BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel

3 stars
2111 N LaCrosse Street, Rapid City, SD 57701-7858
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
29 reviews
Vacation

Great location for visiting a lot of the great sites in the area. Great restaurant and there are... See full review

  • New adventurers.
  • Jul 3, 2014
Very Comfortable Rooms

This hotel was very nice. Rooms were spotless and guest ready. Had a great stay and will stay again. See full review

  • oopp
  • Jun 22, 2014
Family-friendly, business-savvy, and utterly convenient (just off I-90)
An award-winning restaurant, 15 meeting rooms, one of the largest indoor water parks around -- if you can name it, the Best Western Ramkota Rapid City Hotel and Conference Center has it. The hotel also scores high points for its convenient location: Just off Interstate 90 and minutes from shops, restaurants and a movie theater. Sightseers use the hotel as home base between day trips to Mount Rushmore, say, or Crazy Horse Memorial. Business travelers take advantage of its generous event space and proximity to local companies.
Highlights
  • New indoor water park is one of the largest in the region
  • Indoor heated lap pool and hot tub
  • Award-winning restaurant located on-site
  • Home to the largest hotel convention center in the upper Midwest
Location
Best Western Ramkota Rapid City Hotel and Conference Center sits right off Interstate 90, about three miles north of downtown. The Rushmore Mall lies about a quarter of a mile to the west, and restaurants, shops and a movie theater are minutes away.
Rooms
Best Western Ramkota Rapid City Hotel and Conference Center guest rooms deliver basic amenities (high-speed Internet, cable satellite television) and emanate a Western vibe. The hotel also has 33 suites -- three of which have Jacuzzis -- as well as business-class rooms with two phone lines.
Dining
Located on-site, the award-winning Minervas Restaurant serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. Its menu covers everything from cherry apple chicken salad to nine-layer meat lasagna, but steaks are its selling point.
Recreation
You cannot visit Best Western Ramkota Rapid City Hotel and Conference Center without paying its new indoor water park a visit. The hotel also has an indoor heated lap pool, hot tub and fitness center.
Transportation
  • Rapid City Regional Airport (8.4 mi/13.6 km)
  • Free shuttle service to the airport and points around town
Attractions
  • Rushmore Mall (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • The Museum of Geology (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • The Journey Museum (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • The Reptile Gardens Zoo (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • Storybook Island Amusement Park (5 mi/8 km)
  • South Dakota Air and Space Museum (10 mi/16.1 km)
  • Bear Country U.S.A. Park (11 mi/17.7 km)
  • Mount Rushmore National Memorial (25 mi/40.2 km)
  • Crazy Horse Memorial (42 mi/67.6 km)
Business
  • Computer and printer available for guest use in the lobby
  • Offers 36,000 square feet of meeting and event space
  • A number of local businesses lie within five minutes of the hotel

BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel Rooms

2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NOSMOKE,HI SPEED NET,COFFEMAKR,HAIR,IRON
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,NSMK,OVRSZD,SOFBD,MICRWV,REFRIG,HARDWIRE
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,BUSINESS,HARDWIRE NET,COFMKR,HAIR
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,BUSINESS,HARDWIRE NET,COFMKR,HAIR
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NOSMOKE,HI SPEED NET,COFFEMAKR,HAIR,IRON
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,NSMK,HI SPD NET,WHIRLPOOL,SOFABED,MICRFG
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,NSMK,HISPD,SOFABD,WHIRLPL,FIREPL,MICRFG
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,ROLL IN SHOWER,NSMK
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,BATHTUB,NSMK
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,MOBACC,COMAST,ROLLSH,SOFBD,JETTB,NSMK

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Exercise gym
Boating
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Over sized rooms
Cribs available
Fire place
Sofa bed
Electronic door locks
Ironing board

Hotel Map

44.1093 -103.2023
Area served
Casper,, Deadwood, Sturgis, Custer, Wall, Sioux Falls, Hill City, Belle Fourche, Keystone, Lead, Hot Springs, Cheyenne,, Denver,, Spearfish, Pierre
Nearby airports
(RAP), 12.00, MI, SE;
Area description
Expressway

Dining

Longhorn Steakhouse
3.00 mile(s) from Longhorn Steakhouse, full service, Steak House, open for: lunch, dinner
Red Lobster
0.50 mile(s) from Red Lobster, full service, Seafood, open for: lunch, dinner
Perkin's
Across the street from Perkin's, full service, American, open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner, open 24-hours. On site bakery.
Millstone
0.40 mile(s) from Millstone, full service, American, open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner, great home style cooking.
Applebees
0.80 mile(s) from Applebees, full service, American, open for: lunch, dinner, Full service bar.
Golden Corral
0.70 mile(s) from Golden Corral, buffet, American, open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner, Huge buffets - fresh food served throughout the day.
Minervas
Minervas, on premises, full service, American, open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner
Texas Roadhouse
Across the street from Texas Roadhouse, full service, American, open for: dinner
Olive Garden
0.60 mile(s) from Olive Garden, full service, Italian, open for: lunch, dinner, Wine and beer available.
TGIF
Across the street from TGIF, full service, American, open for: lunch, dinner

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (29)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
29 out of 29
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.6

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
TinJay
Rapid City SD
Jan 4, 2012

Barking dogs

After being checked in, we walked down the hall to our room and was met by what sounded like a whole room of barking dogs. We asked to be moved and the staff tried to move our room even closer to the room with the dogs. The guy at the desk was not to happy about having to move us somewhere else but did after we said we would just find somewhere else to stay. This was on a Monday night so there were plenty of rooms open. I almost feel like they put all the people who book their rooms online in one area which is not the best area of the motel. We did not use the pool area but it looked very nice. I probably will not stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Rmmm
La Verne CA
Jul 7, 2013

problems at Ramkota

I am glad that you are asking for our feedback because we had some problems with this hotel. I would say that a major problem was security. The hotel is located in a pretty insecure location. There are many rooms and several buildings. Twice upon returning to our room the door was not closed completely, anyone could have pushed the door open. The first time occurred when we checked into the hotel room--the door pushed open--not needing a key. The second time the door was left open all of our belongings were in the room--free for the taking--a laptop computer my husband uses for business purposes, personal clothing, possessions of all kinds. We were also told of a guest's car that had been broken into and completely cleaned out of all the guest's possessions. The manager was not available for our discussion. The employee who was available said she had no knowledge of any car being broken into in the parking lot. We were continually told that manager would be available for discussion--but they never were. I must say the last night I was there I slept with 1 eye open--not feeling very safe. We checked in Sunday June 30th. One employee was manning the desk, she was new and inexperienced, the line for checkin was long, and no one appeared to be helping her. I needed to do some laundry. There are only 2 laundry rooms--each with 1 washer and 1 dryer--for all the hotel's rooms--which are substantial in number. The soap machines were empty. The maintenance staff was very helpful in getting me started and finding a laundry room--as it was not in my building. By the time the clothes were dry I had spent $4.50 to wash and dry 1 load of clothing--which I thought was ridiculously overpriced. Again the manager was not available for comment or help. The room itself was clean except for the bathroom. I don't think the maid was interested in cleaning it, as she left the bottle of Tilex on the counter and the black mold in the shower. I was surprised that the shower would have that much mold as it takes time for it to get that thick. The small towels and wash clothes were also only supplied on one night of our 4 night stay. We checked out early. We have stayed at Best Western before (not at this location) and had a very positive stay. This hotel did not meet our expectations. The room key did not open the rear door of the building on the first try--or even the second--it usually took 3 or more tries. The hot breakfast usually supplied by Best Western was not supplied. The desk told us to get breakfast on our own as nothing would be provided. You should be aware that your competition is providing a much better hotel experience at about the same rates--as we stayed in a Hampton Inn for about the same price per night--with a much better result. I would love to revisit the Black Hills of South Dakota. But I would not revisit this hotel. It is large, spread out, not being managed appropriately--and frankly just not safe. Being so close to the freeway and located in a shopping mall--they should have some feeling as to the necessity of providing guest security. It is one thing to hear about a guest's car being broken into and cleaned out--but to find that your room has been left open--that is unacceptable. thank you Dr. Martin Professor of Accounting California State Polytechnic University, Pomona

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Should not be required
Willmar, MN
Apr 22, 2010

WARNING!!!!

WARNING!!!! Late at night we found out that there was no hot water. The maintenance man was supposed to work on it. They never called to tell us it was fixed. Our room did not have hot water in the morning either. They would not provide us with a room to even take a hot shower. They would not make a satisfactory adjustment in our bill. (Manager said she would give us $20 ( a bad idea when you have to meet business clients feeling like dunge.) The room floor had not been vacuumed. I can not understand how this Hotel could even get one star. BEWARE!!!! Best Westrin in Rapid City smells.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

See the Museum of Geology on the School of Mines campus. It's free and fascinating.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Captain 15
Brooklyn, NY, USA
Sep 19, 2011

Just a visit to a great area

Went traveling in the Black Hills to visit various attractions. The Hotel, Best Western Ramkota, is really a large layout that is 2 stories. There are no elevators in the complex which means all of the retired old people have to climb the stairs with their heavy luggage. There is a fine restaurant and bar on the premises but offer no continental breakfast but that have breakfast in the restaurant. There was no refrigerator or safe in the room and it was a hike to the pool and workout area. They have a convention center that is extensive and is in use every day so parking in the daytime is reduced. The staff is friendly and helpful but the front desk is handleing guests and phones at the same time. The rooms are comfortable but I saw a number of older patrons and some heavier patrons struggeling with the stair climb, only one story but they had problems still. I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone who visits the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Grandma Laurie
Cheyenne, WY
Aug 21, 2012

Disappointed

I have stayed at this hotel before and have noted a significant decline. The rooms are starting to show their age, bathroom waals cracked, grout in ill repair, etc. The water park slide, adjacent to the pirate ship, the main reason that we stay here for grandchildren, was also roped off secondary to repair. Really???

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

This hotel's location is conveniently located next to many good restaurants and shopping venues.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
YT Chn
Minneapolis MN
Jul 7, 2014

very disapointing

we chose this hotel because of the water park facility. Yes, the water park facility was fine but hotel itself was old. Besides, we asked a crib/pack n play for our little one when booking but we were told it's all gone at registration. the staffs were not friendly either. I'd choose other hotels in the area if I'm to suggest my friends who plan to visit Rapid city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portland, OR
Apr 25, 2013

Tattooers carve through snow to get to SD

The hotel staff were extremely pleasant after our flight was delayed 7 hours. We arrived at Midnight in snowy conditions to a front desk clerk who seemed happy to see us. The hotel had a few room issues. Snow caused the ceiling to leak in our first room but we were moved immediately to another room that was clean and well suited to us. And this all occurred before we unpacked and only caused a ten-minute delay. We were put on the 2nd floor (top floor). There is no elevator to this floor so we had to carry our own luggage up a flight of stairs which was not a big deal, but if you're unable to do this, then ask for a room on the 1st floor. As I understand it, all people needing disabled rooms are put on the 1st floor. The convention room was a long ways from the rooms, so those that don't like walking, this is something to consider. Personally, I didn't mind the 1/4 mile-like walk because it provided some much needed exercise after sitting so long with flight cancelations, etc... Best Western is not the usual hotel I stay in. Usually I stay at Hiltons, boutique-style hotels, or 5-star hotels in remote locations. Yet, there is a charm to this hotel. It's like stepping back in time to a 80's disco without the staff in bell-bottoms or slicked back hair. The food was better than average and the staff was 5-star in friendliness. We had room service every day, the menu was limited but adequate, and the food was served on time, the staff pleasant. (I do recommend asking them to heat up the plates because this seemed to improve the warmth of the meals once we requested this.) It was a comfortable experience, memorable in many ways. Hope this is helpful to future travelers...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Firehouse Brew Pub. Main Street, downtown. Excellent beer, food, and staff

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
shane1959
Business
Iowa
Apr 23, 2012

Business Trip

Rooms were very clean, but their age is showing. Loose door knobs, tub faucet not completely attached. Tile aged, but very clean. Meeting rooms comfortable but again showing their age. Other hotels next door were advertising lower rates on signage.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jacknj
Winnemucca, Nevada
Jun 17, 2014

Average motel.

Did not make up our room one day, had to order clean towels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Dining tip: In Hotel

Very good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Grand Poppa
Houston, Texas
Jul 17, 2012

Back after 30 years

I was visiting Rapid City for the first time in 30 years. This hotel was within walking distance to the Mall which was a plus, next to the highway and the water park was a big hit for the grand kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top