$51 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 5, 2015 Check-out: Jan 8, 2015

Howard Johnson Express Inn - Orangeburg

2 stars
3608 St Matthews Rd, Orangeburg, SC 29118
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.7
out of 5
32 reviews
perfect for an overnite stop

Was perfect for an overnight stop. Room was clean and everything was in working order. The only... See full review

  • Stop123
  • Sep 17, 2014
Clean,Convenient Location,Accomodating Staff

I find this hotel clean, affordable and enough anemities to be quite comfortable. The staff are... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Sep 15, 2008
Take the family to this Howard Johnson Inn Organgeburg conveniently located off Interstate 26. Smell roses at the Edisto Memorial Gardens, a former Civil War battle site, and if you visit during the spring you can experience the annual South Carolina Festival of Roses in the gardens. Try to hook a fish in Edisto River, and admire its naturally black water. South Carolina State University and Clafin University, as well as shopping and many local restaurants are nearby. Start your morning with a complimentary Rise and Dine continental breakfast, and complimentary wireless Internet access to plan your exciting day. Enjoy a swim in the outdoor pool, 24-hour front-desk service, complimentary parking, and business center with copy and fax services. Relax in your comfortable guest room with microwave and refrigerator. Suites, smoke-free and handicapped-accessible rooms are also available. Pets are welcome at this lodging.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Express Inn - Orangeburg also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Oliver C. Dawson Stadium: 478.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (32)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Express Inn - Orangeburg

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
32 out of 32
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
2.9
Location:
3.8
Value:
2.8

59% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Orangeburg

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Stop123
Business
Cleveland, Ohio
Sep 17, 2014

perfect for an overnite stop

Was perfect for an overnight stop. Room was clean and everything was in working order. The only thing that was below average was the out dated t.v. Hard to see.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Orangeburg

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Chellebelle
Business
Charlotte, North Carolina
Aug 9, 2014

bed bugs!

This location has bed Bugs! I left in the middle of the night after being told that, after checking in at 11:30pm and being woke up by bugs at 1:30 am, I was not entitled to a refund! This staff was hateful, and the room was not that clean, the bathroom light would not even come on completely! I will never stay here or refer friends here in the future

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Orangeburg

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jenna and Curtis
Business
Cuyahoga Falls
Jul 10, 2014

It worked

Had a long drive back to ohio from Florida and needed to stop somewhere in between. Definitely was priced well and Lisa at the front desk was very nice. The room itself left more to be desired but for a one night stay it worked. And I did enjoy my waffle in the am before we started our journey back home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Fatz was really good. Very short drive away. Could walk but it is across the street and may be a little dangerous to cross on foot.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Orangeburg

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
salleyboy
Business
atlanta,ga
Apr 21, 2014

my stay 4/18/2014 to 4/20/2014

Not bad for the price and a great location for dinning area...breakfest at hotel could be a little better and wall in the room and doors could use a little cleaning,but over all had a good two day stay..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Fatz caffee

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Orangeburg

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Student1
Business
Orangeburg, SC
Apr 16, 2013

Good stay for location in Orangeburg

Good stay for where I needed to go while in Orangeburg. Breakfast was provided and there was a variety of options, healthy fruit and clean environment. The parking at the hotel was monitored and watched. There was someone at the desk 24/7.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Orangeburg

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
State 2 State Shawty
Business
Georgia
Oct 23, 2012

Ok- Staff was nowhere to be found

When I went to check in, there was nobody in the lobby, however the attendant did give me an upgrade, so that was cool. The room was prepaid for, so when I checked out, there was nobody in the lobby again....I just left the keys on the counter. I waited about ten minutes for someone to come, so I ended up just leaving the keys on the counter and leaving.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

SOUL FOOD!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Orangeburg

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Patti W
Business
Prospect, KY
Oct 8, 2012

Picked this place because of 3 star rating which is WAS NOT!

It was a smoking room, which I did not notice when I purchased it. I HATE smoking rooms.....why they even allow them anymore is questionable. The bedding was old and not at all plush, which you would expect with a 3 star rating. The blankets had holes in them from cigarette burns. The pillow were old foam, flat pillow. The bedspread was a dated polyester spread....thin and nasty. The bathroom had been updated but still not worthy of a 3 star. With all that, I did sleep well, but felt like I woke up smelling like smoke.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Orangeburg

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LKNDawg
Business
Sherrills Ford, NC
Oct 8, 2012

Convenient at very reasonable price

Neat and clean room, courteous staff, conveniently located just off of I-26 south.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Orangeburg

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dawn the Travel Chick
Business
Indianapolis, IN
Sep 10, 2012

Run for the Hills!

I cannot stress enough that if you have other options, stay at the other option. When I checked in, the staff was friendly, and the room appeared to be clean. However, the giant roach and 2 inch gap between the door frame and the floor was concerning. After switching rooms, I noticed a gap between the door frame and the wall, but the most concerning thing was the bug crawling on my pillow when I pulled back the spread! Needless to say, we did not stay there. We had to pay twice as much to stay at another hotel and we will not be back at the Howard Johnson's in Orangeburg!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Seafood Academy across the street from the hotel was pretty tasty and reasonably priced.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Orangeburg

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
celtic fan
Business
Florida
Jun 4, 2012

hotel stay

It wa ok,the room was clean, butthere was some kindof odor that detracted from our stay. Old analog TV I don't think I would stay there again. Continentalbreakfast was fine,nothing exciting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top