$53 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 11, 2015 Check-out: May 13, 2015

Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rapid City, SD

3 stars
View map of 2321 North Lacrosse Street, Rapid City, SD 57702

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
45 reviews
Night getaway

We loved the hotel and our room. Staff was nice when we checked in and out. The location is even... See full review

  • BSwenson
  • Jan 19, 2015
wonderful stop over

We were traveling after work and knew we would not make our destination so reserved a room. It was... See full review

  • relaxed travel
  • Oct 19, 2014
A warm welcome (and swimming pool) just off the interstate
Located just off of Interstate 90, Country Inn and Suites By Carlson Rapid City makes a convenient stopover for Black Hills explorers. Both Mount Rushmore and Crazy Horse Memorial lie within a one-hour drive, and Rushmore Mall is less than a mile away. Guests cannot help but notice the quality service here: Guest rooms are clean and well-appointed (all come with microwaves and refrigerators, for example), the staff is friendly and resourceful, and the free breakfast buffet includes warm dishes like homemade Belgian waffles and biscuits and gravy.
Highlights
  • Indoor heated pool with two whirlpools and a 100-foot waterslide
  • Free breakfast buffet includes hot items like Belgian waffles and biscuits and gravy
  • Conveniently located just off Interstate 90 and minutes from Rushmore Mall
Location
Country Inn and Suites By Carlson Rapid City sits about three miles north of downtown, near Rushmore Mall and Interstate 90. Mount Rushmore and other major Black Hills attractions are within an easy drive of here.
Rooms
Warm colors and a cozy, country-style decor evoke a home-away-from-home feel in each of the 103 rooms at Country Inn and Suites By Carlson Rapid City. Guests choose from three main types of accommodations: standard room, standard suite or whirlpool suite. All come with a microwave, refrigerator and high-speed Internet (wired or wireless).
Features
Country Inn and Suites by Carlson Rapid City has an indoor heated pool with a 100-foot waterslide and two whirlpools.
Dining
Every morning Country Inn and Suites By Carlson Rapid Cityguests enjoy a complimentary breakfast buffet. A typical spread might include English muffins, bagels, cinnamon rolls, fresh fruit, fresh Belgian waffles and biscuits and gravy. For lunch and dinner, guests can visit one of the many nearby restaurants. Options range from T.G.I. Fridays to the Corn Exchange, known for its emphasis on fresh ingredients and French-style cuisine.
Transportation
  • Rapid City Regional Airport (8 mi/12.9 km)
Attractions
  • Rushmore Mall (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • The Journey Museum (2.4 mi/3.9 km)
  • Storybook Island (5.7 mi/9.2 km)
  • Bear Country U.S.A. (13.6 mi/21.9)
  • Reptile Gardens (18.8 mi/30.3 km)
  • Mount Rushmore National Memorial (35 mi/56.3 km)
  • Custer State Park (36.7 mi/59.1 km)
  • Crazy Horse Mountain Memorial (40.5 mi/65.2 km)
  • Deadwood (41.8 mi/67.3 km)
  • Jewel Cave National Monument (54 mi/86.9 km)
Business
  • Fax and copy services as well as an on-site business center

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rapid City, SD also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
FEMA approved
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Golf
Dining
Free breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Shops/Commercial services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Brailled elevators
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Kitchen
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Fire alarm with light
In room movies
Sofa bed
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms

Dining

Breakfast Room
Located in hotel lobby
Dennys
1 block
Millstone
5 Blocks
Minervas
2 blocks
Perkins
5 blocks
Red Lobster
2 blocks
TGI Friday's
Adjacent to the Country Inn & Suites on LaCross Street- 1 block north of I-90 off of exit 59.
Boston's Restaurant & Sports Bar
Boston's offers the best pizza in town and a fun Rapid City sports bar atmosphere that serves uniquely seasoned pizzas.
Botticelli Ristorante Italiano
Serving up authentic Northern Italian fair, this restaurant is known by the locals for its flavorful pasta
Outback Steakhouse
This Australian-inspired restaurant's menu features excellent steaks, seafood and great appetizers.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rapid City, SD

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
4 out of 45
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
3.5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.5
Sort by:
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rapid City, SD

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Christal98
Business
Greenwood, Indiana
Jan 26, 2014

Comfortable Stay

I arrived in Rapid City on an early flight; the staff was friendly and accommodating, allowing me to check in early. My room was very clean and quiet (even though I was right next to the elevator). Although I didn't utilize them, the pool, hot tub, fitness center was in working order and clean. I will definitely be staying here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rapid City, SD

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JBMT
Business
Bozeman, MT
Aug 21, 2013

Semi disappointed

I chose this hotel because it said pet friendly. Although they allowed pets, there really was no place to take my large dog out to do her business, except the weeds along the road. Breakfast was also chaotic - too many people and no place to sit. The servers were too busy to be helpful. The TGI Fridays next door was convenient, but I wasn't impressed with my room. It was adequate but older.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Right next door to TGI Fridays

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rapid City, SD

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonamouse
Business
Casper, WY, USA
Apr 23, 2012

Amazing beds!

The beds were super comfortable and they did a lot of really nice things to make this a wonderful place to stay. They gave Pantene shampoo AND conditioner which I appreciated. I really liked having a fridge and a microwave in my room and the coffee they served tasted great! This is a really nice hotel and for once, it was an affordable rate for me to stay there. The only thing that was not top notch was that the fan in the bathroom wasn't working. Otherwise, I would have rated this room as perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rapid City, SD

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Gillette, WY
Jan 18, 2010

Super noisy!!

This hotel is nice, clean & in a great location BUT it was the loudest hotel I have ever stayed in! I got NO sleep & was wide awake @ 6am due to the noise. We could hear the elevator all night long, we could hear people talking in the hall & in the next room, also we could hear the people above us showering & talking. I guess nothing is insulated. Don't stay here if you want to sleep. $45.00 plus tax was too much!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top