$38 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 1, 2014 Check-out: Dec 4, 2014

Econo Lodge Rapid City

2 stars
625 E. Disk Dr., Rapid City, SD 57701
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
124 reviews
Fantastic Hotel

Great customer service! Very nice, clean and comfortable. See full review

  • Graphic Designer Girl
  • Jul 9, 2014
Very comfortable and convenient

I had a lovely stay, but I had reported that one of the comforters had a very noticeable stain and... See full review

  • lovelyfunjen
  • Sep 6, 2014
Easy access to Black Hills adventures -- and an on-site waterslide
Located off Interstate 90, Econo Lodge Rapid City is convenient to just about every major Black Hills attraction. Mount Rushmore National Memorial? Twenty minutes away. Rushmore Plaza Civic Center? Head south into town, about four miles. Accommodations cover the basics -- free local calls, cable television with HBO -- plus a few extras like free deluxe continental breakfast (think biscuits and gravy, cereal and muffins) and complimentary Wi-Fi in the lobby. All guests can access the indoor heated pool, with a separate hot tub and 180-foot waterslide.
Highlights
  • Minutes from Rushmore Mall and convenient to area attractions
  • Indoor heated pool, hot tub and waterslide
  • Free deluxe continental breakfast (biscuits and gravy, cereals, pastries)
Location
Econo Lodge Rapid City is conveniently located near the intersection of Interstates 90 and 190, about 13 miles from Rapid City Regional Airport. Rushmore Mall is a half mile away, and there are a number of restaurants close by, including Outback Steakhouse and Boston's Restaurant and Sports Bar (both adjacent to the hotel).
Rooms
The rooms at Econo Lodge Rapid City cover the basics (cable television, one king bed or two queens) and little more. If you want an amenities boost, consider booking a suite instead. The six family suites feature ample sleeping space and kitchenettes with microwaves and refrigerators. Two whirlpool suites are also available.
Features
Econo Lodge Rapid City has an indoor heated pool and hot tub, plus a 180-foot waterslide. The free continental breakfast treats guests to biscuits and gravy, bagels, muffins and more. Guests can access free Wi-Fi in the hotel lobby. There are coin-operated laundry facilities on the second floor and same-day dry-cleaning service is also available (fees apply).
Transportation
  • Rapid City Regional Airport (13 mi/20.9 km)
  • Free one-way transportation to the airport
Attractions
  • Rushmore Mall (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Journey Museum (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Rushmore Plaza Civic Center (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • Bear Country (5 mi/8 km)
  • Black Hills of South Dakota (5 mi/8 km)
  • Stage Barn Crystal Cave (10 mi/16.1 km)
  • Black Hills Petrified Forest (11 mi/17.7 km)
  • Mount Rushmore National Memorial (25 mi/40.2 km)
Business
  • Copy and fax services (fees apply, inquire at the front desk)
Policies and fees
  • Pets are welcome to stay for a small fee and are limited to two pets per room. Pet friendly rooms are limited.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Econo Lodge Rapid City also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Services
Guest laundromat
FAX
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Truck parking
Bus parking
Room
Television with cable
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
In room movies

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (124)

Ratings and reviews for Econo Lodge Rapid City

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
124 out of 124
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.4

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Econo Lodge Rapid City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Angelo TX
Aug 10, 2009

Decent Stay

This hotel is a very standard one. The rate was good, but this hotel didnt really have anything that made it stand out...other than the crazy slide at the pool. Nice Stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Econo Lodge Rapid City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Harley siteseer
Business
Oklahoma
Aug 8, 2009

Sturgis stay

Staff very helpful. Electronic door lock wasn't working and they were very prompt in getting it fixed. Also friends room air conditioner wasn't working and they put in another immediately. Breakfast could be improved but ok.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Econo Lodge Rapid City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Springfield, MO
Aug 2, 2009

Econo Lodge Rapid City

Not much lodging available in the area with the Sturgis rally starting. Not a huge fan of Econolodge, but this one isn't too bad. Beds were not very comfortable, but it was clean. Free breakfast wasn't too great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Dennys for breakfast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Econo Lodge Rapid City

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Weary Rushmore Travelers
Business
Iowa
Aug 1, 2009

Not impressed

We were in town on vacation to see Mt. Rushmore and the likes. The location is good. Lots of stuff (shopping,dining) within a short drive. We did not receive any housekeeping services while we stayed, for unknown reasons. Also, the hotel did have an odor to it. The pool is useless, as it is too small, and the hot tub rules are not enforced, as there were children jumping into it and splashing around in it the majority of the time, so relaxation is impossible. We did have some beetles in our room, as well. The breakfast is OK, but the dining area is small and not kept very clean. We were not too impressed with the accommodations at this hotel, unfortunately.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

It's not as close to Rushmore and the like as you would think...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Econo Lodge Rapid City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Allard97
Business
Alliance, NE
Jul 28, 2009

great price, great location, great stay!

We stayed for one night after attending a Taylor Swift concert. We really enjoyed the free continental breakfast. The pool and water slide were a hit! The cleanliness of the rooms was greatly appreciated as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Very close to the mall and all kinds of restaurants. Easy access to the interstate as well.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Econo Lodge Rapid City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Teacher Liz
Business
Minneapolis
Jul 24, 2009

Nice Staff!

For a cheap hotel (5 of us for under $80 a night) it worked. The highlight was the friendly, helpful staff. The pool isn't huge, but my 6 and 14 year olds had a ton of fun. We were tourists, so we weren't there to spend much time in the hotel. The "lowlight" was the breakfast- stale cheap donuts, broken juice machine, and a crabby person running it (the only person I met who wasn't smiling and helpful). For the price, I would stay there again. It was easy to get to and easy to get around from.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

If you have kids in the 6-16 range, check out the Cosmos Mystery center. It was a blast!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Econo Lodge Rapid City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lincoln NE
Jul 19, 2009

Tidy and comfortable

The room was adequate and the best price in the area. Continental breakfast better than I expected, the kids were hoping for a waffle maker though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Econo Lodge Rapid City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Asheville, NC
Jul 14, 2009

Better than the Super 8

We were originally booked to stay at the Super 8 on Rushmore Rd., but after seeing how dirty and smelly most of that hotel was, we switched to the Econolodge. What an improvement! While the Econolodge is nothing fancy, it was clean and had a pleasant smell. The room included all that we needed and was worth the price. I did notice that the hallways were noisy, mostly due to this being an economical choice for families with children. I also never ventured into the indoor pool/waterslide because it's small size resulted in it being packed whenever I peeked in. Overall, I would suggest this hotel to those of you who will be spending most of your time venturing out in the area and not for those of you who want to feel pampered by your accomodations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Next to the hotel is Boston's, a pizza/pasta resturant/sport's bar. The pepperoni pizza is okay, but the chicken caesar salad pizza is much tastier!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Econo Lodge Rapid City

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
workerholic
Business
Ft collins, CO
Jul 4, 2009

Not Bad

The location of this lodge is very good for tour of Mount rushmore, Crazy Horse, and wind crave national park. Room is clean and friendly staff are all good. but internet is working only at the front. It is good if you will go to this lodge only for tour but if you should work in your room with tour then you must find any other hotel please.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Econo Lodge Rapid City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
MN
Jun 30, 2009

Good value.

The hotel was clean and staff friendly. There was only one working ice machine for the entire hotel which was inadequate. We were a bit disappointed by the hot breakfast which was really just buscuits and gravy, two choices of cereal, little pastries and apples. Overall though we were happy with the choice as it was a good value and served our needs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

President statues downtown were fantastic.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top