$119 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 16, 2015 Check-out: Aug 17, 2015

Econo Lodge Rapid City

2 stars
View map of 625 E. Disk Dr., Rapid City, SD 57701

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
117 reviews
Family Trip to Fun

The Hotel was great. The parking lot was small so if you have a big vehicle that would be... See full review

  • Amanda D.
  • Jun 30, 2015
Rapid CIty was OK

Staff was courteous and very helpful. Bathtub drain leaked water, but otherwise room was clean and... See full review

  • Paul B.
  • May 26, 2015
Located off Interstate 90, Econo Lodge Rapid City is convenient to just about every major Black Hills attraction. Mount Rushmore National Memorial? Twenty minutes away. Rushmore Plaza Civic Center? Head south into town, about four miles. Accommodations cover the basics -- free local calls, cable television with HBO -- plus a few extras like free deluxe continental breakfast (think biscuits and gravy, cereal and muffins) and complimentary Wi-Fi in the lobby. All guests can access the indoor heated pool, with a separate hot tub and 180-foot waterslide.
Location
Econo Lodge Rapid City is conveniently located near the intersection of Interstates 90 and 190, about 13 miles from Rapid City Regional Airport. Rushmore Mall is a half mile away, and there are a number of restaurants close by, including Outback Steakhouse and Boston's Restaurant and Sports Bar (both adjacent to the hotel).
Rooms
The rooms at Econo Lodge Rapid City cover the basics (cable television, one king bed or two queens) and little more. If you want an amenities boost, consider booking a suite instead. The six family suites feature ample sleeping space and kitchenettes with microwaves and refrigerators. Two whirlpool suites are also available.
Property features
Econo Lodge Rapid City has an indoor heated pool and hot tub, plus a 180-foot waterslide. The free continental breakfast treats guests to biscuits and gravy, bagels, muffins and more. Guests can access free Wi-Fi in the hotel lobby. There are coin-operated laundry facilities on the second floor and same-day dry-cleaning service is also available (fees apply).
Highlights
  • Minutes from Rushmore Mall and convenient to area attractions
  • Indoor heated pool, hot tub and waterslide
  • Free deluxe continental breakfast (biscuits and gravy, cereals, pastries)
Nearby attractions
  • Rushmore Mall (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Journey Museum (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Rushmore Plaza Civic Center (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • Bear Country (5 mi/8 km)
  • Black Hills of South Dakota (5 mi/8 km)
  • Stage Barn Crystal Cave (10 mi/16.1 km)
  • Black Hills Petrified Forest (11 mi/17.7 km)
  • Mount Rushmore National Memorial (25 mi/40.2 km)
Business
  • Copy and fax services (fees apply, inquire at the front desk)
Transportation
  • Rapid City Regional Airport (13 mi/20.9 km)
  • Free one-way transportation to the airport
Policies
  • Pets are welcome to stay for a small fee and are limited to two pets per room. Pet friendly rooms are limited.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Econo Lodge Rapid City also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Services
Guest laundromat
FAX
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Truck parking
Bus parking
Room
Television with cable
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
In room movies

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Econo Lodge Rapid City

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
117 out of 117
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.4

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Econo Lodge Rapid City

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mike jr
Business
Rapid City, SD, USA
Feb 21, 2012

The room was horible

There was blood on the comforter, and the toilet kept flushing every ten minutes. We were not impressed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Econo Lodge Rapid City

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
minneapolis
May 23, 2011

you get what you pay for

Shower was either scalding or freezing. Would have injured a child. Tub drain clogged. Room felt like you might catch something from it. Would not recomend even at that price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Econo Lodge Rapid City

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Jun 16, 2010

DEPLORABLE

This is, BY FAR, the worst hotel I have ever stayed at. And that includes the days of crashing anywhere in college. Don't let the updated exterior fool you, NOTHING is updated inside this hotel. It is run down and smelly. The beds were sagging in the middle, they refused to move us to a non-smoking room as we had requested because we had booked on [...]. The front desk actually gave us a bottle of Fabreze to deal with the smell in the room!!!!! The toilet was crooked, the bathroom was disgusting and there were cigarette burns in the 1970s drapes. Half of the lights in the bathroom and bedroom were burnt out. Because it was too late in the evening to switch hotels, we had to put up with it for one night. To add insult to injury, there was NO HOT WATER FOR A SHOWER IN THE MORNING. Unless you want to ruin your vacation, or unless you are paying $20 on a name-your-price website, DO NOT STAY HERE.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

DON'T STAY HERE

Review of Econo Lodge Rapid City

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
rushmore trip
Business
nj
May 27, 2010

dirty,no housekeeping services. we left

[...] There are tons of nicer hotels available if you travel off season. Hotel is dirty. We left.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Econo Lodge Rapid City

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
huffer
Business
tacoma wa
Aug 11, 2009

the sorry trip

reservations were made two months in advance with three requests, two connecting rooms, non smoking and a frigerator. On check in we were given smoking rooms, heavy oder, almost a wing apart and no frig.I tried to work with the on duty staff, and was basicly told to live with it as that was the best they could do. This is a good motel chain, but the local management leaves much to be desired.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

many good establishments with in a mile

Review of Econo Lodge Rapid City

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Iowa
Jun 27, 2010

EconoLodge

I would never stay at this hotel again. The bathroom door did not work, the air conditioner was falling off the wall and it was disgusting. I was very disappointed with the quality of this hotel and could not wait to check out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Econo Lodge Rapid City

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bestpoppi
Business
Bristow, VA
Jul 7, 2011

Really sad experience.

Staff at hotel were terrible, from most of those manning the front desk to ALL of the Housekeeping staff. Room not cleaned each day, bedding not changed, bathroom not cleaned well at all,had to go get towels on 3 different occasions. AC not working in Lobby, which was the only place to access "free Wi-Fi". Everything about this hotel left much to be desired. Not sure who manages this facility, but he/she is doing a lousy job, as this was my most dissatisfying experience in over 40 years of travel. I believe that because my stay was prepaid through [...]that I became a second class guest, and I was treated accordingly. Never again!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Econo Lodge Rapid City

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 3, 2007

yuck!

The Econo Lodge in Rapid City is the filthiest place I have ever stayed in. Our room was reasonably clean but every other place was ubelievable cluttered, littered, smugdged and all around disgusting. The breakfast area had overflowing trash, dirty pitchers with no lids, and dirty tables. I was afraid to eat there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Econo Lodge Rapid City

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Reno, NV
Aug 5, 2010

Filthy

1 bed slept in at least once pillows all appearedused 2nd bed had stains on cover and no top sheet and bottom sheet looked used lobby was dirty all lights,but one small one were burnt out in bathroom toilet had not been flushed since last use ugh Dirreaha on toilet I'm sure theres more butI had to control gagging Arrived at midnight didnot call desk cause I felt any other room there would present new problems to discover Ifit hadbeen earlier I would have demanded my money back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Econo Lodge Rapid City

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chadron, NE
Sep 5, 2009

No Wifi!?!? Worn out hotel, smelly room!

Overall, it wasn't the worst hotel I have stayed in. Nice pool, good breakfast No WIFI outside of the lobby! In 2009, a hotel of this type should have WIFI to every room, no exceptions! I travel for work sometimes, and expect that I can access the Internet in my room, instead of in a cramped lobby! The hotel is also worn out, needs some paint... Also, my bathroom wasn't cleaned very well. I would probably not stay here again unless it was the only reasonably priced option.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top