$55 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 27, 2014 Check-out: Jul 30, 2014

Howard Johnson Express Inn - Orangeburg

2 stars
3608 St Matthews Rd, Orangeburg, SC 29118
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.7
out of 5
48 reviews
Clean,Convenient Location,Accomodating Staff

I find this hotel clean, affordable and enough anemities to be quite comfortable. The staff are... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Sep 15, 2008
Clean,Convenient Location,Accomodating Staff

I find this hotel clean, affordable and enough anemities to be quite comfortable. The staff are... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Sep 15, 2008
Conveniently located off I-26, Exit 145A, 35 miles southeast of Columbia and 75 miles northwest of Charleston, SC. Were are approximately 20 miles from I-95. Orangeburg is home to South Carolina State University, Claflin University, O.C. Tech College, & Regional Medical Center. We are close to Downtown Orangeburg,near many popular restaurants and shopping. We offer 24 Hr Front Desk, Free Wireless High Speed Internet, Free Rise-N-Dine Continental Breakfast featuring hot make your own waffles, Small Seasonal Outdoor Pool, & Business Center. All rooms feature microwave, mini fridge, hairdryer, iron and board, coffee maker, cable tv-HBO, and in-room safe. Pets Allowed - $15.00 Per Pet Per Day

Hotel Map

33.5532 -80.8268
Area description
Business district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Express Inn - Orangeburg also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Guest laundromat
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Oliver C. Dawson Stadium: 478.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (48)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Express Inn - Orangeburg

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
48 out of 48
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3.8
Value:
2.9

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Orangeburg

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Charlotte, NC
Feb 28, 2011

A bit underwhelmed

At first hotel seemed fine, night clerk was very friendly...come midnight a VERY rowdy group showed up and carried on until 3AM. This could have been handled better - I have to say I was a little concerned for safety at one point. Next time, the hotel needs to call for backup. Next morning staff was apologetic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Orangeburg

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Trinidad
Jan 22, 2011

o.k. for price

it was mostly a business trip to check on my son who's in university. i like to exercise and missed the gym. i was not interested in the breakfast as it lacked the freshness i am used too. the staff was polite, helpful and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Fatz and Ruby Tuesday

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Orangeburg

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Trinidad
Jan 22, 2011

o.k. for price

it was mostly a business trip to check on my son who's in university. i like to exercise and missed the gym. i was not interested in the breakfast as it lacked the freshness i am used too. the staff was polite, helpful and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Fatz and Ruby Tuesday

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Orangeburg

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TSO Fan
Elizabethtown,NC
Nov 21, 2010

Good place

The staff was really nice. Excellent rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Orangeburg

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TSO Fan
Elizabethtown,NC
Nov 21, 2010

Good place

The staff was really nice. Excellent rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Orangeburg

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Jacksonville FL
Nov 14, 2010

HOWARD JOHNSON ORANGEBURG SC

good breakfast. I booked a king bed nonsmoking, they did not have one available when I got there, only 2 queen non smoking. Took too long to check in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Orangeburg

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Jacksonville FL
Nov 14, 2010

HOWARD JOHNSON ORANGEBURG SC

good breakfast. I booked a king bed nonsmoking, they did not have one available when I got there, only 2 queen non smoking. Took too long to check in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Orangeburg

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Melli-Mel
Clairton, PA
Jul 7, 2010

satisfactory

Satisfactory

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Orangeburg

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
graduation 2010
San Jose, Ca.
May 31, 2010

family gathering

This hotel was ok except on the weekends - it got loud from the hotel next door.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Orangeburg

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
graduation 2010
San Jose, Ca.
May 31, 2010

family gathering

This hotel was ok except on the weekends - it got loud from the hotel next door.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top