if you want these. Also, on my first stay they ended up putting three separate "holds" on my credit card and were very slow (2+ weeks; fault the Bookkeeperr) to release these. Since this cost me real money - I won't bother to explain this - on subsequent visits, I put down a $100 cash deposit (the alternative they offered) and I got that back in full on the morning I left, so I was satisfied.I would definitely "recommend this hotel to a friend".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Perkins next door (Perkins is normally associated with their 24/7 breakfast choices) was featuring an excellent (but I think temporary) fish based menu (4-6 different entries; I had the Talapia & asparagas-tips and an Almond-coated Sea Trout - both excellent.

Review of Foothills Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
blunt sd
Mar 4, 2011

great place to rest.

Great stay for the money. Convient location for a shopping weekend, dining close by. Will be staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top

Change search