$64 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 9, 2014 Check-out: Dec 10, 2014

North Charleston Inn

2 stars
2934 West Montague Avenue, North Charleston, SC 29418
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.7
out of 5
99 reviews
Wonderful staff, comfortable room!

Friendly staff, great amenities! Great continental breakfast, clean room. Good location. Quick... See full review

  • Akg8814
  • Mar 10, 2014
Worth it

Definately worth the cost of stay. Great staff and comfortable. See full review

  • Lg0312
  • Feb 19, 2014
Lots of free services in the center of North Charleston activities
The North Charleston Inn provides comfort and convenience at affordable prices in the heart of all North Charleston's activities -- the convention center, coliseum, performing arts center, malls and airport. Several restaurants can be found nearby.
Highlights
  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free wireless Internet service
  • Swimming pool

 

Rooms
The North Charleston Inn has 80 smoking and non-smoking rooms arranged with both the business and leisure traveler in mind. Some rooms have upgraded amenities and a view of the pool and landscaped courtyard. Guests request adjoining rooms, as well as microwaves and refrigerators.

Features
Guests at the North Charleston Inn enjoy a free continental breakfast daily and 24-hour complimentary coffee bar. This hotel has a large outdoor pool and sun deck. The North Charleston Inn provides free parking and free wireless Internet service. The 27-inch TVs have pay-per-view movies. The inn also has a covered motor lobby.

Dining
Guests can savor seafood specialties at Red Lobster next door and grab snacks at 24-hour Waffle House is across the street. Bojangles Chicken and Biscuits is a short walk away, and there are many other restaurants in all price ranges within a short drive.

Transportation
  • Charleston International Airport (2.9 mi/4.7 km)
  • Amtrak station (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Just off Interstate 26

 

Attractions
  • Charleston Area Convention Center/Performing Arts Center/Coliseum (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • North Charleston and American LaFrance Fire Museum (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Charleston Visitor Center (8.1 mi/13 km)
  • Fort Sumter and Dinner Cruises (8.9 mi/14.3 km)
  • South Carolina Aquarium (8.9 mi/14.3 km)
  • Patriots Point Naval Museum/USS Yorktown (10.7 mi/17.2 km)
  • Magnolia Plantation & Gardens (11.4 mi/18.3 km)
  • Boone Hall Plantation (14.6 mi/23.5 km)

Business
  • 3,000-square-foot meeting and banquet space

Policies and fees
Pets allowed (fees apply). Smoking permitted in some rooms.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed North Charleston Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5

North Charleston Inn Rooms

Standard
Standard features: one king or two double beds, balcony, traditional decor, desk, cable TV , High Speed Internet access, voicemail.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The North Charleston Inn plays the consummate host for meetings, weddings, group vacations, parties and special events. Create an enjoyable and lasting impression by hosting your next meeting or event at our hotel, centrally located to everything in Charleston. We are just minutes from Charleston's finest restaurants, boutiques, world-class golf, South Carolina's beautiful beaches and historic plantations. All of the hotel's 3000 square feet of meeting space is equipped with high speed internet access, and our staff is here to provide you with everything you need to make sure your event is a success. Even if you are simply attending an event at the Convention Center, stay with us, relax, and walk to your meetings instead of dealing with traffic.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (99)

Ratings and reviews for North Charleston Inn

Overall score

2.5 / 5
5.01.0
21 out of 99
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
2.5
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
2.8
Location:
3.3
Value:
3.1

48% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of North Charleston Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mr Retired.
Business
south Carolina
Oct 9, 2014

Incorrect Information

This hotel had an ideal location and the rooms were renovated nicely. One thing that disappointed me tremendously was the fact that when I booked the room, it stated that the hotel had smoking rooms ONLY to check in and find out the whole hotel is smoke free. This may not bother most but I personally enjoy a smoke before I go to bed in the comforts of my room. Other than that, great experience

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of North Charleston Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
vastex
Business
atlanta
Mar 1, 2014

dated and insects

Check in was smooth and the staff friendly and helpful. However the room was run down with obvious repaired water damaged ceiling and dated. What really set us off was waking up to roaches in the bathroom. That's unacceptable for any hotel and my wife absolutely cannot tolerate that so we checked out earlier in the day than we intended to. On a positive note their breakfast was good but we probably won't be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of North Charleston Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
looking for real estate
Business
connecticut
May 28, 2013

good value for smokers

We requested a non smoking room at the time of reservation a couple months in advance. Our confirmation reflected this. We arrived there a little after midnight and were given our room assignment. Upon opening the door we were assaulted with the smell of stale smoke. The two double bed coverings had cigarette burns in them, the refrigerator had several burns on top of it and there was an ashtray on the nightstand. We called down to the desk to complain. The desk clerk said all the rooms were non-smoking and they couldn't control if people smoked in them anyway. I asked to be relocated and was told they were completely full and had no availability. By now it was after one and we decided to just try to get some sleep and deal with it in the morning. The morning desk clerk said we were in fact in a smoking room, confirmed that there was no availability for a room change but promised to have the room deep cleaned and change the bed coverings and drapes. We came back from our appointments and the room did smell like it had been cleaned but we could still smell stale smoke although it was not nearly as bad. We went to the store and bought a bottle of extra strength febreeze and sprayed all the carpeting ,walls and other areas. This helped make it bearable.The room was old and could use updating. The continental breakfast was your usual average fair. There were enough choices to satisfy. The pool area was clean and comfortable. The area offers all types of restaurant choices and there are outlet stores and many other shopping choices so the location is ideal. We will not stay here again because of the smoking issue..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Historic downtown Charleston is only ten minutes away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of North Charleston Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
balch spring, tx 75180
May 20, 2013

night mare

It was nasty I had roaches in my room and in the bed with me. I was put at the back of the hotel. My bed sheets where nasty . I asked to be moved. And they said that I had to wait on a manager because they could give me back my money so I didn't get much sleep. I will never ever go pass that place again.and you should never send no one there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of North Charleston Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kaly T
Business
South Carolina
Apr 28, 2013

Overnight Trip Before a Race

We checked in late and the staff still working was pleasant. The room had the minimum requirements of what a room should have and was clean. The breakfast in the morning was a good way to start the day before my race! The hotel is a quick and easy find, and it is located very close to the highway for easy travel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Two gas stations across the street in walking distance, but the one closed early and the other did not accept cash.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of North Charleston Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mary Kay Woman
Business
Austell Ga
Aug 21, 2011

It's not what it appears to be

I am use to staying in a hotel not wondering if bugs are going to be in bed with me. The mattress were old. The entry or lobby to the hotel is nice and the people are friendly but the individual rooms are not what I would like to stay in. I would rather pay more and sleep in comfort than pay less and worry about bugs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of North Charleston Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
North Charleston SC
Jun 11, 2011

Last Minute Business Trip

I had a last minute business trip, one day to plan.  Did it all through [@].  The price was fantastic and travel arrangements were good for the price.  The North Charleston Inn may not be like the towering hotels near it, but it has something they do not, charm!  If I had a problem (not many at all) or concern the staff handled it within minutes!  The rooms had everything I needed and everything worked - fridge, microwave, TV and the bed was comfortable which is more I can say for the last time I stayed in N. Charleston at one of the higher end properties.  If you like charm over pretentiousness, definitely stay at the North Charleston Inn.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of North Charleston Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Aug 31, 2010

Never Again

This hotel was right off the highway, had airplanes flying so low I thought they were landing in my room, and it was definitely in a not-so-fantastic area of town. I am a younger female that was traveling by myself, and I can honestly say that I was slightly scared. I talked to a few locals while in the area, and they all agreed that this was not a good place and/or area to stay. The website also claims that this hotel has a restaurant, which it does not, apparently it closed sometime last year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of North Charleston Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fairfax, VA
Jul 24, 2010

Decent Accomodations

The location is very convenient, an immediate turn off of Interstate 26 from either direction. The room was as described, two double beds with TV, mini fridge and microwave. The beds were not very comfortable, and the pillows were worse. Bring your own pillow! The noise level was very high all night, between people walking around and planes overhead. One plane was so loud I was preparing for my room to turn in to a fiery crash scene.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of North Charleston Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
bitten and bitter
Business
Charleston SC
May 28, 2010

bedbugs....do not stay

Not horrible with service and cleanliness, but bed bugs are kind of a deal breaker.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top