Econo Lodge Custer

2 stars
342 Mount Rushmore Road, Custer, SD 57730
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
10 reviews
Vacation

The hotel was very comfortable, good location, nice continental breakfast, the staff was... See full review

  • larrycat
  • Aug 27, 2013
Nice location, good value

It's right on the main drag in Custer. Close to all the things you'd want to do in the area. Staff... See full review

  • modtrtr
  • Aug 12, 2014
The Econo Lodge hotel in Custer, SD is in downton Custer near restaurants, shopping, Custer State Park, Crazy Horse Memorial, Jewel Cave National Monument, Wind Cave National Park and Mount Rushmore National Memorial. Amenities include wireless Internet and an indoor pool. The free breakfast includes assorted cereals, oatmeal, pastries, juices and coffee. Rooms include coffee makers, hair dryers, irons and ironing boards. Some suites include hot tubs and lounge chairs. Hotel is Seasonal and is Closed October 1 through April 30 every year.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Econo Lodge Custer also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Indoor pool
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Vending machines
Services
Guest laundromat
In-Room Safe
FAX
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Truck parking
Bus parking
Room
Television with cable
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
In room movies
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
10:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (10)

Ratings and reviews for Econo Lodge Custer

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
10 out of 10
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.7

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Econo Lodge Custer

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
modtrtr
Business
St Paul, MN
Aug 12, 2014

Nice location, good value

It's right on the main drag in Custer. Close to all the things you'd want to do in the area. Staff was friendly, room clean. Pool was too shallow for adult use.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Econo Lodge Custer

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
larrycat
Business
AR.
Aug 27, 2013

Vacation

The hotel was very comfortable, good location, nice continental breakfast, the staff was very friendly and helpful. We would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Econo Lodge Custer

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
FirstTymer
Business
Mitchell, South Dakota
Jun 7, 2012

EconoFlop

Staff was welcoming. Our room had wet carpet right outside of the bathroom. And i sign to shut the door to the bathroom when running the shower because the fire alarms would sound...? sounds like the fan didnt work anymore and they would rather spend the money on signs than fixing the exhaust. The rooms were extremely noisy. We had to go out of the hotel until late so we could get some peace and quiet once all the kids went to bed. [so we didnt have to hear them running around screaming and jumping above us]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Econo Lodge Custer

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Winona, MN
Jul 10, 2011

Perfect location and a good deal too.

Ever decide to go on a trip at the last minute and wonder what you will have to take for accomdations? My daugher of 16yrs and I did and headed for the Black Hills on the 4th of July week-end. [...],in the heart of Custer SD. It was perfect great room great service, including free breakfasts. We could walk to everyting going on in Custer and it was only 30 minuter drive to Mount Rushmore and Curster wildlife park. An Old fashion county fair was underway just acrose the street from our Hotel and we could walk to the fireworks later that night. Thank you Econo Lodge and staff, for making our stay so great. The only minor down side was that my daughter thought the Pool was to small. The rate of $115.00/ night was way cheaper than anything I could get at the last minute anywhere else. The People at the Lodge went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. A Big Thank you to all the Staff at Econo Lodge. We hope to do this again and Econo in custer SD. is the place we want to stay. Thank you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cattlemens Club was about 2 blocks up the road and had awesome steaks at a good price. DQ acrose the street with chicken specials. three other good eating places including a Subway when you get home late and want a quick something to eat.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Econo Lodge Custer

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
road runner -dad
Business
cleveland, ohio
Jul 23, 2010

blackhills road trip

We arrived late, but they kept the light on for us. But the parking lot was difficult to manuver in. The lot wrapped around the motel where it was dark. Visibility was poor since lighting was not very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The mom and pop resturant was nearly next door where the food was great and the service was friendly.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Econo Lodge Custer

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbus, GA
Jul 20, 2009

Neat Place

I picked this place to stay overnight with the family while traveling from Crazy Horse to attractions west from it. Friendly staff. Clean room. Good value for the price, especially in that area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Econo Lodge Custer

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SandiGram
Business
Vermillion, SD
Jun 9, 2009

Comfortable and affordable

We went to Custer, SD to hike Crazy Horse mountain. Our hotel was within 5 minutes of the hike site which was wonderful. It was also within walking distance of restaurants, entertainment, coffee shops, etc. It was a bit noisy with lots of other travellers, but we are flexible and survived! Staff was super friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Econo Lodge Custer

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Heys
Business
Washington state
Jun 5, 2009

Econo Lodge Custer

Good beds. Good bathroom. Good TV Good Location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Econo Lodge Custer

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 5, 2008

Family friendly / close to Crazy Horse/Mt. Rushmore

You'll enjoy your stay at Custer's Econolodge. The room is clean, staff is friendly, and the location cannot be beat! Morning breakfast serves cereal, carbs (english muffin, waffle, toast, etc), fruit and hard boiled eggs with choice of juice/tea/milk/coffee. 20 minutes from Custer State Park, Crazy Horse, Jewel Cave or Mt. Rushmore/Keystone. Kids will love the little indoor pool; no hot tub for adults though. Many restaurants in downtown Custer are within 4 blocks. Custer Econolodge is one of the sponsors for the Crazy Horse evening laser show, a must-see!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Econo Lodge Custer

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 18, 2007

Friendly but Overpriced

Staff is very friendly, clean hotel, newly remodeled, but overpriced for an Econolodge-no iron, pool is small, no microwave available, smoke detectors hanging loose (shower causes them to go off) & telephone didn't work right

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top