$152 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 6, 2015 Check-out: Jul 8, 2015

BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel

3 stars
View map of 2111 N LaCrosse Street, Rapid City, SD 57701-7858

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
33 out of 33
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.6

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
becky6
Business
rapid city sd
May 28, 2013

Would want to do it again.

It was great. Close to all the attractions. Clean rooms handicap friendly restaurant prices reasonable. Friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portland, OR
Apr 25, 2013

Tattooers carve through snow to get to SD

The hotel staff were extremely pleasant after our flight was delayed 7 hours. We arrived at Midnight in snowy conditions to a front desk clerk who seemed happy to see us. The hotel had a few room issues. Snow caused the ceiling to leak in our first room but we were moved immediately to another room that was clean and well suited to us. And this all occurred before we unpacked and only caused a ten-minute delay. We were put on the 2nd floor (top floor). There is no elevator to this floor so we had to carry our own luggage up a flight of stairs which was not a big deal, but if you're unable to do this, then ask for a room on the 1st floor. As I understand it, all people needing disabled rooms are put on the 1st floor. The convention room was a long ways from the rooms, so those that don't like walking, this is something to consider. Personally, I didn't mind the 1/4 mile-like walk because it provided some much needed exercise after sitting so long with flight cancelations, etc... Best Western is not the usual hotel I stay in. Usually I stay at Hiltons, boutique-style hotels, or 5-star hotels in remote locations. Yet, there is a charm to this hotel. It's like stepping back in time to a 80's disco without the staff in bell-bottoms or slicked back hair. The food was better than average and the staff was 5-star in friendliness. We had room service every day, the menu was limited but adequate, and the food was served on time, the staff pleasant. (I do recommend asking them to heat up the plates because this seemed to improve the warmth of the meals once we requested this.) It was a comfortable experience, memorable in many ways. Hope this is helpful to future travelers...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Firehouse Brew Pub. Main Street, downtown. Excellent beer, food, and staff

Review of BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Becker mom
Business
Alexandria, Va
Oct 24, 2012

good but not great

The waterpark would have been awesome...but half the slides were not operating. Most of the hotel staff were friendly...except at the front desk. They made me feel like I was wasting their time. Then there is the issue of charging us twice for the room!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Grandma Laurie
Business
Cheyenne, WY
Aug 21, 2012

Disappointed

I have stayed at this hotel before and have noted a significant decline. The rooms are starting to show their age, bathroom waals cracked, grout in ill repair, etc. The water park slide, adjacent to the pirate ship, the main reason that we stay here for grandchildren, was also roped off secondary to repair. Really???

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

This hotel's location is conveniently located next to many good restaurants and shopping venues.

Review of BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jimbo Family man
Business
Southern New England
Aug 6, 2012

Very nice all around!

Very nice family hotel. Love the location. Indoor water park attached to the hotel was very nice. Between airport and mount rushmore and everything else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Angie Family Planner
Business
Salt Lake City, UT
Jul 30, 2012

Family Vacation

The location was great and close to many restaurants. The restaurant in the hotel was very good. The kids loved the water park and that was great. The room was large and comfortable for 4 of us. It would of been nice to have a refrigerator and microwave in the rooms. Overall had a great trip to Mount Rushmore:)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Grand Poppa
Business
Houston, Texas
Jul 17, 2012

Back after 30 years

I was visiting Rapid City for the first time in 30 years. This hotel was within walking distance to the Mall which was a plus, next to the highway and the water park was a big hit for the grand kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Shinysuit
Business
Casper wy
Jul 12, 2012

Ok but not without problems

After i checked they charged my card agian even though i prepaid. I cant imagine if i didnt see this when i did. Other than that pretty fun place nice indoor water park and resturant. Bad tv's.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mrs. Oliveira
Business
Laramie, Wyoming
Jul 10, 2012

Loved it!!

The hotel was beautiful, very clean with lots of friendly staff. I was double charged for the hotel, but it was a simple mistake that was taken care of right away. The only thing I wish the hotel had, was a mini fridge in the rooms. However, the water park did a pretty good job of making up for this. We were lucky to have the doors that open up into the courtyard instead of the parking lot. Overall I would highly recommend this hotel!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a Ted's Philly Cheesesteaks down the street, just a block or two. AMAZING is all I can say!!

Review of BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Family Fun vacation times
Business
Brainerd, Minnesota
Jun 20, 2012

Great place to stay

This was one of three hotels we stayed at and it was by far the nicest. The water park and pool were great and there were a lot of people in both. They were a little short on pool towels but that is minor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top