$38 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 17, 2015 Check-out: Mar 19, 2015

Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rapid City, SD

3 stars
View map of 2321 North Lacrosse Street, Rapid City, SD 57702

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
43 reviews
Night getaway

We loved the hotel and our room. Staff was nice when we checked in and out. The location is even... See full review

  • BSwenson
  • Jan 19, 2015
wonderful stop over

We were traveling after work and knew we would not make our destination so reserved a room. It was... See full review

  • relaxed travel
  • Oct 19, 2014
A warm welcome (and swimming pool) just off the interstate
Located just off of Interstate 90, Country Inn and Suites By Carlson Rapid City makes a convenient stopover for Black Hills explorers. Both Mount Rushmore and Crazy Horse Memorial lie within a one-hour drive, and Rushmore Mall is less than a mile away. Guests cannot help but notice the quality service here: Guest rooms are clean and well-appointed (all come with microwaves and refrigerators, for example), the staff is friendly and resourceful, and the free breakfast buffet includes warm dishes like homemade Belgian waffles and biscuits and gravy.
Highlights
  • Indoor heated pool with two whirlpools and a 100-foot waterslide
  • Free breakfast buffet includes hot items like Belgian waffles and biscuits and gravy
  • Conveniently located just off Interstate 90 and minutes from Rushmore Mall
Location
Country Inn and Suites By Carlson Rapid City sits about three miles north of downtown, near Rushmore Mall and Interstate 90. Mount Rushmore and other major Black Hills attractions are within an easy drive of here.
Rooms
Warm colors and a cozy, country-style decor evoke a home-away-from-home feel in each of the 103 rooms at Country Inn and Suites By Carlson Rapid City. Guests choose from three main types of accommodations: standard room, standard suite or whirlpool suite. All come with a microwave, refrigerator and high-speed Internet (wired or wireless).
Features
Country Inn and Suites by Carlson Rapid City has an indoor heated pool with a 100-foot waterslide and two whirlpools.
Dining
Every morning Country Inn and Suites By Carlson Rapid Cityguests enjoy a complimentary breakfast buffet. A typical spread might include English muffins, bagels, cinnamon rolls, fresh fruit, fresh Belgian waffles and biscuits and gravy. For lunch and dinner, guests can visit one of the many nearby restaurants. Options range from T.G.I. Fridays to the Corn Exchange, known for its emphasis on fresh ingredients and French-style cuisine.
Transportation
  • Rapid City Regional Airport (8 mi/12.9 km)
Attractions
  • Rushmore Mall (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • The Journey Museum (2.4 mi/3.9 km)
  • Storybook Island (5.7 mi/9.2 km)
  • Bear Country U.S.A. (13.6 mi/21.9)
  • Reptile Gardens (18.8 mi/30.3 km)
  • Mount Rushmore National Memorial (35 mi/56.3 km)
  • Custer State Park (36.7 mi/59.1 km)
  • Crazy Horse Mountain Memorial (40.5 mi/65.2 km)
  • Deadwood (41.8 mi/67.3 km)
  • Jewel Cave National Monument (54 mi/86.9 km)
Business
  • Fax and copy services as well as an on-site business center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rapid City, SD also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
FEMA approved
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Golf
Dining
Free breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Shops/Commercial services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Brailled elevators
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Kitchen
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Fire alarm with light
In room movies
Sofa bed
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms

Dining

Breakfast Room
Located in hotel lobby
Dennys
1 block
Millstone
5 Blocks
Minervas
2 blocks
Perkins
5 blocks
Red Lobster
2 blocks
TGI Friday's
Adjacent to the Country Inn & Suites on LaCross Street- 1 block north of I-90 off of exit 59.
Boston's Restaurant & Sports Bar
Boston's offers the best pizza in town and a fun Rapid City sports bar atmosphere that serves uniquely seasoned pizzas.
Botticelli Ristorante Italiano
Serving up authentic Northern Italian fair, this restaurant is known by the locals for its flavorful pasta
Outback Steakhouse
This Australian-inspired restaurant's menu features excellent steaks, seafood and great appetizers.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (43)

Ratings and reviews for Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rapid City, SD

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
43 out of 43
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.2

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rapid City, SD

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Buddy number 2
Wyoming, USA
Dec 21, 2011

Excellent holiday stop.

You can't beat the price for this place, be it service , comfort, location, etc. Warm beverage and cookies before bed. Very nice breakfast options in the morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Handy shopping and multiple dining choices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rapid City, SD

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BSwenson
Business
Rozet
Jan 19, 2015

Night getaway

We loved the hotel and our room. Staff was nice when we checked in and out. The location is even better! Love how they gave us a card with discounts for various resturants and bars. Would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rapid City, SD

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
relaxed travel
Business
Madison
Oct 19, 2014

wonderful stop over

We were traveling after work and knew we would not make our destination so reserved a room. It was great. Room was wonderful , front desk people very friendly and helpful. Good breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rapid City, SD

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Steve man wih a plan
Business
South Dakota
Apr 29, 2014

Great date night escape

It was wonderful to walk into a nice clean hotel. It is really close a great place to eat. Great location not far from anything that you want to go to. Just an all-around nice clean hotel to stay at.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

You can't use the hotel discount at TGIFridays with their 2 for 10 deal.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rapid City, SD

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Artio.sd
Business
Kimball South Dakota
Apr 10, 2014

Wonderful time away

I and my fiancé needed some time to reconnect and this hotel provided a wonderful location to do so. The staff was freindly and thoughtful. Breakfast was just awesome. If we can we will be staying again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rapid City, SD

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Iron Warrior
Business
Belle Fourche, SD
Mar 17, 2014

Very comfortable weekend getaway

Great night sleep, nice hot shower, tasty muffin breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rapid City, SD

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Big Clan
Business
Alliance Nebraska
Mar 6, 2014

Good Value and Location

The Hotel is in a really good location because it is close to the interstate and anything you might want to do IN Rapid City. We have a large family (with four kids) and the room was plenty big. There was some painting and other maintainence things going on during our stay, which to me is a good thing because I don't like when hotels become run down. It was clean and the staff was friendly. The continental breakfast was better than your average as well. I would recommend this hotel if anyone asked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The mall and all of the big chain type stores are very close and easy to get to from there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rapid City, SD

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Christal98
Business
Greenwood, Indiana
Jan 26, 2014

Comfortable Stay

I arrived in Rapid City on an early flight; the staff was friendly and accommodating, allowing me to check in early. My room was very clean and quiet (even though I was right next to the elevator). Although I didn't utilize them, the pool, hot tub, fitness center was in working order and clean. I will definitely be staying here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rapid City, SD

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kc27
Business
Dayton, Ohio
Sep 30, 2013

Convenient place to stay.

The hotel is very close to many places to eat. It is also close to a shopping mall plus places like WalMart and Target , just in case you forget something essential. It is about 10 miles from the airport. It is a nice, scenic drive to Mt. Rushmore, Crazy Horse, Deadwood, Custer State Park and the Badlands. Ellsworth AFB is just down the road. The hotel itself is quiet and has a nice hot breakfast available. The staff is friendly and very helpful. No complaints!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rapid City, SD

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Reader
Business
Johnson City, TN
Sep 29, 2013

Two for one

We were spending two nights on our own before joining a group tour. We found the staff friendly and helpful, the location perfect for walking to meals and access to the interstate, and the price excellent. We would have spent twice as much if we had stayed at the hotel where our group later met.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rapid City, SD

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
magnificent
Business
florida
Sep 10, 2013

really great

extremely comfortable and accomodating. breakfast was wonderful. great exercise room and pool

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top