$55 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 25, 2014 Check-out: Aug 28, 2014

Howard Johnson Express Inn - Orangeburg

2 stars
3608 St Matthews Rd, Orangeburg, SC 29118
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.6
out of 5
31 reviews
Clean,Convenient Location,Accomodating Staff

I find this hotel clean, affordable and enough anemities to be quite comfortable. The staff are... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Sep 15, 2008
Good place

The staff was really nice. Excellent rooms. See full review

  • TSO Fan
  • Nov 21, 2010
Take the family to this Howard Johnson Inn Organgeburg conveniently located off Interstate 26. Smell roses at the Edisto Memorial Gardens, a former Civil War battle site, and if you visit during the spring you can experience the annual South Carolina Festival of Roses in the gardens. Try to hook a fish in Edisto River, and admire its naturally black water. South Carolina State University and Clafin University, as well as shopping and many local restaurants are nearby. Start your morning with a complimentary Rise and Dine continental breakfast, and complimentary wireless Internet access to plan your exciting day. Enjoy a swim in the outdoor pool, 24-hour front-desk service, complimentary parking, and business center with copy and fax services. Relax in your comfortable guest room with microwave and refrigerator. Suites, smoke-free and handicapped-accessible rooms are also available. Pets are welcome at this lodging.

Hotel Map

33.5532 -80.8268
Area description
Business district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Express Inn - Orangeburg also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Oliver C. Dawson Stadium: 478.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (31)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Express Inn - Orangeburg

Overall score

2.1 / 5
5.01.0
7 out of 31
Amenities:
2.4
Room cleanliness:
2.6
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
2.1
Location:
3.4
Value:
2.9

43% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Orangeburg

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jenna and Curtis
Cuyahoga Falls
Jul 10, 2014

It worked

Had a long drive back to ohio from Florida and needed to stop somewhere in between. Definitely was priced well and Lisa at the front desk was very nice. The room itself left more to be desired but for a one night stay it worked. And I did enjoy my waffle in the am before we started our journey back home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Fatz was really good. Very short drive away. Could walk but it is across the street and may be a little dangerous to cross on foot.

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Orangeburg

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Patti W
Prospect, KY
Oct 8, 2012

Picked this place because of 3 star rating which is WAS NOT!

It was a smoking room, which I did not notice when I purchased it. I HATE smoking rooms.....why they even allow them anymore is questionable. The bedding was old and not at all plush, which you would expect with a 3 star rating. The blankets had holes in them from cigarette burns. The pillow were old foam, flat pillow. The bedspread was a dated polyester spread....thin and nasty. The bathroom had been updated but still not worthy of a 3 star. With all that, I did sleep well, but felt like I woke up smelling like smoke.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Orangeburg

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
celtic fan
Florida
Jun 4, 2012

hotel stay

It wa ok,the room was clean, butthere was some kindof odor that detracted from our stay. Old analog TV I don't think I would stay there again. Continentalbreakfast was fine,nothing exciting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Orangeburg

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Jacksonville FL
Nov 14, 2010

HOWARD JOHNSON ORANGEBURG SC

good breakfast. I booked a king bed nonsmoking, they did not have one available when I got there, only 2 queen non smoking. Took too long to check in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Orangeburg

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mardee
Sarasota, FL
Feb 20, 2010

Howard Johnson's in Orangeburg.

just spent the night - it was comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Orangeburg

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Greenville SC
Nov 11, 2009

Could have been better

The room could have been alot cleaner. The carpet needed to be vacumed and the bathroom was dirty. The bed was hard as a rock. The vending machine needs to be updated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Orangeburg

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mrs Barnes
Long Island, NY
Aug 18, 2009

You get what you pay for...

The hotel was not bad. I was disappointed because the pictures gave me the wrong impression of what to expect. When you consider the room $ rate it doesn't seem fair to complain. The room was clean. No weird smells. The pool is a joke and the towels were scarce but in all fairness it was a decent stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Fast food and other dining is within walking distance but a car is essential

Back to menu Return to top

Change search