$85 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 26, 2015 Check-out: Jul 28, 2015

SpringHill Suites by Marriott Charleston North

3 stars
View map of 7535 North Forest Drive, 7535 North Forest Drive, North Charleston, SC 29420

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for SpringHill Suites by Marriott Charleston North

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
168 out of 168
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4
Value:
4.2

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of SpringHill Suites by Marriott Charleston North

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jason coooooooo 88
Business
charleston,sc
Oct 11, 2012

the hotel exprience

very pleased and i reallly enjoyed my stay here and i would like to stay here again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of SpringHill Suites by Marriott Charleston North

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
We all cried
Business
Charleston, sc
Sep 4, 2012

Sad family

I called hotel prior to our scheduled arrival to let hotel know we would be late getting in since we missed our connecting flight. I was "assured" by the hotel rep that our room would be waiting for us... When we arrived at hotel, lady said she was a "newby" and had to wait for another lady to come back to hotel to look up our reservation... Our family of six waited and waited in hotel lobby. Finally, the employee who was needed arrived. They then tell us that the hotel rep who assured me our room would be safe and waiting didn't communicate this to the other staff and another staff member put it as a no show and gave our room away. They did not appologize but rather kept placing blame on the staff member for the hotel whom I spoke with... They said they had no rooms available and were trying to contact a manager to see if they could get us a room at another hotel...at their expense, which they presented as them doing me a favor... I had already PREPAID for this NONREFUNDABLE reservation that THEY LOST after I had done my part by letting them know of our delayed arrival. We had paid for room whether or not anyone was in it. After 2 hours of sitting in lobby and being told they were still waiting for the manager, my eldest son (15) who had been trying to be optimistic, finally broke down crying. Only then did the hotel clerk miraculously discover that they do have a room for us. The two women clerks then acted put off that we were upset, and that my son was crying. This was just another, final straw in a number of problems that occurred on our trip. I had told the male clerk for the hotel this when I called in advance (and was prior to our original scheduled arrival) to let him know how important it was that our room be waiting for us. Again, he assured us it would. The staff at the desk distanced themselves from all responsibility and continued to blame their co worker whom I spoke to on phone. They were not a team and did not seem to care and acted more bothered. I even heard their "little comments" made about my son who broke down in tears and those directed at me.. We didn't get our room until about 9pm and had to go to dinner with a sad family at 9 pm. If you want to be assured of a Relaxing stay and have staff that extends true hospitality, do not stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of SpringHill Suites by Marriott Charleston North

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tonitee
Business
Atlanta, GA
Sep 1, 2012

Family getaway

Stayed at the hotel prior to leaving on a Carnival Cruise. The staff was friendly and efficient. The room was clean and comfortable. I would definitely recommend and stay here again should my travels take me to Charleston in the future. Breakfast was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Hymans seafood restaurant

Review of SpringHill Suites by Marriott Charleston North

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
We all cried
Business
Charleston, sc
Sep 1, 2012

15 year old son broke down crying

I purchased non refundable hotel reservations and paid up front. We missed our connecting flight and were going to be delayed so I called the hotel and spoke to Jeffrey 1 hour prior to the original time we were to check in. I told him this and to please make sure he noted this on our reservation and not give our room away (especially since we already paid for it). He said don't worry, your room will be ready when you get here. Well...it isn't! He didn't communicate this to the other lady who was working and they put us as a no show and gave our room away. Me, my husband and 4 children have been sitting in lobby for going on 2 hours. They say they need to wait for a manager to come in and see about trying to get us a room at Residence Inn...oh, and she said they will pay for it...I HAVE ALREADY PAID FOR IT! They are acting bothered that I am feeling frustrated. I was trying to salvage what was left of our "vacation" and now we are stuck in lobby while they wait to get Bavk to us. Now my eldest son too has met his breaking point and is crying. This was one disaster after another.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of SpringHill Suites by Marriott Charleston North

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Orchid
Business
New York, NY, USA
Aug 22, 2012

Excellent couple weekend!!!!

Nice and clean hotel. Beautiful decoration and breakfast. Close to Historical Charleston.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Tanger Outlet

Review of SpringHill Suites by Marriott Charleston North

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Douglas W.
Business
Upstate South Carolina, USA
Aug 22, 2012

Weekend getaway

Great place to stay. The staff was friendly, the room was very veryand very clean. Location was convenient to shopping, dining and downtown. Will definately stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of SpringHill Suites by Marriott Charleston North

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Virgin Island Traveler
Business
US Virgin Islands
Aug 21, 2012

Excellent Excellent!

Room was immaculate, bed was beyond comfortable, staff was excellent!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Hop skip & a jump to the airport!

Review of SpringHill Suites by Marriott Charleston North

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Woundedtiger
Business
Wilson, NC
Aug 19, 2012

Graduation ceremony for Daughter in law

My wife and I had a very comfortable experience with your hotel. She is employed with the Hilton Hotels Company right now, but, if it ever changes we will definitely be staying at Marriot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Seafood at Freelanding

Review of SpringHill Suites by Marriott Charleston North

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NJ seniors
Business
Bergen County, NJ
Aug 15, 2012

little difficult to find but worth it

The location was great because although it was close to a main highway, it was behind other hotels so we didn't have traffic noise. However, because it was behind other hotels it was difficult to find - even using our GPS - we had to stop at one of other hotels and ask. Once there, we were happy with location and facilities. Room was comfortable and continential breakfast was more than adequate - hot as well as cold items. Staff was polite and helpful - would recommend this hotel to friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Close to major highways - going to Charleston to sightsee or the ocean to enjoy the beach.

Review of SpringHill Suites by Marriott Charleston North

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Denise Kennedy
Business
Columbia, SC
Aug 13, 2012

Very disappointed...

I am a frequent user of Marriott Hotels so booking with SpringHill Suites by Marriott Charleston North to attend the PGA this past weekend was a no brainer. It was to my disappointment to find roaches in our room when we paid close to $200 for a one night stay, TOTALLY UNEXCEPTABLE and not of the Marriott Hotels standard that I'm used to. When we filed a complaint with the front desk/manager, they were only willing to offer reward points and an apology. Its ashame that this hotel owner is falsly representing Marriott Hotels to get business considering Marriott is "the most powerful brand portfolio in the world... that sets the bar for the hospitality industry." SpringHill Suites by Marriott Charleston North DID NOT represent the Marriott core values: "put people first, pursue excellence, embrace change, act with integrity and serve our world." We will never stay at this hotel again and we would not recommend it to anyone else. :(

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top