$64 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 18, 2014 Check-out: Nov 19, 2014

North Charleston Inn

2 stars
2934 West Montague Avenue, North Charleston, SC 29418
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.7
out of 5
99 reviews
Wonderful staff, comfortable room!

Friendly staff, great amenities! Great continental breakfast, clean room. Good location. Quick... See full review

  • Akg8814
  • Mar 10, 2014
Worth it

Definately worth the cost of stay. Great staff and comfortable. See full review

  • Lg0312
  • Feb 19, 2014
Lots of free services in the center of North Charleston activities
The North Charleston Inn provides comfort and convenience at affordable prices in the heart of all North Charleston's activities -- the convention center, coliseum, performing arts center, malls and airport. Several restaurants can be found nearby.
Highlights
  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free wireless Internet service
  • Swimming pool

 

Rooms
The North Charleston Inn has 80 smoking and non-smoking rooms arranged with both the business and leisure traveler in mind. Some rooms have upgraded amenities and a view of the pool and landscaped courtyard. Guests request adjoining rooms, as well as microwaves and refrigerators.

Features
Guests at the North Charleston Inn enjoy a free continental breakfast daily and 24-hour complimentary coffee bar. This hotel has a large outdoor pool and sun deck. The North Charleston Inn provides free parking and free wireless Internet service. The 27-inch TVs have pay-per-view movies. The inn also has a covered motor lobby.

Dining
Guests can savor seafood specialties at Red Lobster next door and grab snacks at 24-hour Waffle House is across the street. Bojangles Chicken and Biscuits is a short walk away, and there are many other restaurants in all price ranges within a short drive.

Transportation
  • Charleston International Airport (2.9 mi/4.7 km)
  • Amtrak station (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Just off Interstate 26

 

Attractions
  • Charleston Area Convention Center/Performing Arts Center/Coliseum (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • North Charleston and American LaFrance Fire Museum (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Charleston Visitor Center (8.1 mi/13 km)
  • Fort Sumter and Dinner Cruises (8.9 mi/14.3 km)
  • South Carolina Aquarium (8.9 mi/14.3 km)
  • Patriots Point Naval Museum/USS Yorktown (10.7 mi/17.2 km)
  • Magnolia Plantation & Gardens (11.4 mi/18.3 km)
  • Boone Hall Plantation (14.6 mi/23.5 km)

Business
  • 3,000-square-foot meeting and banquet space

Policies and fees
Pets allowed (fees apply). Smoking permitted in some rooms.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

32.87 -80.0136
Area served
North Charleston, SC
Nearby airports
Charleston International Airport (CHS)
Area description
The North Charleston Coliseum and Convention Center Complex are two blocks from this two-story, airport-area hotel.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed North Charleston Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5

North Charleston Inn Rooms

Standard
Standard features: one king or two double beds, balcony, traditional decor, desk, cable TV , High Speed Internet access, voicemail.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The North Charleston Inn plays the consummate host for meetings, weddings, group vacations, parties and special events. Create an enjoyable and lasting impression by hosting your next meeting or event at our hotel, centrally located to everything in Charleston. We are just minutes from Charleston's finest restaurants, boutiques, world-class golf, South Carolina's beautiful beaches and historic plantations. All of the hotel's 3000 square feet of meeting space is equipped with high speed internet access, and our staff is here to provide you with everything you need to make sure your event is a success. Even if you are simply attending an event at the Convention Center, stay with us, relax, and walk to your meetings instead of dealing with traffic.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (99)

Ratings and reviews for North Charleston Inn

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
99 out of 99
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
2.8
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
2.9
Location:
3.3
Value:
3.2

51% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of North Charleston Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
happygolucky
Business
Raleigh, NC
Jan 22, 2014

Roach Motel

Awful..where do I begin? The place was remodeled last spring and we stayed there last June and it was decent for the money. Well a lot has changed in 6 months. The outside looked a little worn and there were contractors EVERYWHERE!! IN EVERY ROOM.. loud, and smoking. The room reeked of smoke and God knows what else. A trip to Wal mart and a can of Lysol did nothing for that odor. The refrigerator had dead roaches in it. Turned the light on in the bathroom and two roaches were using the tub as a racetrack! But, the WORST was the bed. Down right scary....lumpy like there was a waded up comforter in the mattress. VERY uncomfortable, could not sleep on it you would roll off the right side. Person on the left side had to hang onto the edge!! I'm not making this up! I peeked in other rooms because I was going to complain...the same way! No kidding, my husband said oh well it is one night. I slept 2 hours when I got the high side of the bed...hubby woke me up when he tried to turn over and grabbed me and we both went over! RUN from this place!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of North Charleston Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Apr 27, 2007

My review of North Charleston Inn

I was awakened by a huge PALMETTO BUG crawling all over me at 2:30 am and could not go back to sleep. I killed the bug and took it to the front desk so that the hotel management and staff could see it. They fully docimented my displeasure. BOTTOM LINE: The hotel stay was absolutely HORRIBLE!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of North Charleston Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Aug 31, 2010

Never Again

This hotel was right off the highway, had airplanes flying so low I thought they were landing in my room, and it was definitely in a not-so-fantastic area of town. I am a younger female that was traveling by myself, and I can honestly say that I was slightly scared. I talked to a few locals while in the area, and they all agreed that this was not a good place and/or area to stay. The website also claims that this hotel has a restaurant, which it does not, apparently it closed sometime last year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of North Charleston Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
TerryB
Business
Jersey, GA, USA
Oct 24, 2011

Very disapointed!

The staff Ann was as nice as she could be when I told her I wanted to cancel for the second night. She even changed my room for me the first night. The Hotel was old and run down. You had cargo plains flying over all the time. Cob webs from the ceilings and bathroom doors that would not shut. Broken coffee maker, no hangers. I would not want to stay there, again. This should not be a hotel on your list without letting people know that it is a budget hotel and very old. Smells, as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of North Charleston Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ann lu
Business
Greenville.sc
Jul 3, 2012

Need a lot of updates

It was ok, the room was clean but had that smell like dusty rug/dirty clothes/smoke.... The staff was ok. The breakfast was ok...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Tanger outlets.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of North Charleston Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ann lu
Business
Greenville.sc
Jul 2, 2012

Lil update

It was ok , need a lil update, looks really old ....The room was clean but had that smell like dusty rug/old clothes/smoke . The staff was ok!! The free breakfast was ok..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Tanger outlets

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of North Charleston Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
balch spring, tx 75180
May 20, 2013

night mare

It was nasty I had roaches in my room and in the bed with me. I was put at the back of the hotel. My bed sheets where nasty . I asked to be moved. And they said that I had to wait on a manager because they could give me back my money so I didn't get much sleep. I will never ever go pass that place again.and you should never send no one there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of North Charleston Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
warzbird
Business
north Charleston
May 23, 2013

terrible hotel

The room smelled and had burn holes in the comforter. It was just a dump and I would never stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Down town Charleston wet willies

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of North Charleston Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Lucyz2
Business
Orlando, fl
Jun 26, 2013

Horrible hotel RUN FOR YOUR LIFE

I booked a double NONsmoking room. When I got there I had to look at several rooms but all were SMOKING. I dealt with it even though I had trouble breathing. Went to the pool only to find it over run by cock roaches. Then at 4am I got an unplanned wake up call. The wake up calls continued until 5 am when I called the front desk to have them stop sending a wake up call. The lady at the front desk told me to unplug the phone then she hung up on me. In the morning I went to the front desk to check out and let them know my problems. The assistant general manager Michelle asked me "how did you book your room?" I told her I booked through this web site. She told me "that's why you got a SMOKING room. when you book through a third party you get what we WANT to give you" What? Are you kidding me? DO NOT BOOK THIS HOTEL. RUN FOR YOUR LIFE.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of North Charleston Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
sunshine20
Business
st.paul
Jun 24, 2013

loud and scary

As three young ladies traveling, this was quite scary and ghetto. People were hanging and lingering around everywhere. It was loud all night from people walking and talking. Your typical motel room. I was tired enough to just sleep through the night but we were all very eager to leave the next morning. Although it was easy to find and right off the highway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top