$55 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 6, 2014 Check-out: Nov 9, 2014

Howard Johnson Express Inn - Orangeburg

2 stars
3608 St Matthews Rd, Orangeburg, SC 29118
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.7
out of 5
32 reviews
perfect for an overnite stop

Was perfect for an overnight stop. Room was clean and everything was in working order. The only... See full review

  • Stop123
  • Sep 17, 2014
Clean,Convenient Location,Accomodating Staff

I find this hotel clean, affordable and enough anemities to be quite comfortable. The staff are... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Sep 15, 2008
Take the family to this Howard Johnson Inn Organgeburg conveniently located off Interstate 26. Smell roses at the Edisto Memorial Gardens, a former Civil War battle site, and if you visit during the spring you can experience the annual South Carolina Festival of Roses in the gardens. Try to hook a fish in Edisto River, and admire its naturally black water. South Carolina State University and Clafin University, as well as shopping and many local restaurants are nearby. Start your morning with a complimentary Rise and Dine continental breakfast, and complimentary wireless Internet access to plan your exciting day. Enjoy a swim in the outdoor pool, 24-hour front-desk service, complimentary parking, and business center with copy and fax services. Relax in your comfortable guest room with microwave and refrigerator. Suites, smoke-free and handicapped-accessible rooms are also available. Pets are welcome at this lodging.

Hotel Map

33.5532 -80.8268
Area description
Business district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Express Inn - Orangeburg also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Oliver C. Dawson Stadium: 478.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (32)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Express Inn - Orangeburg

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
32 out of 32
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
2.9
Location:
3.8
Value:
2.8

59% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Orangeburg

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Buffalo snowbird
Business
Buffalo, NY, USA
Dec 29, 2011

Great snowbird stop

After 13 grueling hours of our annual drive between Buffalo, NY, to Sarasota, FL, it was great to stop in Orangeburg. We always stay at this hotel. It is easily assessable to the highway and restaurants, and the rooms are clean, quiet, and sufficient. Can't beat it for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Orangeburg

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
LOS ANGELES, CA
Jul 24, 2011

FAMILY REUNION

THEY HAVE A SPIDER INFESTATION...NEED TO INVEST IN PEST CONTROL - NOT THE SPRAY CAN EITHER. HAD TO CHANGE ROOMS BECAUSE OF THIS SMALL PROBLEM, ONLY TO GO TO ANOTHER ROOM AND KILL 2 MORE SPIDERS. OTHERWISE U GET WHAT U PAY FOR. LIKED THE BREAKFAST. EXITING AND ENTERING DRIVEWAY LEGALLY WAS DIFFICULT/TASK

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

VARIETY

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Orangeburg

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Barbara Needed a pLace to stay
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Jun 7, 2011

OK but could be better

I was there for pleasure. Yes there is something missing that would have made my stay more enjoyable. First I was there over a weekend, the Pool was close. The have room safes that are not accessible. The people including the supervisor was pleasant. Maid service came in my room while I was a way, did not make the bed, did not replace the towels and left my curtain open so anyone could look in my room. When I return she called to say she saw that I was back, was there anything I needed. Why should I answer, she saw what was needed, and she did do it. The place appeared clean, but there were many things that needed maintenance or upgraded. The price was good but should have been less if they are not able to upgraded the things in there motel. Thank you

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

There is a water park approximately 2 miles away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Orangeburg

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sister's Proud Clifin
Business
Houston Tx
May 9, 2011

High price place

We went to Orangeburg for my brother's college graduation. The safety box it wasn't working, I had to carry with me some gifts and jewels. A lot noise at night around the others rooms. No Spanish channels on TV (my father was too boring). The towels with some yellowing spots

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Orangeburg

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Bern, NC
May 3, 2011

Great Location, Old Motel

Rooms needs to be remodeled,there was a hole in the wall. Our room was not cleaned during our weekend stay. The linen and rooms were clean. Great location for our games.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Orangeburg

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
columbia, sc
Apr 27, 2011

decent hotel

this hotel was close to restaurants and shopping centers. the bed was abit worn. i would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Orangeburg

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Neisha
Business
Washington, DC
Apr 16, 2011

Drive Past

I recently checked in to this hotel while I was in Orangeburg and to say that I was dissatisfied is a very polite understatement. In the first room, the bath tub, was half water filled with black grim and old soak dirt residue. I took a picture of the tub and took it to the front desk, were he immediately have me a second room. The second room to my disbelieve was even worst! I went back to the front desk and checked out. I so warn anyone and everyone reading this posting, to not stay at this deplorable, unsanitary, excuse for a hotel which falsely claim to have renovated in 2008. I guess those renovations only included the bedspread.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Orangeburg

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charlotte, NC
Feb 28, 2011

A bit underwhelmed

At first hotel seemed fine, night clerk was very friendly...come midnight a VERY rowdy group showed up and carried on until 3AM. This could have been handled better - I have to say I was a little concerned for safety at one point. Next time, the hotel needs to call for backup. Next morning staff was apologetic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Orangeburg

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Trinidad
Jan 22, 2011

o.k. for price

it was mostly a business trip to check on my son who's in university. i like to exercise and missed the gym. i was not interested in the breakfast as it lacked the freshness i am used too. the staff was polite, helpful and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Fatz and Ruby Tuesday

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Orangeburg

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TSO Fan
Business
Elizabethtown,NC
Nov 21, 2010

Good place

The staff was really nice. Excellent rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top