$38 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Mar 18, 2015 Check-out: Mar 20, 2015

Black Hills Inn & Suites

2 stars
View map of 206 Mountain Shadow Lane, PO Box 328, Deadwood, SD 57732

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
28 reviews
snowmobiler

great location, along snowmobile trail. clean, only complaint is the mattress is hard, they need to... See full review

  • Snowmobiler69
  • Jan 27, 2015
Peaceful, small accomodations

Very quiet location away from all the Deadwood Casino Hubub. Rooms are very small but they also... See full review

  • NDSAILOR
  • Aug 17, 2014
Nestled in a mountain creek setting, the Black Hills Inn & Suites is conveniently located on Hwy 385 South in Deadwood, SD. The Black Hills Inn & Suites is only minutes from Downtown Deadwood by the Deadwood Trolley. We offer convenient access to Mt. Rushmore, Crazy Horse, Custer State Park, Devils Tower, Badlands National Park and Black Hills attractions. For snowmobilers, we are conveniently located on the Mickelson Trail providing access to 350 miles of groomed trails. For skiers, we are just minutes away from Terry Peak Ski Area and Deer Mountain Ski Area. We are a 100 percent nonsmoking hotel. Pets are accepted with a $20 fee and may NOT be left unattended in rooms at any time. Unauthorized pets will be a $100 fee. Reservations made through Internet or Booking Agents must be changed or cancelled through the booking agent. Online reservations may not be cancelled by the Hotel.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Black Hills Inn & Suites also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Black Hills Inn & Suites Rooms

Standard Double Room
Standard Double Room: 2 Double beds, non smoking, interior entrance, Wi-Fi.
Standard Queen Room
Standard Queen Room: Non Smoking, interior entrance, Wi-Fi

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Horseback riding
Fishing
Services
Multilingual
Tour desk
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Truck parking
Room
Satellite TV
Radio
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Shower
Smoke detectors

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (28)

Ratings and reviews for Black Hills Inn & Suites

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
28 out of 28
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.1
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.3

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Black Hills Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Snowmobiler69
Business
N/A
Jan 27, 2015

snowmobiler

great location, along snowmobile trail. clean, only complaint is the mattress is hard, they need to be replaced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Black Hills Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jerry Lightman
Business
Douglas wy
Sep 3, 2014

Never again.

Not the best :( No hair dryer,no Wi-fi,Put us in a dingy room looking at weeds and just not great. No ice..no coffee pot in room..bed so so.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Deadwood itself,,all the beautiful scenery..

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Black Hills Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NDSAILOR
Business
Bismarck, ND, USA
Aug 17, 2014

Peaceful, small accomodations

Very quiet location away from all the Deadwood Casino Hubub. Rooms are very small but they also have suites available. Clean pool and hot tube. Breakfast consists of cereal, toast, and or bagels...with milk and orange juice....that's it. Shuttle bus into Deadwood every 30 minutes until 1:00 a.m. OR walk into town via the well lighted Mickleson Trail.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

BB Codys, lower level of Casino on Deadwoods Main Street. And Restaraunt at the Convention Center located south side of Deadwood is very good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Black Hills Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Lord Rico
Business
Houston,Tx
Jun 15, 2014

Find another hotel

Though the inn was somewhat clean there was a lot missing for the price. The rooms are small and dated. There is a musty smell in the room and pretty much the whole inn. Spend a couple extra bucks and stay downtown deadwood.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Black Hills Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Testudus
Business
Dickinson, ND
Jun 3, 2014

Comfortable Room for one in a good location.

The room was clean and comfortable, though small. The bed was firm and very comfortable. Located on the edge of Deadwood it is a long walk from downtown but cheap and frequent public transport makes getting into downtown Deadwood easy. Like many hotels the walls are thin and voices carry. The bathroom was tiny, the sink was next to the bed but overall it was clean and comfortable. I was very satisfied. I was staying alone and the room was perfect for my needs. I had come to run the Deadwood Mickelson Trail Half Marathon. The Mickelson Trail follows a small creek that runs into Deadwood and the hotel is right next to the trail on the edge of town. The location is perfect for someone who wants to be away from the traffic of downtown and is interested in accessing the Mickelson Trail. In sum, I had a very pleasant experience. The room was small, the walls were thin, but I was comfortable and had very easy access to both the downtown area and the hiking trail. Its a decent motel in a really great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Black Hills Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Weary Western Travelers
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Sep 19, 2013

What we needed!

My fiance and I had been on the road for 12 hours and coming to this little place is in a cozy cove in Deadwood was just what we needed. We got there at 1am and they left our key out on the counter for us and there was no hassle or hidden fees. Check out was easy and the inexpensive rate was great. Very basic - but if you've been on the road all day it's perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Pump House Coffee & Deli had great coffee and inexpensive breakfast. It is in an old gas station and has tons of personality. Enjoy!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Black Hills Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Weary Traveler 2013
Business
Minnesota
Aug 6, 2013

Needs Updating & No WiFi

The room, a double queen, was tiny, very little room between beds, ceiling tile was falling from the ceiling, and bathroom was small shower and toilet, sink was outside of bath, around corner at the foot of a bed. Stayed there based on hotel description and fact they had wifi as I needed to work while there, NO WIFI. Not in the room, nor in the lobby, talked to other guests, all had same issue. Had to use an older computer in the hotel lobby to work, which meant I could not access any personal files. Very nice staff, no complaints about the staff at all, just the quality of the facility, was not worth $105 a night plus tax (by the way, their price went to $269 for same room during Sturgis rally).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Black Hills Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Coleoptera
Business
South Texas
Jun 27, 2013

We checked out right after we checked in

Great location if you want to stay near Deadwood, but not in town. Unfortunately, the room we were offered was small, old, shabby and smelled of mildew. We decided to leave and find another place to stay. The manager (owner?) was very understanding, and refunded our payment minus $25. Not bad considering it was late afternoon, and their refund policy clearly stated we had to cancel by 6PM the previous day. He didn't give us any attitude either. Guess we weren't the first to check in / check out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Black Hills Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
american kiwi
Business
Colorado
Jun 25, 2013

it was a nice stay

Friendly staff, pleasant area, nice and quiet room. I couldn't get the wireless to work though. I also didn't get a chance to check out the pool but would have liked to. It was very easy to get to with a car.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

The live Wild West shows in downtown Deadwood were a lot of fun.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Black Hills Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
daisy1836
Business
Fortuna, CA, USA
Nov 10, 2012

Out of the way

The motel is out of the way..clear out of town but the trolley does do a pick up here, the last stop on the line. Thank goodness it wasn't that cold when we were there since the heater did not work even though we did everything on the instructions. The breakfast was okay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top