$38 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 1, 2014 Check-out: Dec 4, 2014

Econo Lodge Rapid City

2 stars
625 E. Disk Dr., Rapid City, SD 57701
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
124 reviews
Fantastic Hotel

Great customer service! Very nice, clean and comfortable. See full review

  • Graphic Designer Girl
  • Jul 9, 2014
Very comfortable and convenient

I had a lovely stay, but I had reported that one of the comforters had a very noticeable stain and... See full review

  • lovelyfunjen
  • Sep 6, 2014
Easy access to Black Hills adventures -- and an on-site waterslide
Located off Interstate 90, Econo Lodge Rapid City is convenient to just about every major Black Hills attraction. Mount Rushmore National Memorial? Twenty minutes away. Rushmore Plaza Civic Center? Head south into town, about four miles. Accommodations cover the basics -- free local calls, cable television with HBO -- plus a few extras like free deluxe continental breakfast (think biscuits and gravy, cereal and muffins) and complimentary Wi-Fi in the lobby. All guests can access the indoor heated pool, with a separate hot tub and 180-foot waterslide.
Highlights
  • Minutes from Rushmore Mall and convenient to area attractions
  • Indoor heated pool, hot tub and waterslide
  • Free deluxe continental breakfast (biscuits and gravy, cereals, pastries)
Location
Econo Lodge Rapid City is conveniently located near the intersection of Interstates 90 and 190, about 13 miles from Rapid City Regional Airport. Rushmore Mall is a half mile away, and there are a number of restaurants close by, including Outback Steakhouse and Boston's Restaurant and Sports Bar (both adjacent to the hotel).
Rooms
The rooms at Econo Lodge Rapid City cover the basics (cable television, one king bed or two queens) and little more. If you want an amenities boost, consider booking a suite instead. The six family suites feature ample sleeping space and kitchenettes with microwaves and refrigerators. Two whirlpool suites are also available.
Features
Econo Lodge Rapid City has an indoor heated pool and hot tub, plus a 180-foot waterslide. The free continental breakfast treats guests to biscuits and gravy, bagels, muffins and more. Guests can access free Wi-Fi in the hotel lobby. There are coin-operated laundry facilities on the second floor and same-day dry-cleaning service is also available (fees apply).
Transportation
  • Rapid City Regional Airport (13 mi/20.9 km)
  • Free one-way transportation to the airport
Attractions
  • Rushmore Mall (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Journey Museum (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Rushmore Plaza Civic Center (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • Bear Country (5 mi/8 km)
  • Black Hills of South Dakota (5 mi/8 km)
  • Stage Barn Crystal Cave (10 mi/16.1 km)
  • Black Hills Petrified Forest (11 mi/17.7 km)
  • Mount Rushmore National Memorial (25 mi/40.2 km)
Business
  • Copy and fax services (fees apply, inquire at the front desk)
Policies and fees
  • Pets are welcome to stay for a small fee and are limited to two pets per room. Pet friendly rooms are limited.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Econo Lodge Rapid City also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Services
Guest laundromat
FAX
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Truck parking
Bus parking
Room
Television with cable
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
In room movies

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (124)

Ratings and reviews for Econo Lodge Rapid City

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
71 out of 124
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4
Value:
3.5

66% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Econo Lodge Rapid City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
cardley
Business
Gillette, WY
Aug 23, 2014

Poor water slide

This hotel's room was great, but the pool left more to be desired. The water slide looked very unsafe and was rickety as we went down. I wouldn't want my children to use it. The steps up to it are narrow and steep and not much head clearance for a tall guy. It was a small pool with the slide at one end. My little one didn't have much area to play due to the current from the slide. Will not stay here again for that reason unless I came without my family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Econo Lodge Rapid City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SweetTea42
Business
Wyoming
Jul 7, 2014

Not bad!

We just needed a hotel for one night! We were visiting Mount Rushmore and didn't want to drive back the same day. For the price, we were pleased!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Econo Lodge Rapid City

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Gymnastics Mom Texas Trav
Business
East Texas
Jun 20, 2014

Think twice before staying here

The best part of this stay is the pool with the slide. However, it is a small pool that was VERY crowded, which made it not very enjoyable. The stay started badly when trying to check in there was a long line. One person was working who appeared to be young and kind of inexperienced. This was terrible considering that most people had reservations and most everywhere were booked up. That is why we ended up here because of the difficulty of finding an available room. Once we made it past the check-in process, we ended up with a 2nd floor room. That wouldn't be that bad except that the elevator was out and traveling for 3 weeks with 6 people you can imagine how inconvenient it would be lugging all the stuff we were traveling with up 2 flights of stairs. 2 women (one grandma and mom) and 4 children from 3 - 13. The room was clean and the beds comfortable. The next morning was another let down. Breakfast ended at 9:30, but by 8:30 they were out of almost everything. The orange juice was watered down and nasty' they were out of bread, yogurt,,and most other stuff. The young girl didn't seem real experienced and when she put what she had, biscuits, they were cold. That was about the extent of it. Breakfast was very disappointing! Knowing they were full, they should have done better making sure they had enough food. I don't think I have ever left a bad review, but this was really deserving of the review I am leaving.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Econo Lodge Rapid City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CRobyn
Business
South Dakota
Feb 24, 2014

Overnight Stay

Stayed Overnight, Was Nice, Indoor Swimming Pool. Was Clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Econo Lodge Rapid City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mama Lesia
Business
Franklinton, LA
Jul 5, 2013

My Dream Vacation

Hotel has a great water slide. The children loved it. Our room was not cleaned after our first night stay. I had to request that the room be cleaned. But, the room was cleaned the next three nights. The breakfast was ok. I just wish they would have had some cream cheese. I would stay there again and bring some cream cheese with me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

There are several things for children to do near the hotel that are free admission. The Dinasaur Park and Story Land Island Park were two of the children's favorites. Both had great little gift shops and food reasonably prices. My husband and I really enjoyed the ice cream.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Econo Lodge Rapid City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bcdog
Business
NH
Jun 25, 2013

Great stop

Staff was friendly, pool with slide, perfect location, right off the highway. Rooms were very comfortable with pet friendly policy - very cool inside and outside doors on main floor, so pets can go in and out directly through the outside door (without having to pass through the halls).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Econo Lodge Rapid City

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JoJo46
Business
Arvada, Colorado
Jun 25, 2013

Need Guest Service Skills

When we arrived the man at the desk was helping someone else, fine, we waited for our turn. When he was done with that guest he NEVER acknowledged our presence and walked off into the back, came out and kept doing other things and answering phone when finally he acknowledged us standing there and said "Reservation?" So... we checked in. Then, my son wanted to go swimming but the pool looked very cloudy and he decided against it. When we were ready to check out the next morning, we decided to stop and get a bite at the continental breakfast area. A LOT of people in there so we waited our turn when a woman with an Econo Lodge nametag got in front of us and started feeding herself! She looked at me and said... were you in line? I said YES. She was rude and unprofessional. I felt that the employees should not be able to eat the same time as guests. They should have their own break area and wait until the hotel guests are gone. I will never stay there again. I sincerely think they need to give a class on guest service here. I also hope someone see's this who may let them know their shortfalls at least on this day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Econo Lodge Rapid City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SD Travelor
Business
IL
Jun 11, 2013

Place to Stay in Rapid City

Suprisingly nice rooms - seems to be newly remodeled. The room looks great but remodeling was poorly done. I had to call the front desk from my cell phone while in the lobby to check in - the staff was outside smoking (despite sign saying they were helping a guest). Nice breakfast and plenty of room in breakfast room. Pool had a nice slide. No resort fee!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Try Philly Ted's Cheesesteak a few blocks down the street. Great sandwhiches, awesome owner, and great prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Econo Lodge Rapid City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Super Mom ND
Business
Regent, ND
May 28, 2013

memorial getaway

It was great everyone was very accommodating and willing to please!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Econo Lodge Rapid City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kurlykris
Business
Minnesota
Oct 17, 2012

Kids loved it!

The pool was great, and it was very convenient to all the attractions. I didn't know what to expect for the price, but it was great! You might want to pack a life jacket if you have young swimmers, they will want to use the 3 story slide.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a Denny's right across the road, and tons of other options a 5 minute ride away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top