$45 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 24, 2014 Check-out: Oct 27, 2014

Days Inn Custer

2 stars
519 Crook Street, Custer, SD 57730
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
29 reviews
Close to Mt. Rushmore

This was a lovely little hotel with a charming cat named Shadow, very friendly staff, and... See full review

  • KayCoon
  • Aug 15, 2014
Enjoyed our stay

We had a very nice 2-night stay. Quiet place, good for sleeping. Shower curtain had a mildew odor,... See full review

  • Cat Person Always
  • Jul 6, 2014
Centrally located in the beautiful Black Hills the closest Days Inn to Mt. Rushmore National Memorial, Crazy Horse Memorial, Custer State Park, Wind Ca e National Park and Jewel Cave National Monument. 48 rooms, Family And Hot Tub Suites - Expanded Continental Breakfast. Free Wireless High Speed Internet Access Sauna Central location to all attractions Chairmans Award Winner We offer 48 beautiful, clean and comfortable rooms and suites which await your arrival. Complimentary Continental breakfast, high speed internet. Custer is also home to the Mickelson Trail, one of the nations best hiking/biking trails. The Custer Days Inn is the place to stay and enjoy all the Black Hills has to offer Mount Rushmore is only minutes away, and nearby, the carvings of Crazy Horse is a work in progress. Experience the vast beauty of the Black Hills National Forest, explore the deep mysteries of Wind Cave National Park and Jewel Cave National Monument, and climb the scenic heights of Harney Peak and the Needles Highway. Devils Tower is just a short drive through the Black Hills. Then come back to Custer for a pleasant nights rest. Tomorrow is another adventurous day in the Black Hills. Get a close-up view of nature in Custer State Park. Wander through a mountain meadow and see one of the largest free roaming herds of buffalo. Hike into the forest and spot bighorn sheep and mountain goats. Although, season may change, the beauty and excitement never ends in Custer.

Hotel Map

43.7675 -103.6003
Area description
Business district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Days Inn Custer also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Ice machine
Activities
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Sauna
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Express check in
Express checkout
Security
Wake-up service
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Wheel chair access
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Cribs available
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (29)

Ratings and reviews for Days Inn Custer

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
29 out of 29
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.3

66% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Days Inn Custer

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
anon9999
Prefer not to specify home base city
Sep 21, 2014

Smells like CAT!

Hotel main floors, lobby, and maybe room smelled like Cat (Dander) due to the fact this motel has a house cat on the premises. Probably won't be booking here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Custer

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
hlb2u
reno
Sep 17, 2014

Good Luck

The front desk staff were poor at best. Seemed clueless at checkin which took 45 minutes. No apology for their ineptitude . Would never stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Custer

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bike to go
Seattle, Wa
Aug 24, 2014

OK, nothing special

Room was OK. WIFI did not work, even tho staff tried to help. Location was good for Crazy Horse Memorial. Place smelled funny. Some rooms, like mine, on basement level. I did not like that. Breakfast offerings were poor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of shopping in downtown very nearby.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Custer

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KayCoon
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Aug 15, 2014

Close to Mt. Rushmore

This was a lovely little hotel with a charming cat named Shadow, very friendly staff, and comfortable room. It was just off the Main Street in Custer, but very quiet and comfortable. Would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There was a bar and grill just a block up from the hotel which served great pizza.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Custer

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Disappointed88
Custer, SD
Aug 10, 2014

Disappointed

I booked and paid for 2 rooms more than a month in advance. When we arrived at the hotel they had our 2 rooms on 2 different floors and told me they couldn't put us together because we arrived late. So what???? One of our rooms was so small that we had to turn sideways to walk up the side of the bed (literally) to get in. When I realized the next morning that our room was the only small room I talked to the manager about getting a partial refund. I didn't think I should have to pay the same amount for a small hole at the end of the hall as everyone else. The manager was rude when I addressed both my concerns and told me she wouldn't talk to me about it and said I would have to take it up with the company I booked with online. The walls were so thin I could hear the conversation in the room across the hall. The hotel was extremely overpriced and not updated. I will not be returning and don't recommend anyone else does either.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Custer

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tina629
Mankato Minnesota
Jul 28, 2014

Average hotel

Good clean hotel in an excellent location. Free breakfast was nice but very plain and got old after the first day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The views of sylvan lake and custer state park are breathtaking.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Custer

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
grand pops
glendale az
Jul 18, 2014

Love the Black Hills area

Great location to view many Black Hills area sites. Check in went well. Appreciated dog friendly atmosphere. Only $10 extra per night. Very laid back desk staff. Breakfast was a bit on the 'minimal' end. Wi-Fi very spotty in our room, especially in the evenings. I would have appreciated the staff warning us not to travel on Rt. 16 from the west into Custer. Awful construction all summer. Great three days visiting Crazy Horse, Mt Rushmore, Wind Cave, Mammoth Site, Custer State Park #lots of Buffalo# and Wood Carving Museum.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't miss Crazy Horse laser show in the evening (9:45) and at the visitor center exchange your entry ticket for a free pass to use one of the following 3 days. Indian events only happen during the day.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Custer

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
HMMOORE
Folsom, CA
Jul 17, 2014

Needs work on wifi and furniture

the staff was great and the rooms were clean and the location was great for the attractions. The wifi was almost non-existant. The chairs in the room were not comfortable. The bed was comfortable and the breakfast was better than expected.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Centrally located to all of the attractions

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Custer

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PJK Rider
Alliance, Nebraska
Jul 14, 2014

Convenient location

Familiar with facility. We stayed here last year and this year it was under different management. Much cleaner and nicer. The only complaint was that the air conditioner was programmed to turn on and turn off for some energy savings. That got a little old through the night. We'll be back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The cattlemans restaurant.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Custer

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AECT member
Cheyenne, WY
Jul 7, 2014

Days Inn, Custer SD

Small hotel, books quickly, average rooms but staff very accommodating and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Centrally located for many attractions in the Black Hills area (e.g. Crazy Horse, Mt Rushmore, Hill City, Custer State Park, various caves, and Deadwood)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top