$41 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 25, 2014 Check-out: Dec 27, 2014

BEST WESTERN Town 'N Country

3 stars
2505 Mount Rushmore Road S Highway 16, Rapid City, SD 57701-5340
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
71 reviews
Great hotel.

Good location. Restaurant next to it is great too. See full review

  • Valski
  • Feb 16, 2014
Nice Place!

Gets the job done. Nice staff! It was next to a road, so not an ideal location, but the restaurant... See full review

  • Kgish0008
  • Dec 6, 2014
Fresh digs and hot soup in the lobby. How is that for a warm welcome?
About three blocks from Rapid City Regional Hospital and 20 minutes from Mount Rushmore, Best Western Town 'N Country caters to hospital visitors and sightseers alike. Guests can help themselves to fresh soup and cookies in the lobby every afternoon, and a number of restaurants lie within walking distance. All of the rooms underwent renovations and about half of them have outdoor balconies. Bonus: During warmer months, guests can use the outdoor pool and hot tub.
Highlights
  • Conveniently located, close to Rapid City Regional Hospital and 20 minutes from Mount Rushmore National Memorial
  • Free continental breakfast includes Belgian waffles and biscuits and gravy
  • Outdoor pool and hot tub (seasonal)
Location
Best Western Town 'N Country sits on the south side of Rapid City, about a mile from downtown and less than three blocks from Rapid City Regional Hospital. Black Hills National Forest is about six miles away.
Rooms
All rooms have been renovated and feature complimentary Wi-Fi and cable satellite television with free HBO. Some come with microwaves and refrigerators, and about half have outdoor balconies. Best Western Town 'N Country also has three suites: one with a Jacuzzi and the others with two bedrooms each.
Features
The Best Western Town 'N Country puts out a free continental breakfast spread with hot perks like Belgian waffles and biscuits and gravy. Guests can also dine next door at Colonial House Restaurant and Bar, which serves American-style fare for breakfast, lunch and dinner.  Every afternoon the hotel treats guests to fresh soup in the lobby -- chicken enchilada, say, or vegetable beef -- along with just-baked cookies. The Best Western Town 'N Country courtyard has an outdoor pool and hot tub (seasonal).
Transportation
  • Greyhound Bus Terminal (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Rapid City Regional Airport (10 mi/16.1 km)
  • Free one-way shuttle service from the airport to the hotel
  • Free shuttle to Rapid City Regional Hospital and other nearby medical facilities
Attractions
  • Reptile Gardens (5 mi/8 km)
  • Story Book Island (5 mi/8 km)
  • Black Hills National Forest (5 mi/8 km)
  • Ellsworth Air Force Base (7 mi/11.3 km)
  • Sitting Bull Crystal Cave (9 mi/14.5 km)
  • Pactola Lake (20 mi/32.2 km)
  • Mount Rushmore (22 mi/35.4 km)
  • Black Hills Central Railroad (22 mi/35.4 km)
  • Parade of Presidents Wax Museum (22 mi/35.4 km)
  • Rushmore Cave (24 mi/38.6 km)
Business
  • A 24-hour business center in the lobby with a computer and printer
  • Complimentary fax and copy services available (inquire at the front desk)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN Town 'N Country also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

BEST WESTERN Town 'N Country Rooms

2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,NSMK,COFFEE MKR,HAIR,IRON & BRD,TV27IN,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSM,WHIRLPL,UPSTRS,CITY VW,BALCNY,MICRFG,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,NSMK,CITY VIEW,BALCONY,UPSTAIRS,HI SPEED,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,SMOK,HAIRDRYER,COFMKR,IRON,PET FRIENDLY,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,SMOK,HAIRDRYER,COFMKR,IRON,PET FRIENDLY,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,NSM,HISPD NT,MICRFG,1ST FLR,PARKING SIDE
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,NSM,HISPD NT,MICRFG,1ST FLR,PARKING SIDE
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSM,HISPD NT,MICRFG,1ST FLR,PARKING SIDE
SUITE-2 QUEEN BEDS
SUITE-2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,FAMILY SUITE,2 BEDRM,HI SPEED NET
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,PRIVATE BALCONY,REFRIG,HI SPEED NET
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,NSMK,PRIVATE BALCONY,REFRIG,HI SPEED NET
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,NSMK,COFFEE MKR,HAIR,IRON & BRD,TV27IN,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
SUITE-2 QUEEN BEDS
SUITE-2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,2 BEDRM SUITE,HISPD,MICROWV,REFRIG
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,HI SPEED NET,TV 27 IN,MICRWV,REFRIG,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
SUITE-2 QUEEN BEDS
SUITE-2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,HI SPEED NET,3BEDS,MIC RFG,PRIV BAL,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,HI SPEEDNET,MICRFG,TV27IN, PRIV BAL,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,NSMK,COFMKR,HAIRDRYER,IRON,PET FRIENDLY,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,POOL VIEW,BALCONY,MICRWV,FRIG,HISPD,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,NSMK,CITY VW,BALCNY,MICRWV,FRIG,HI SPEED,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,CITY VW,BALCNY,MICRWV,FRIG,HI SPEED,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Dining
Free breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Express check in
Express checkout
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Phone with speaker
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Turndown service
Electronic door locks
Ironing board

Dining

The Pub
The Pub, on premises, Bar/Lounge
Colonial House Restaurant
Colonial House Restaurant, on premises, Full Service, American, open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner, 7:00 a.m. to 9:00 p.m.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (71)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN Town 'N Country

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
71 out of 71
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.4

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN Town 'N Country

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
me and my wife
Business
Mpls, mn
Aug 27, 2012

Not a three star hotel

They stay was ok, the rooms were very small and there was hair on the towels. The bed were uncomfortable and hard.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Town 'N Country

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Thunder Bay Ontario
Aug 22, 2010

Not impressed

When we checked into the hotel we were told by the counter staff that the room that we booked was not available and lucky that we still have a room with 2 double beds. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Town 'N Country

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Gillette, wyoming
Dec 24, 2010

best western town n country

did not sleep that night at all, had noise coming from the water pipes in the wall. hotel did know about it when I told them about it in the morning. did not offer to correct the problem. will not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Town 'N Country

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
cricket0759
Business
Gilbert, AZ
Jul 8, 2010

"Bates Hotel?"

Hotel was conveniently located near business for me, but it is VERY outdated and all room doors were outside facing, which does not appeal to a single woman travelling alone. The hotel had 1 public computer for use, and it was broken so I could not conduct any business e-mails or print out my boarding pass for my flight. I would not choose to stay at this hotel again because of it's great location, I would chose a newer, more business friendly hotel for my next trip to Rapid City, SD.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

There are many nice, newer hotels located near the shopping mall and Target Center.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Town 'N Country

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Redfield, SD
Jul 9, 2010

Best Western Town and Country

Booked 2 rooms through [...], requesting the extra charge for my dog as we were bringing her with us. Booking site said pets ok. Upon arriving, I find that that is not true. They said if they had a pet friendly room she could be in the room but they were out of pet friendly rooms. I wonder how a person would know if the room they reserved were pet friendly or not when booking through an agency such as [...]. Quality of motel is below average due to the age of the building and way over priced for that reason. Showers leaked and humidity was terrible due to no exhaust fans in rooms and AC was average and placed behind the dresser so we didn't get much good from it. Neither of the rooms that I booked had the appearence of quality that would be hurt by a pet being there. Continental breakfast was good but late being set up on the morning of our departure. Only one staff working at the time and they were busy with phone etc. Since my dog had to sleep in the car and I had to find a place for her to stay while we went on our tours. I don't ever plan to stay at this motel again nor will I recommend it to anyone else looking for a place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Town 'N Country

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
yamahavmax
Business
Preston, Idaho
Jul 5, 2010

Not Good

Booked a Non-Smoking, They put us in a "Smoking". No internet...Signal did not "Reach" our room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Town 'N Country

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
wyo.
Oct 10, 2010

Trip to Rapid City, SD

WHen we checked in the room was not the same as our reservation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Town 'N Country

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St Joseph MO
Apr 18, 2010

Just plain ugly

I travel a lot and frequently stay at Best Westerns. This hotel was very old, room was small, and the bed and pillows were VERY uncomfortable. The internet didn't work and the TV didn't get very many channels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Town 'N Country

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Rarely on Vacation
Business
Sioux Falls, SD
Sep 1, 2014

Actually a MOTEL

Very disappointing to arrive and find that the Best Western wasn't much better than the motels we passed over. The rooms were small, noisy, uncomfortable and dated; the pillows were even the size of throw pillows! And don't get your hopes up for breakfast...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Everyone will recommend Colonial House for breakfast, but drive to town for Tally's. The food is way better!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Town 'N Country

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
G718
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Jun 24, 2012

Tight Quarters

Room was neat, but very small. Probably okay for one person, but not for two. The bathroom was ridiculously tiny.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

A drive through Custer park is well worth the trip with many nice areas to picnic while listening to the wind rustle through the pines.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top