$84 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 25, 2014 Check-out: Apr 27, 2014

BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel

3 stars
2111 N LaCrosse Street, Rapid City, SD 57701-7858
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
25 reviews
RC

We had a great stay here. Easy access to Mount Rushmore and the surrounding attractions. The... See full review

  • Blue007
  • Aug 23, 2013
Great family hotel

We traveled to Rapids City to see Mt. Rushmore. Having two kids (ages 6 and 8), I knew I had to... See full review

  • HoosierRed
  • Jul 3, 2013
Family-friendly, business-savvy, and utterly convenient (just off I-90)
An award-winning restaurant, 15 meeting rooms, one of the largest indoor water parks around -- if you can name it, the Best Western Ramkota Rapid City Hotel and Conference Center has it. The hotel also scores high points for its convenient location: Just off Interstate 90 and minutes from shops, restaurants and a movie theater. Sightseers use the hotel as home base between day trips to Mount Rushmore, say, or Crazy Horse Memorial. Business travelers take advantage of its generous event space and proximity to local companies.
Highlights
  • New indoor water park is one of the largest in the region
  • Indoor heated lap pool and hot tub
  • Award-winning restaurant located on-site
  • Home to the largest hotel convention center in the upper Midwest
Location
Best Western Ramkota Rapid City Hotel and Conference Center sits right off Interstate 90, about three miles north of downtown. The Rushmore Mall lies about a quarter of a mile to the west, and restaurants, shops and a movie theater are minutes away.
Rooms
Best Western Ramkota Rapid City Hotel and Conference Center guest rooms deliver basic amenities (high-speed Internet, cable satellite television) and emanate a Western vibe. The hotel also has 33 suites -- three of which have Jacuzzis -- as well as business-class rooms with two phone lines.
Dining
Located on-site, the award-winning Minervas Restaurant serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. Its menu covers everything from cherry apple chicken salad to nine-layer meat lasagna, but steaks are its selling point.
Recreation
You cannot visit Best Western Ramkota Rapid City Hotel and Conference Center without paying its new indoor water park a visit. The hotel also has an indoor heated lap pool, hot tub and fitness center.
Transportation
  • Rapid City Regional Airport (8.4 mi/13.6 km)
  • Free shuttle service to the airport and points around town
Attractions
  • Rushmore Mall (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • The Museum of Geology (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • The Journey Museum (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • The Reptile Gardens Zoo (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • Storybook Island Amusement Park (5 mi/8 km)
  • South Dakota Air and Space Museum (10 mi/16.1 km)
  • Bear Country U.S.A. Park (11 mi/17.7 km)
  • Mount Rushmore National Memorial (25 mi/40.2 km)
  • Crazy Horse Memorial (42 mi/67.6 km)
Business
  • Computer and printer available for guest use in the lobby
  • Offers 36,000 square feet of meeting and event space
  • A number of local businesses lie within five minutes of the hotel

BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel Rooms

2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NOSMOKE,HI SPEED NET,COFFEMAKR,HAIR,IRON
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,MOBACC,COMAST,ROLLSH,SOFBD,JETTB,NSMK
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,BUSINESS,HARDWIRE NET,COFMKR,HAIR
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,BUSINESS,HARDWIRE NET,COFMKR,HAIR
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,OVRSZD,SOFBD,MICRWV,REFRIG,HARDWIRE
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NOSMOKE,HI SPEED NET,COFFEMAKR,HAIR,IRON
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,NSMK,HI SPD NET,WHIRLPOOL,SOFABED,MICRFG
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,NSMK,HISPD,SOFABD,WHIRLPL,FIREPL,MICRFG
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,ROLL IN SHOWER,NSMK
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,BATHTUB,NSMK

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Exercise gym
Boating
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
FAX
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Over sized rooms
Cribs available
Fire place
Sofa bed
Electronic door locks
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

44.1093 -103.2023
Area served
Casper,, Spearfish, Denver,, Lead, Belle Fourche, Keystone, Sioux Falls, Custer, Pierre, Hill City, Hot Springs, Cheyenne,, Deadwood, Sturgis, Wall
Nearby airports
(RAP), 12.00, MI, SE;
Area description
Expressway

Dining

Texas Roadhouse
Across the street from Texas Roadhouse, full service, American, open for: dinner
Millstone
0.40 mile(s) from Millstone, full service, American, open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner, great home style cooking.
Minervas
Minervas, on premises, full service, American, open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner
Longhorn Steakhouse
3.00 mile(s) from Longhorn Steakhouse, full service, Steak House, open for: lunch, dinner
Red Lobster
0.50 mile(s) from Red Lobster, full service, Seafood, open for: lunch, dinner
Applebees
0.80 mile(s) from Applebees, full service, American, open for: lunch, dinner, Full service bar.
Golden Corral
0.70 mile(s) from Golden Corral, buffet, American, open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner, Huge buffets - fresh food served throughout the day.
Perkin's
Across the street from Perkin's, full service, American, open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner, open 24-hours. On site bakery.
TGIF
Across the street from TGIF, full service, American, open for: lunch, dinner
Olive Garden
0.60 mile(s) from Olive Garden, full service, Italian, open for: lunch, dinner, Wine and beer available.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (25)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
25 out of 25
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.7

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Mrs. Oliveira
Laramie, Wyoming
Jul 10, 2012

Loved it!!

The hotel was beautiful, very clean with lots of friendly staff. I was double charged for the hotel, but it was a simple mistake that was taken care of right away. The only thing I wish the hotel had, was a mini fridge in the rooms. However, the water park did a pretty good job of making up for this. We were lucky to have the doors that open up into the courtyard instead of the parking lot. Overall I would highly recommend this hotel!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a Ted's Philly Cheesesteaks down the street, just a block or two. AMAZING is all I can say!!

Review of BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel

Reviewer score

3
Shinysuit
Casper wy
Jul 12, 2012

Ok but not without problems

After i checked they charged my card agian even though i prepaid. I cant imagine if i didnt see this when i did. Other than that pretty fun place nice indoor water park and resturant. Bad tv's.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Mrs. Oliveira
Laramie, Wyoming
Jul 10, 2012

Loved it!!

The hotel was beautiful, very clean with lots of friendly staff. I was double charged for the hotel, but it was a simple mistake that was taken care of right away. The only thing I wish the hotel had, was a mini fridge in the rooms. However, the water park did a pretty good job of making up for this. We were lucky to have the doors that open up into the courtyard instead of the parking lot. Overall I would highly recommend this hotel!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a Ted's Philly Cheesesteaks down the street, just a block or two. AMAZING is all I can say!!

Review of BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Family Fun vacation times
Brainerd, Minnesota
Jun 20, 2012

Great place to stay

This was one of three hotels we stayed at and it was by far the nicest. The water park and pool were great and there were a lot of people in both. They were a little short on pool towels but that is minor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Joe business guy
Business
Wisconsin
May 10, 2012

Great place to stay for business trip. great rest. & bar.

Minervas rest has great food and waite staff. Happy hour at the bar was excellent - friendly help and great drinks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Cabela's and major shopping all within 2-3 miles.

Review of BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel

Reviewer score

3
shane1959
Business
Iowa
Apr 23, 2012

Business Trip

Rooms were very clean, but their age is showing. Loose door knobs, tub faucet not completely attached. Tile aged, but very clean. Meeting rooms comfortable but again showing their age. Other hotels next door were advertising lower rates on signage.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel

Reviewer score

1
TinJay
Rapid City SD
Jan 4, 2012

Barking dogs

After being checked in, we walked down the hall to our room and was met by what sounded like a whole room of barking dogs. We asked to be moved and the staff tried to move our room even closer to the room with the dogs. The guy at the desk was not to happy about having to move us somewhere else but did after we said we would just find somewhere else to stay. This was on a Monday night so there were plenty of rooms open. I almost feel like they put all the people who book their rooms online in one area which is not the best area of the motel. We did not use the pool area but it looked very nice. I probably will not stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel

Reviewer score

2
Captain 15
Brooklyn, NY, USA
Sep 19, 2011

Just a visit to a great area

Went traveling in the Black Hills to visit various attractions. The Hotel, Best Western Ramkota, is really a large layout that is 2 stories. There are no elevators in the complex which means all of the retired old people have to climb the stairs with their heavy luggage. There is a fine restaurant and bar on the premises but offer no continental breakfast but that have breakfast in the restaurant. There was no refrigerator or safe in the room and it was a hike to the pool and workout area. They have a convention center that is extensive and is in use every day so parking in the daytime is reduced. The staff is friendly and helpful but the front desk is handleing guests and phones at the same time. The rooms are comfortable but I saw a number of older patrons and some heavier patrons struggeling with the stair climb, only one story but they had problems still. I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone who visits the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Pine.
Concord, CA
Aug 6, 2010

Unbeatable location for this price

The hotel is huge and the location is very good. Just exit I-90 and you can drive right into the parking lot. The gas station is nearby. From here we drove to all tourist attractions (Mt Rushmore, Crazy Horse) and got back to the hotel with ease.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

The restaurant inside the hotel is excellent.

Review of BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Lincoln, NE
Jun 2, 2010

Did the Trick

Good location for the price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Wabbit proud Grandmother
Littleton, Colorado
May 27, 2010

Minutes from everything

Our hotel room was nice the bed was comfortable. We would have liked to have sheets that were longer a little wider and covered your shoulders. A blanket with the sheet instead of the bed spread would be much more comfortable. Your close to everything in town and we liked that. If we ever need a hotel room again when we visit S.D we will definatly return to the Ramkota.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Any kind of food service is there. You can either walk or drive. The same with the Shopping Center or the movie theater. You couldn't ask for a better location. We recomend it to familys, couples or just about anyone.

Back to menu Return to top