$84 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 8, 2015 Check-out: Feb 9, 2015

BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel

3 stars
2111 N LaCrosse Street, Rapid City, SD 57701-7858
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
29 reviews
Vacation

Great location for visiting a lot of the great sites in the area. Great restaurant and there are... See full review

  • New adventurers.
  • Jul 3, 2014
Very Comfortable Rooms

This hotel was very nice. Rooms were spotless and guest ready. Had a great stay and will stay again. See full review

  • oopp
  • Jun 22, 2014
Family-friendly, business-savvy, and utterly convenient (just off I-90)
An award-winning restaurant, 15 meeting rooms, one of the largest indoor water parks around -- if you can name it, the Best Western Ramkota Rapid City Hotel and Conference Center has it. The hotel also scores high points for its convenient location: Just off Interstate 90 and minutes from shops, restaurants and a movie theater. Sightseers use the hotel as home base between day trips to Mount Rushmore, say, or Crazy Horse Memorial. Business travelers take advantage of its generous event space and proximity to local companies.
Highlights
  • New indoor water park is one of the largest in the region
  • Indoor heated lap pool and hot tub
  • Award-winning restaurant located on-site
  • Home to the largest hotel convention center in the upper Midwest
Location
Best Western Ramkota Rapid City Hotel and Conference Center sits right off Interstate 90, about three miles north of downtown. The Rushmore Mall lies about a quarter of a mile to the west, and restaurants, shops and a movie theater are minutes away.
Rooms
Best Western Ramkota Rapid City Hotel and Conference Center guest rooms deliver basic amenities (high-speed Internet, cable satellite television) and emanate a Western vibe. The hotel also has 33 suites -- three of which have Jacuzzis -- as well as business-class rooms with two phone lines.
Dining
Located on-site, the award-winning Minervas Restaurant serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. Its menu covers everything from cherry apple chicken salad to nine-layer meat lasagna, but steaks are its selling point.
Recreation
You cannot visit Best Western Ramkota Rapid City Hotel and Conference Center without paying its new indoor water park a visit. The hotel also has an indoor heated lap pool, hot tub and fitness center.
Transportation
  • Rapid City Regional Airport (8.4 mi/13.6 km)
  • Free shuttle service to the airport and points around town
Attractions
  • Rushmore Mall (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • The Museum of Geology (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • The Journey Museum (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • The Reptile Gardens Zoo (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • Storybook Island Amusement Park (5 mi/8 km)
  • South Dakota Air and Space Museum (10 mi/16.1 km)
  • Bear Country U.S.A. Park (11 mi/17.7 km)
  • Mount Rushmore National Memorial (25 mi/40.2 km)
  • Crazy Horse Memorial (42 mi/67.6 km)
Business
  • Computer and printer available for guest use in the lobby
  • Offers 36,000 square feet of meeting and event space
  • A number of local businesses lie within five minutes of the hotel

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel also booked these hotels.

BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel Rooms

2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NOSMOKE,HI SPEED NET,COFFEMAKR,HAIR,IRON
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,NSMK,OVRSZD,SOFBD,MICRWV,REFRIG,HARDWIRE
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,BUSINESS,HARDWIRE NET,COFMKR,HAIR
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,BUSINESS,HARDWIRE NET,COFMKR,HAIR
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NOSMOKE,HI SPEED NET,COFFEMAKR,HAIR,IRON
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,NSMK,HI SPD NET,WHIRLPOOL,SOFABED,MICRFG
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,NSMK,HISPD,SOFABD,WHIRLPL,FIREPL,MICRFG
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,ROLL IN SHOWER,NSMK
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,BATHTUB,NSMK
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,MOBACC,COMAST,ROLLSH,SOFBD,JETTB,NSMK

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Exercise gym
Boating
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
FAX
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Over sized rooms
Cribs available
Fire place
Sofa bed
Electronic door locks
Ironing board

Dining

Applebees
0.80 mile(s) from Applebees, full service, American, open for: lunch, dinner, Full service bar.
Longhorn Steakhouse
3.00 mile(s) from Longhorn Steakhouse, full service, Steak House, open for: lunch, dinner
Perkin's
Across the street from Perkin's, full service, American, open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner, open 24-hours. On site bakery.
Red Lobster
0.50 mile(s) from Red Lobster, full service, Seafood, open for: lunch, dinner
Minervas
Minervas, on premises, full service, American, open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner
Millstone
0.40 mile(s) from Millstone, full service, American, open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner, great home style cooking.
Texas Roadhouse
Across the street from Texas Roadhouse, full service, American, open for: dinner
Golden Corral
0.70 mile(s) from Golden Corral, buffet, American, open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner, Huge buffets - fresh food served throughout the day.
Olive Garden
0.60 mile(s) from Olive Garden, full service, Italian, open for: lunch, dinner, Wine and beer available.
TGIF
Across the street from TGIF, full service, American, open for: lunch, dinner

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (29)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
29 out of 29
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.6

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Becker mom
Business
Alexandria, Va
Oct 24, 2012

good but not great

The waterpark would have been awesome...but half the slides were not operating. Most of the hotel staff were friendly...except at the front desk. They made me feel like I was wasting their time. Then there is the issue of charging us twice for the room!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portland, OR
Apr 25, 2013

Tattooers carve through snow to get to SD

The hotel staff were extremely pleasant after our flight was delayed 7 hours. We arrived at Midnight in snowy conditions to a front desk clerk who seemed happy to see us. The hotel had a few room issues. Snow caused the ceiling to leak in our first room but we were moved immediately to another room that was clean and well suited to us. And this all occurred before we unpacked and only caused a ten-minute delay. We were put on the 2nd floor (top floor). There is no elevator to this floor so we had to carry our own luggage up a flight of stairs which was not a big deal, but if you're unable to do this, then ask for a room on the 1st floor. As I understand it, all people needing disabled rooms are put on the 1st floor. The convention room was a long ways from the rooms, so those that don't like walking, this is something to consider. Personally, I didn't mind the 1/4 mile-like walk because it provided some much needed exercise after sitting so long with flight cancelations, etc... Best Western is not the usual hotel I stay in. Usually I stay at Hiltons, boutique-style hotels, or 5-star hotels in remote locations. Yet, there is a charm to this hotel. It's like stepping back in time to a 80's disco without the staff in bell-bottoms or slicked back hair. The food was better than average and the staff was 5-star in friendliness. We had room service every day, the menu was limited but adequate, and the food was served on time, the staff pleasant. (I do recommend asking them to heat up the plates because this seemed to improve the warmth of the meals once we requested this.) It was a comfortable experience, memorable in many ways. Hope this is helpful to future travelers...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Firehouse Brew Pub. Main Street, downtown. Excellent beer, food, and staff

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Durango, CO
Jul 28, 2008

Family friendly older hotel

The building we stayed in as well as the room furnishings were older than I expected. The chairs in the room had worn out upholstery and the beds needed to be replaced. The children's pool area was wonderful, that was a highlight, but the room was nothing special. The hallways were not very clean and the person who checked us in at the front desk, while she did her job, was not very friendly or helpful. Next time I would try another hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jacknj
Business
Winnemucca, Nevada
Jun 17, 2014

Average motel.

Did not make up our room one day, had to order clean towels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Very good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wabbit proud Grandmother
Business
Littleton, Colorado
May 27, 2010

Minutes from everything

Our hotel room was nice the bed was comfortable. We would have liked to have sheets that were longer a little wider and covered your shoulders. A blanket with the sheet instead of the bed spread would be much more comfortable. Your close to everything in town and we liked that. If we ever need a hotel room again when we visit S.D we will definatly return to the Ramkota.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Any kind of food service is there. You can either walk or drive. The same with the Shopping Center or the movie theater. You couldn't ask for a better location. We recomend it to familys, couples or just about anyone.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Joe business guy
Business
Wisconsin
May 10, 2012

Great place to stay for business trip. great rest. & bar.

Minervas rest has great food and waite staff. Happy hour at the bar was excellent - friendly help and great drinks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Cabela's and major shopping all within 2-3 miles.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mrs. Oliveira
Business
Laramie, Wyoming
Jul 10, 2012

Loved it!!

The hotel was beautiful, very clean with lots of friendly staff. I was double charged for the hotel, but it was a simple mistake that was taken care of right away. The only thing I wish the hotel had, was a mini fridge in the rooms. However, the water park did a pretty good job of making up for this. We were lucky to have the doors that open up into the courtyard instead of the parking lot. Overall I would highly recommend this hotel!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a Ted's Philly Cheesesteaks down the street, just a block or two. AMAZING is all I can say!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Family Fun vacation times
Business
Brainerd, Minnesota
Jun 20, 2012

Great place to stay

This was one of three hotels we stayed at and it was by far the nicest. The water park and pool were great and there were a lot of people in both. They were a little short on pool towels but that is minor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
becky6
Business
rapid city sd
May 28, 2013

Would want to do it again.

It was great. Close to all the attractions. Clean rooms handicap friendly restaurant prices reasonable. Friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
HoosierRed
Business
Bloomington, IN
Jul 3, 2013

Great family hotel

We traveled to Rapids City to see Mt. Rushmore. Having two kids (ages 6 and 8), I knew I had to find a place they would enjoy. The Best Western Ramkota Hotel was a perfect fit for us with their water park and pool. After sight seeing and partaking in other area attractions, we returned to the hotel to let the kids splash and play. Great location with many family oriented restaurants close by. Also, the Walmart down the street came in handy too. Overall, a great stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The dinosaur park is a free place to visit and burn a little time (30 minutes) with you little ones (children under 10 might find interesting).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top