$75 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

SpringHill Suites by Marriott Charleston North

3 stars
View map of 7535 North Forest Drive, 7535 North Forest Drive, North Charleston, SC 29420

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
161 reviews
Family trip

Everything was good. Met our expectations and we will gladly come back! See full review

  • Hanna L.
  • Apr 14, 2015
Wonderful hotel

The hotel was great value and wonderful staff. The rooms were very comfortable and clean. I... See full review

  • Arizonza girl
  • Apr 6, 2015
Charleston airport hotel with free Internet and continental breakfast
Completed in June 2009, the SpringHill Suites by Marriott Charleston North hotel offers 115 spacious suites and a free continental breakfast buffet. Free wired and wireless high-speed Internet service is available in all guest rooms, public areas and meeting rooms. The four floors are accessible via elevator. The SpringHill Suites by Marriott Charleston North hotel is convenient to the airport and train station and Interstate 26.
Highlights
  • All-suite hotel
  • 42-inch HDTVs in all suites
  • Free continental breakfast buffet
  • Free Internet access
Rooms
The suites at the SpringHill Suites by Marriott Charleston North hotel offer separate sleeping and sitting areas, sleeper sofas, 42-inch HDTVs, iPod docks, large well-lit desks and free wired and wireless Internet service. The pantry area in each suite includes a microwave, sink and small refrigerator. Some rooms are available with accessible features. Larger suites have two TVs.
Features
The SpringHill Suites by Marriott Charleston North hotel has an indoor pool with free towels. The fitness center features treadmills, bicycles and free weights. The hotel has an Internet kiosk in the lobby and guest laundry facilities. Parking is free.
Dining
Guests of the SpringHill Suites by Marriott Charleston North hotel enjoy a free continental breakfast buffet. There is no restaurant on site, but Ruby Tuesday and Cracker Barrel restaurants are within half a mile. Olive Garden, Carrabba's Italian Grill and Outback Steakhouse are fewer than two miles away.

Transportation
  • Charleston International Airport (8.1mi/13km)
  • Amtrak station (7.1mi/11.4km)
  • Just off Interstate 26
Attractions
  • North Charleston and American LaFrance Fire Museum (6.6 mi/10.6 km)
  • North Charleston Convention Center, Performing Arts Center and Coliseum (6.7 mi/10.8 km)
  • Charleston Museum (13.4 mi/21.6 km)
  • Children's Museum (13.5 mi/21.7 km)
  • Charleston Visitor Center (13.6 mi/21.9 km)
  • Gibbes Museum of Art (14.3 mi/23 km)
  • Fort Sumter and dinner cruises (14.4 mi/23.2 km)
  • South Carolina Aquarium (14.4 mi/23.2 km)
  • Patriots Point Naval Museum/USS Yorktown, (16.4 mi/26.4 km)
  • Magnolia Plantation & Gardens (16.9 mi/27.2 km)

Business
One meeting room with 836 square feet of total meeting space that accommodates 35 to 75 people
Policies and fees
No pets allowed. Smoke-free facility.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed SpringHill Suites by Marriott Charleston North also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Tennis
Water skiing
Horseback riding
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Laundry/Valet services
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Outlet adapters
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub
Wet bar

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for SpringHill Suites by Marriott Charleston North

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
161 out of 161
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4
Value:
4.2

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of SpringHill Suites by Marriott Charleston North

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Denise Kennedy
Business
Columbia, SC
Aug 13, 2012

Very disappointed...

I am a frequent user of Marriott Hotels so booking with SpringHill Suites by Marriott Charleston North to attend the PGA this past weekend was a no brainer. It was to my disappointment to find roaches in our room when we paid close to $200 for a one night stay, TOTALLY UNEXCEPTABLE and not of the Marriott Hotels standard that I'm used to. When we filed a complaint with the front desk/manager, they were only willing to offer reward points and an apology. Its ashame that this hotel owner is falsly representing Marriott Hotels to get business considering Marriott is "the most powerful brand portfolio in the world... that sets the bar for the hospitality industry." SpringHill Suites by Marriott Charleston North DID NOT represent the Marriott core values: "put people first, pursue excellence, embrace change, act with integrity and serve our world." We will never stay at this hotel again and we would not recommend it to anyone else. :(

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of SpringHill Suites by Marriott Charleston North

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
We all cried
Business
Charleston, sc
Sep 1, 2012

15 year old son broke down crying

I purchased non refundable hotel reservations and paid up front. We missed our connecting flight and were going to be delayed so I called the hotel and spoke to Jeffrey 1 hour prior to the original time we were to check in. I told him this and to please make sure he noted this on our reservation and not give our room away (especially since we already paid for it). He said don't worry, your room will be ready when you get here. Well...it isn't! He didn't communicate this to the other lady who was working and they put us as a no show and gave our room away. Me, my husband and 4 children have been sitting in lobby for going on 2 hours. They say they need to wait for a manager to come in and see about trying to get us a room at Residence Inn...oh, and she said they will pay for it...I HAVE ALREADY PAID FOR IT! They are acting bothered that I am feeling frustrated. I was trying to salvage what was left of our "vacation" and now we are stuck in lobby while they wait to get Bavk to us. Now my eldest son too has met his breaking point and is crying. This was one disaster after another.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of SpringHill Suites by Marriott Charleston North

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
We all cried
Business
Charleston, sc
Sep 4, 2012

Sad family

I called hotel prior to our scheduled arrival to let hotel know we would be late getting in since we missed our connecting flight. I was "assured" by the hotel rep that our room would be waiting for us... When we arrived at hotel, lady said she was a "newby" and had to wait for another lady to come back to hotel to look up our reservation... Our family of six waited and waited in hotel lobby. Finally, the employee who was needed arrived. They then tell us that the hotel rep who assured me our room would be safe and waiting didn't communicate this to the other staff and another staff member put it as a no show and gave our room away. They did not appologize but rather kept placing blame on the staff member for the hotel whom I spoke with... They said they had no rooms available and were trying to contact a manager to see if they could get us a room at another hotel...at their expense, which they presented as them doing me a favor... I had already PREPAID for this NONREFUNDABLE reservation that THEY LOST after I had done my part by letting them know of our delayed arrival. We had paid for room whether or not anyone was in it. After 2 hours of sitting in lobby and being told they were still waiting for the manager, my eldest son (15) who had been trying to be optimistic, finally broke down crying. Only then did the hotel clerk miraculously discover that they do have a room for us. The two women clerks then acted put off that we were upset, and that my son was crying. This was just another, final straw in a number of problems that occurred on our trip. I had told the male clerk for the hotel this when I called in advance (and was prior to our original scheduled arrival) to let him know how important it was that our room be waiting for us. Again, he assured us it would. The staff at the desk distanced themselves from all responsibility and continued to blame their co worker whom I spoke to on phone. They were not a team and did not seem to care and acted more bothered. I even heard their "little comments" made about my son who broke down in tears and those directed at me.. We didn't get our room until about 9pm and had to go to dinner with a sad family at 9 pm. If you want to be assured of a Relaxing stay and have staff that extends true hospitality, do not stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of SpringHill Suites by Marriott Charleston North

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ElizabethM
Business
San Leandro, California
Jun 24, 2013

Extremely poor management attitude

Arrived at 9 PM (confirmed late arrival); was not told that the room was for disabled users. Too late to go through the hassle of changing rooms. Next morning, youngest granddaughter slipped & fell on wet bathroom floor (shower water floods across the room, no barrier). Had tight schedule for wedding, no time to complain until last day. Very rude & arrogant manager said it was our fault that we didn't accept a smaller room even though the disabled room didn't match the one chosen from the website, that a disabled room is an "upgrade", that the notice they got from you was for 5 adults, no children, even though the confirmation I got from you showed ages 5, 9 & 17. I intend to use web sites to publicize the poor quality of this hotel's management as well as complain directly to their corporate office. I strongly suggest that you DROP this hotel from your list. After going through this experience, I looked up reviews - too little, too late - and found an amazing number of very negative reviews about this hotel; why do you continue to recommend them? It definitely makes me question the quality of your service!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of SpringHill Suites by Marriott Charleston North

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Family's Travel Planner
Business
NYC
Jun 7, 2014

absolutely horrible

Paid for 2 nights to secure room during a special Graduation event. Loud alarms going off at 1145 pm. Yet no way to inform staff of emergency on the floor because because the phone had no dial tone. Despite the credit card at check in and no water to shower morning of check out. Never again! management very rude and arrogant. Refused full refund. STAY AWAY!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of SpringHill Suites by Marriott Charleston North

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dad's 90th Birthday
Business
West Columbia, SC
Feb 18, 2010

SCREWED out of $400

I was prepared to tell you that I had agreat experience until I looked at my checking account tonite. I was all paid in full with you, had proof of my paymnet thru and had trouble at check in about that- hotel wanted me to pay again, should have known there was going to be trouble. Checked out on the 15th- Looked at my checking account and the hotel charged me for 1 night for the 14th as if I had checked out on the 14th and caused almost $400 in bounced check fees. Called hotel tonight and they said I will have to s/w gen manager-SO NO GOOD REVIEWS HERE!!!!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

If you prepay thru any travel service make sure you keep your copy (have at check in)and triple check your charges before you leave at check out. We had a good time there until tonight - Name brand eating places short drive away- tourist sites in and around Charleston easy access via interstates and side roads- maps very helpful from hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of SpringHill Suites by Marriott Charleston North

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Family's Travel Planner
Business
NYC
Nov 17, 2014

CHECK THE SHOWER

Never knew running water wasn't to be expected when booking a room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of SpringHill Suites by Marriott Charleston North

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Taylor from Georgia
Business
Georgia
Nov 24, 2014

Not Again!

Hotel staff was rude and lazy. People next to us were extremely loud until past midnight. Asked for towels to be brought up to our room since we chose not to have room cleaned, but was told to come get them. Definitely will not be staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of SpringHill Suites by Marriott Charleston North

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sunseeker01
Business
Minnesota
Apr 9, 2012

Basic Accomodations

The location is convenient to downtown and the airport with mall shopping near by. The hotel was very busy during my recent stay. This meant that the "free" breakfeast area was filled beyond capacity, as was the indoor pool area, apparently challenging the ability of the staff to keep up with cleaning. My stay was also marred by a fire alarm as 2:00 a.m. that left my family standing outside for 1/2 an hour in the middle of the night. It would have been nice for at least someone on the staff to have acknowledged the inconvenience. As a frequent travel customer, this stay was a disappointment, but also served as a reminder that you get what you pay for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of SpringHill Suites by Marriott Charleston North

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lightning Zero Six
Business
Atlanta, GA
Mar 28, 2014

Perfect Hotel for travel and business

Clean, modern hotel. Very well maintained. 5 yers old but in "as new" condition. Quiet setting, yet very near I-26.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top