$55 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 26, 2015 Check-out: Apr 29, 2015

Howard Johnson Express Inn - Orangeburg

2 stars
View map of 3608 St Matthews Rd, Orangeburg, SC 29118

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.7
out of 5
33 reviews
worth the stay

This is a good hotel to stay. It's location is perfect with numerous places to eat food to go or... See full review

  • christopher b.
  • Mar 10, 2015
perfect for an overnite stop

Was perfect for an overnight stop. Room was clean and everything was in working order. The only... See full review

  • Stop123
  • Sep 17, 2014
Take the family to this Howard Johnson Inn Organgeburg conveniently located off Interstate 26. Smell roses at the Edisto Memorial Gardens, a former Civil War battle site, and if you visit during the spring you can experience the annual South Carolina Festival of Roses in the gardens. Try to hook a fish in Edisto River, and admire its naturally black water. South Carolina State University and Clafin University, as well as shopping and many local restaurants are nearby. Start your morning with a complimentary Rise and Dine continental breakfast, and complimentary wireless Internet access to plan your exciting day. Enjoy a swim in the outdoor pool, 24-hour front-desk service, complimentary parking, and business center with copy and fax services. Relax in your comfortable guest room with microwave and refrigerator. Suites, smoke-free and handicapped-accessible rooms are also available. Pets are welcome at this lodging.

Top hotels

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Oliver C. Dawson Stadium: 478.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Express Inn - Orangeburg

Overall score

2.6 / 5
5.01.0
5 out of 33
Amenities:
2.6
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3.4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3.4
Value:
2.6

60% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Orangeburg

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Stop123
Business
Cleveland, Ohio
Sep 17, 2014

perfect for an overnite stop

Was perfect for an overnight stop. Room was clean and everything was in working order. The only thing that was below average was the out dated t.v. Hard to see.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Orangeburg

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Chellebelle
Business
Charlotte, North Carolina
Aug 9, 2014

bed bugs!

This location has bed Bugs! I left in the middle of the night after being told that, after checking in at 11:30pm and being woke up by bugs at 1:30 am, I was not entitled to a refund! This staff was hateful, and the room was not that clean, the bathroom light would not even come on completely! I will never stay here or refer friends here in the future

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Orangeburg

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Student1
Business
Orangeburg, SC
Apr 16, 2013

Good stay for location in Orangeburg

Good stay for where I needed to go while in Orangeburg. Breakfast was provided and there was a variety of options, healthy fruit and clean environment. The parking at the hotel was monitored and watched. There was someone at the desk 24/7.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Orangeburg

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Barbara Needed a pLace to stay
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Jun 7, 2011

OK but could be better

I was there for pleasure. Yes there is something missing that would have made my stay more enjoyable. First I was there over a weekend, the Pool was close. The have room safes that are not accessible. The people including the supervisor was pleasant. Maid service came in my room while I was a way, did not make the bed, did not replace the towels and left my curtain open so anyone could look in my room. When I return she called to say she saw that I was back, was there anything I needed. Why should I answer, she saw what was needed, and she did do it. The place appeared clean, but there were many things that needed maintenance or upgraded. The price was good but should have been less if they are not able to upgraded the things in there motel. Thank you

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

There is a water park approximately 2 miles away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Orangeburg

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Trinidad
Jan 22, 2011

o.k. for price

it was mostly a business trip to check on my son who's in university. i like to exercise and missed the gym. i was not interested in the breakfast as it lacked the freshness i am used too. the staff was polite, helpful and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Fatz and Ruby Tuesday

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top