$55 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 27, 2014 Check-out: Jul 30, 2014

Howard Johnson Express Inn - Orangeburg

2 stars
3608 St Matthews Rd, Orangeburg, SC 29118
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.7
out of 5
48 reviews
Clean,Convenient Location,Accomodating Staff

I find this hotel clean, affordable and enough anemities to be quite comfortable. The staff are... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Sep 15, 2008
Clean,Convenient Location,Accomodating Staff

I find this hotel clean, affordable and enough anemities to be quite comfortable. The staff are... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Sep 15, 2008
Conveniently located off I-26, Exit 145A, 35 miles southeast of Columbia and 75 miles northwest of Charleston, SC. Were are approximately 20 miles from I-95. Orangeburg is home to South Carolina State University, Claflin University, O.C. Tech College, & Regional Medical Center. We are close to Downtown Orangeburg,near many popular restaurants and shopping. We offer 24 Hr Front Desk, Free Wireless High Speed Internet, Free Rise-N-Dine Continental Breakfast featuring hot make your own waffles, Small Seasonal Outdoor Pool, & Business Center. All rooms feature microwave, mini fridge, hairdryer, iron and board, coffee maker, cable tv-HBO, and in-room safe. Pets Allowed - $15.00 Per Pet Per Day

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Guest laundromat
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Express Inn - Orangeburg also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

33.5532 -80.8268
Area description
Business district

Nearby points of interest

  • Oliver C. Dawson Stadium: 478.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (48)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Express Inn - Orangeburg

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
48 out of 48
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3.8
Value:
2.9

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Orangeburg

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TSO Fan
Elizabethtown,NC
Nov 21, 2010

Good place

The staff was really nice. Excellent rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Orangeburg

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jenna and Curtis
Cuyahoga Falls
Jul 10, 2014

It worked

Had a long drive back to ohio from Florida and needed to stop somewhere in between. Definitely was priced well and Lisa at the front desk was very nice. The room itself left more to be desired but for a one night stay it worked. And I did enjoy my waffle in the am before we started our journey back home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Fatz was really good. Very short drive away. Could walk but it is across the street and may be a little dangerous to cross on foot.

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Orangeburg

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
salleyboy
atlanta,ga
Apr 21, 2014

my stay 4/18/2014 to 4/20/2014

Not bad for the price and a great location for dinning area...breakfest at hotel could be a little better and wall in the room and doors could use a little cleaning,but over all had a good two day stay..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Fatz caffee

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Orangeburg

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Student1
Orangeburg, SC
Apr 16, 2013

Good stay for location in Orangeburg

Good stay for where I needed to go while in Orangeburg. Breakfast was provided and there was a variety of options, healthy fruit and clean environment. The parking at the hotel was monitored and watched. There was someone at the desk 24/7.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Orangeburg

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
State 2 State Shawty
Georgia
Oct 23, 2012

Ok- Staff was nowhere to be found

When I went to check in, there was nobody in the lobby, however the attendant did give me an upgrade, so that was cool. The room was prepaid for, so when I checked out, there was nobody in the lobby again....I just left the keys on the counter. I waited about ten minutes for someone to come, so I ended up just leaving the keys on the counter and leaving.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

SOUL FOOD!

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Orangeburg

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Patti W
Prospect, KY
Oct 8, 2012

Picked this place because of 3 star rating which is WAS NOT!

It was a smoking room, which I did not notice when I purchased it. I HATE smoking rooms.....why they even allow them anymore is questionable. The bedding was old and not at all plush, which you would expect with a 3 star rating. The blankets had holes in them from cigarette burns. The pillow were old foam, flat pillow. The bedspread was a dated polyester spread....thin and nasty. The bathroom had been updated but still not worthy of a 3 star. With all that, I did sleep well, but felt like I woke up smelling like smoke.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Orangeburg

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LKNDawg
Sherrills Ford, NC
Oct 8, 2012

Convenient at very reasonable price

Neat and clean room, courteous staff, conveniently located just off of I-26 south.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Orangeburg

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dawn the Travel Chick
Indianapolis, IN
Sep 10, 2012

Run for the Hills!

I cannot stress enough that if you have other options, stay at the other option. When I checked in, the staff was friendly, and the room appeared to be clean. However, the giant roach and 2 inch gap between the door frame and the floor was concerning. After switching rooms, I noticed a gap between the door frame and the wall, but the most concerning thing was the bug crawling on my pillow when I pulled back the spread! Needless to say, we did not stay there. We had to pay twice as much to stay at another hotel and we will not be back at the Howard Johnson's in Orangeburg!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Seafood Academy across the street from the hotel was pretty tasty and reasonably priced.

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Orangeburg

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
celtic fan
Florida
Jun 4, 2012

hotel stay

It wa ok,the room was clean, butthere was some kindof odor that detracted from our stay. Old analog TV I don't think I would stay there again. Continentalbreakfast was fine,nothing exciting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Orangeburg

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Buffalo snowbird
Buffalo, NY, USA
Dec 29, 2011

Great snowbird stop

After 13 grueling hours of our annual drive between Buffalo, NY, to Sarasota, FL, it was great to stop in Orangeburg. We always stay at this hotel. It is easily assessable to the highway and restaurants, and the rooms are clean, quiet, and sufficient. Can't beat it for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Orangeburg

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
LOS ANGELES, CA
Jul 24, 2011

FAMILY REUNION

THEY HAVE A SPIDER INFESTATION...NEED TO INVEST IN PEST CONTROL - NOT THE SPRAY CAN EITHER. HAD TO CHANGE ROOMS BECAUSE OF THIS SMALL PROBLEM, ONLY TO GO TO ANOTHER ROOM AND KILL 2 MORE SPIDERS. OTHERWISE U GET WHAT U PAY FOR. LIKED THE BREAKFAST. EXITING AND ENTERING DRIVEWAY LEGALLY WAS DIFFICULT/TASK

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

VARIETY

Back to menu Return to top