$69 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 18, 2014 Check-out: Sep 19, 2014

North Charleston Inn

2 stars
2934 West Montague Avenue, North Charleston, SC 29418
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.7
out of 5
98 reviews
Wonderful staff, comfortable room!

Friendly staff, great amenities! Great continental breakfast, clean room. Good location. Quick... See full review

  • Akg8814
  • Mar 10, 2014
Worth it

Definately worth the cost of stay. Great staff and comfortable. See full review

  • Lg0312
  • Feb 19, 2014
Lots of free services in the center of North Charleston activities
The North Charleston Inn provides comfort and convenience at affordable prices in the heart of all North Charleston's activities -- the convention center, coliseum, performing arts center, malls and airport. Several restaurants can be found nearby.
Highlights
  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free wireless Internet service
  • Swimming pool

 

Rooms
The North Charleston Inn has 80 smoking and non-smoking rooms arranged with both the business and leisure traveler in mind. Some rooms have upgraded amenities and a view of the pool and landscaped courtyard. Guests request adjoining rooms, as well as microwaves and refrigerators.

Features
Guests at the North Charleston Inn enjoy a free continental breakfast daily and 24-hour complimentary coffee bar. This hotel has a large outdoor pool and sun deck. The North Charleston Inn provides free parking and free wireless Internet service. The 27-inch TVs have pay-per-view movies. The inn also has a covered motor lobby.

Dining
Guests can savor seafood specialties at Red Lobster next door and grab snacks at 24-hour Waffle House is across the street. Bojangles Chicken and Biscuits is a short walk away, and there are many other restaurants in all price ranges within a short drive.

Transportation
  • Charleston International Airport (2.9 mi/4.7 km)
  • Amtrak station (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Just off Interstate 26

 

Attractions
  • Charleston Area Convention Center/Performing Arts Center/Coliseum (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • North Charleston and American LaFrance Fire Museum (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Charleston Visitor Center (8.1 mi/13 km)
  • Fort Sumter and Dinner Cruises (8.9 mi/14.3 km)
  • South Carolina Aquarium (8.9 mi/14.3 km)
  • Patriots Point Naval Museum/USS Yorktown (10.7 mi/17.2 km)
  • Magnolia Plantation & Gardens (11.4 mi/18.3 km)
  • Boone Hall Plantation (14.6 mi/23.5 km)

Business
  • 3,000-square-foot meeting and banquet space

Policies and fees
Pets allowed (fees apply). Smoking permitted in some rooms.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

32.87 -80.0136
Area served
North Charleston, SC
Nearby airports
Charleston International Airport (CHS)
Area description
The North Charleston Coliseum and Convention Center Complex are two blocks from this two-story, airport-area hotel.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed North Charleston Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5

North Charleston Inn Rooms

Standard
Standard features: one king or two double beds, balcony, traditional decor, desk, cable TV , High Speed Internet access, voicemail.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The North Charleston Inn plays the consummate host for meetings, weddings, group vacations, parties and special events. Create an enjoyable and lasting impression by hosting your next meeting or event at our hotel, centrally located to everything in Charleston. We are just minutes from Charleston's finest restaurants, boutiques, world-class golf, South Carolina's beautiful beaches and historic plantations. All of the hotel's 3000 square feet of meeting space is equipped with high speed internet access, and our staff is here to provide you with everything you need to make sure your event is a success. Even if you are simply attending an event at the Convention Center, stay with us, relax, and walk to your meetings instead of dealing with traffic.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (98)

Ratings and reviews for North Charleston Inn

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
98 out of 98
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
2.8
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
2.9
Location:
3.3
Value:
3.2

50% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of North Charleston Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
cecidaro
greenville, sc
Jul 14, 2014

weekend getaway w family

It was fair for the price. The room was clean ,the pool was nice. Everyone was friendly and the area is good too, you have shopping stores close as restaurants. We would stay there againg. The only thing for us was that is far away from the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of North Charleston Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Tony Atl
Atlanta, Georgia
Jul 9, 2014

I'd rather sleep in my car

I find it funny that when I booked this reservation two months ago, the hotel had almost 3 stars. After staying there and preparing this review, however, it has fallen to two. I'm surprised there are any positive reviews on this hotel because it is simply awful. First of all, do not be deceived by the "not bad" nature of the picture. Just driving up to this hotel makes your heart sink. You drive past modern, nice looking hotels only to come to this run-down dump. From there, the problems continue immediately when you walk in the room. There are three outlets in the entire room: one of which is inaccessible behind a dresser, another which is next to the sink, and the final which is clearly an afterthought as the wiring comes into the room through the window. This is not a first world issue where I expect to be able to plug in fourteen devices; rather, this an issue with everything in modern day life requiring electricity. The only outlet that is even remotely near the bed is filled with two lamps, immediately rendering the alarm clock completely useless and eliminating any hope of charging something near you. However, you can't unplug the lights from this outlet because they are the only ones besides the bathroom light. Naturally, you could try to open the curtain to let sunlight in, but the hotel only provides a thick curtain rather than a thinner one that will let some light through while keeping you hidden from the outside. What this means is you either have to deal with near complete darkness from the useless lamps or be on display for the numerous loiterers outside the rooms. One of the things that brought me to this hotel, besides the seemingly positive reviews, was the fact that they provided a fridge and microwave so that I would not have to rely completely on outside food. However, I never thought that the items they provide would be completely useless because there is no power. When I went into my room the TV and lamp were plugged in, and everything else had their cords just sitting on the ground. In order to make the refrigerator useful I had to plug it in, so essentially I now have one useful outlet. I would have been okay with having to switch outlets every time I want to switch appliances if I didn't have to climb onto a gigantic dresser that has never been moved and reach down into a crevice that has never been cleaned. This is an incredible pain and is pretty much unacceptable. On top of the fact that you couldn't plug anything in, you also can't even use the items once you plug them in. I had the refrigerator plugged in and tried to use the microwave. This blew the circuit for my room and I had to go to the front desk and wait almost a half hour before they could find someone to get it working again. What exactly is the point of telling me they have all these amenities when absolutely NONE of them are usable? It is absolutely ridiculous and I am seriously considering requesting a refund for having to stay at this dump. Another item of note: I stayed for three nights. Generally, when you stay for three nights, you would expect to have access to your room for those three nights and the four days around them, right? Not at this hotel. They deactivated my room key four separate times, and each time it took them almost ten minutes to give me access again. I simply do not understand how they can continue to lure people to this dump when they have a completely awful facility.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Everything to do around Charleston (besides the outlet mall right next to this hotel) is at least 15 minutes away by car. Pay the extra money per night and get a better hotel that is not in North Charleston.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of North Charleston Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MarkKru
Dallad
Jul 9, 2014

Expected Much More

Room had roaches. Hadn't cleaned underneath beds in who knows how long. Fire detector was broken. Only 1 electrical outlet worked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Tanger Outlet Mall - awesome!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of North Charleston Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Cautious Parent
Tulsa, OK
Jun 16, 2014

North Charleston Inn

Crime harbor. I originally booked this with intentions of staying there with my 10 year-old son but there is no way I would stay there alone. This motel is highly overrated on the web site.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of North Charleston Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Matt the Engineer
Charlotte, NC
May 27, 2014

Convenient but lacks comfort

It was conveniently located and the staff friendly; however, the heating and cooling unit was loud and sometimes blew up the window curtain instead of conditioning the room. Also, the door jam let in a lot of noise. The noise from the HVAC unit and outdoor walkway was sleep depriving. The pool was nice and the outdoor appearance was appealing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of North Charleston Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Travel Junkie1992
Nashville, TN
May 12, 2014

Great Staff, Not So Great Room

The staff were super friendly and helpful. We were leaving for a cruise and they allowed us to park our car there for free as opposed to paying to park at the port for the duration of our trip. The rooms themselves were average except for the bugs that were in the bathroom. I was not pleased at all with this.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of North Charleston Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Henry711
Ontario Canada
Apr 24, 2014

Very disappointed. Not a clean motel

Nice entrance to the hotel Fancy up to date lobby Internet did not work Bathtub was clogged Room and bathroom lacked cleanliness Even though we are coming back to North Charleston we will not be returning to this Inn Very disappointed

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of North Charleston Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Blond24
Charleston SC
Apr 24, 2014

Trip across country

Was clean and bed was comfy, it is at the end of a runway so the jets are loud,and is right by the freeway and a railroad track, they have a few exstened stay guests that get off work and cook outside their room,we noticed there were empty rooms in the back but they choose to put us right by all the regulars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Charleston SC is a really neat city, take a horse carriage tour it is worth it, and don't miss going through the market

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of North Charleston Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sandymonte
florida
Apr 7, 2014

Bridge Run

comfortable, convient location, excellent bkfast buffet,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of North Charleston Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TF114
Virginia
Mar 16, 2014

Decent place for a one night stay

Good service at checkin and the breakfast was average. Very good location - close to shopping, food, and attractions

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search