$55 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Mar 11, 2015 Check-out: Mar 14, 2015

Howard Johnson Express Inn - Orangeburg

2 stars
View map of 3608 St Matthews Rd, Orangeburg, SC 29118

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.7
out of 5
32 reviews
perfect for an overnite stop

Was perfect for an overnight stop. Room was clean and everything was in working order. The only... See full review

  • Stop123
  • Sep 17, 2014
Clean,Convenient Location,Accomodating Staff

I find this hotel clean, affordable and enough anemities to be quite comfortable. The staff are... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Sep 15, 2008
Take the family to this Howard Johnson Inn Organgeburg conveniently located off Interstate 26. Smell roses at the Edisto Memorial Gardens, a former Civil War battle site, and if you visit during the spring you can experience the annual South Carolina Festival of Roses in the gardens. Try to hook a fish in Edisto River, and admire its naturally black water. South Carolina State University and Clafin University, as well as shopping and many local restaurants are nearby. Start your morning with a complimentary Rise and Dine continental breakfast, and complimentary wireless Internet access to plan your exciting day. Enjoy a swim in the outdoor pool, 24-hour front-desk service, complimentary parking, and business center with copy and fax services. Relax in your comfortable guest room with microwave and refrigerator. Suites, smoke-free and handicapped-accessible rooms are also available. Pets are welcome at this lodging.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Express Inn - Orangeburg also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Oliver C. Dawson Stadium: 478.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (32)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Express Inn - Orangeburg

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
32 out of 32
Amenities:
2.8
Cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.5
Comfort:
2.9
Location:
3.8
Value:
2.8

59% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Orangeburg

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dawn the Travel Chick
Business
Indianapolis, IN
Sep 10, 2012

Run for the Hills!

I cannot stress enough that if you have other options, stay at the other option. When I checked in, the staff was friendly, and the room appeared to be clean. However, the giant roach and 2 inch gap between the door frame and the floor was concerning. After switching rooms, I noticed a gap between the door frame and the wall, but the most concerning thing was the bug crawling on my pillow when I pulled back the spread! Needless to say, we did not stay there. We had to pay twice as much to stay at another hotel and we will not be back at the Howard Johnson's in Orangeburg!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Seafood Academy across the street from the hotel was pretty tasty and reasonably priced.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Orangeburg

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Patti W
Business
Prospect, KY
Oct 8, 2012

Picked this place because of 3 star rating which is WAS NOT!

It was a smoking room, which I did not notice when I purchased it. I HATE smoking rooms.....why they even allow them anymore is questionable. The bedding was old and not at all plush, which you would expect with a 3 star rating. The blankets had holes in them from cigarette burns. The pillow were old foam, flat pillow. The bedspread was a dated polyester spread....thin and nasty. The bathroom had been updated but still not worthy of a 3 star. With all that, I did sleep well, but felt like I woke up smelling like smoke.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Orangeburg

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Neisha
Business
Washington, DC
Apr 16, 2011

Drive Past

I recently checked in to this hotel while I was in Orangeburg and to say that I was dissatisfied is a very polite understatement. In the first room, the bath tub, was half water filled with black grim and old soak dirt residue. I took a picture of the tub and took it to the front desk, were he immediately have me a second room. The second room to my disbelieve was even worst! I went back to the front desk and checked out. I so warn anyone and everyone reading this posting, to not stay at this deplorable, unsanitary, excuse for a hotel which falsely claim to have renovated in 2008. I guess those renovations only included the bedspread.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Orangeburg

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Greenville SC
Nov 11, 2009

Could have been better

The room could have been alot cleaner. The carpet needed to be vacumed and the bathroom was dirty. The bed was hard as a rock. The vending machine needs to be updated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Orangeburg

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Victoria Canada
May 21, 2009

Go Elsewhere

Dirty & noisy. Surly staff Look elsewhere

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Orangeburg

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Chellebelle
Business
Charlotte, North Carolina
Aug 9, 2014

bed bugs!

This location has bed Bugs! I left in the middle of the night after being told that, after checking in at 11:30pm and being woke up by bugs at 1:30 am, I was not entitled to a refund! This staff was hateful, and the room was not that clean, the bathroom light would not even come on completely! I will never stay here or refer friends here in the future

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Orangeburg

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charlotte, NC
Feb 28, 2011

A bit underwhelmed

At first hotel seemed fine, night clerk was very friendly...come midnight a VERY rowdy group showed up and carried on until 3AM. This could have been handled better - I have to say I was a little concerned for safety at one point. Next time, the hotel needs to call for backup. Next morning staff was apologetic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Orangeburg

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Barbara Needed a pLace to stay
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Jun 7, 2011

OK but could be better

I was there for pleasure. Yes there is something missing that would have made my stay more enjoyable. First I was there over a weekend, the Pool was close. The have room safes that are not accessible. The people including the supervisor was pleasant. Maid service came in my room while I was a way, did not make the bed, did not replace the towels and left my curtain open so anyone could look in my room. When I return she called to say she saw that I was back, was there anything I needed. Why should I answer, she saw what was needed, and she did do it. The place appeared clean, but there were many things that needed maintenance or upgraded. The price was good but should have been less if they are not able to upgraded the things in there motel. Thank you

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

There is a water park approximately 2 miles away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Orangeburg

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
State 2 State Shawty
Business
Georgia
Oct 23, 2012

Ok- Staff was nowhere to be found

When I went to check in, there was nobody in the lobby, however the attendant did give me an upgrade, so that was cool. The room was prepaid for, so when I checked out, there was nobody in the lobby again....I just left the keys on the counter. I waited about ten minutes for someone to come, so I ended up just leaving the keys on the counter and leaving.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

SOUL FOOD!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Orangeburg

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sister's Proud Clifin
Business
Houston Tx
May 9, 2011

High price place

We went to Orangeburg for my brother's college graduation. The safety box it wasn't working, I had to carry with me some gifts and jewels. A lot noise at night around the others rooms. No Spanish channels on TV (my father was too boring). The towels with some yellowing spots

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top