$47 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 16, 2015 Check-out: Jul 19, 2015

Howard Johnson Express Inn - Orangeburg

2 stars
View map of 3608 St Matthews Rd, Orangeburg, SC 29118

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Express Inn - Orangeburg

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
36 out of 36
Amenities:
2.8
Cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.5
Comfort:
2.9
Location:
3.8
Value:
2.9

58% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Orangeburg

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
celtic fan
Business
Florida
Jun 4, 2012

hotel stay

It wa ok,the room was clean, butthere was some kindof odor that detracted from our stay. Old analog TV I don't think I would stay there again. Continentalbreakfast was fine,nothing exciting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Orangeburg

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Buffalo snowbird
Business
Buffalo, NY, USA
Dec 29, 2011

Great snowbird stop

After 13 grueling hours of our annual drive between Buffalo, NY, to Sarasota, FL, it was great to stop in Orangeburg. We always stay at this hotel. It is easily assessable to the highway and restaurants, and the rooms are clean, quiet, and sufficient. Can't beat it for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Orangeburg

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
LOS ANGELES, CA
Jul 24, 2011

FAMILY REUNION

THEY HAVE A SPIDER INFESTATION...NEED TO INVEST IN PEST CONTROL - NOT THE SPRAY CAN EITHER. HAD TO CHANGE ROOMS BECAUSE OF THIS SMALL PROBLEM, ONLY TO GO TO ANOTHER ROOM AND KILL 2 MORE SPIDERS. OTHERWISE U GET WHAT U PAY FOR. LIKED THE BREAKFAST. EXITING AND ENTERING DRIVEWAY LEGALLY WAS DIFFICULT/TASK

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

VARIETY

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Orangeburg

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Barbara Needed a pLace to stay
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Jun 7, 2011

OK but could be better

I was there for pleasure. Yes there is something missing that would have made my stay more enjoyable. First I was there over a weekend, the Pool was close. The have room safes that are not accessible. The people including the supervisor was pleasant. Maid service came in my room while I was a way, did not make the bed, did not replace the towels and left my curtain open so anyone could look in my room. When I return she called to say she saw that I was back, was there anything I needed. Why should I answer, she saw what was needed, and she did do it. The place appeared clean, but there were many things that needed maintenance or upgraded. The price was good but should have been less if they are not able to upgraded the things in there motel. Thank you

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

There is a water park approximately 2 miles away.

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Orangeburg

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Barbara Needed a pLace to stay
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Jun 7, 2011

OK but could be better

I was there for pleasure. Yes there is something missing that would have made my stay more enjoyable. First I was there over a weekend, the Pool was close. The have room safes that are not accessible. The people including the supervisor was pleasant. Maid service came in my room while I was a way, did not make the bed, did not replace the towels and left my curtain open so anyone could look in my room. When I return she called to say she saw that I was back, was there anything I needed. Why should I answer, she saw what was needed, and she did do it. The place appeared clean, but there were many things that needed maintenance or upgraded. The price was good but should have been less if they are not able to upgraded the things in there motel. Thank you

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

There is a water park approximately 2 miles away.

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Orangeburg

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sister's Proud Clifin
Business
Houston Tx
May 9, 2011

High price place

We went to Orangeburg for my brother's college graduation. The safety box it wasn't working, I had to carry with me some gifts and jewels. A lot noise at night around the others rooms. No Spanish channels on TV (my father was too boring). The towels with some yellowing spots

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Orangeburg

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Bern, NC
May 3, 2011

Great Location, Old Motel

Rooms needs to be remodeled,there was a hole in the wall. Our room was not cleaned during our weekend stay. The linen and rooms were clean. Great location for our games.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Orangeburg

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
columbia, sc
Apr 27, 2011

decent hotel

this hotel was close to restaurants and shopping centers. the bed was abit worn. i would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Orangeburg

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Neisha
Business
Washington, DC
Apr 16, 2011

Drive Past

I recently checked in to this hotel while I was in Orangeburg and to say that I was dissatisfied is a very polite understatement. In the first room, the bath tub, was half water filled with black grim and old soak dirt residue. I took a picture of the tub and took it to the front desk, were he immediately have me a second room. The second room to my disbelieve was even worst! I went back to the front desk and checked out. I so warn anyone and everyone reading this posting, to not stay at this deplorable, unsanitary, excuse for a hotel which falsely claim to have renovated in 2008. I guess those renovations only included the bedspread.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Orangeburg

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charlotte, NC
Feb 28, 2011

A bit underwhelmed

At first hotel seemed fine, night clerk was very friendly...come midnight a VERY rowdy group showed up and carried on until 3AM. This could have been handled better - I have to say I was a little concerned for safety at one point. Next time, the hotel needs to call for backup. Next morning staff was apologetic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top