$101 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 14, 2015 Check-out: Apr 17, 2015

BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites

3 stars
View map of 2470 Prospect Drive, North Charleston, SC 29406-4433

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
180 reviews
Good hotel,great price

The hotel was a really great price. It was located near a lot of convenient places. It was clean... See full review

  • Florida resident177777
  • Dec 29, 2014
I loved it

I loved this hotel and everything about it. The customer service was awesome. See full review

  • Dontra
  • Dec 3, 2014
Airport hotel with free amenities close to Charleston attractions
The Charleston Best Western Airport Inn & Suites offers convenient access to the Charleston Coliseum, convention center, historic downtown Charleston and the airport. The rooms and suites are spacious, with refrigerators and microwaves and free high-speed Internet. The Best Western Airport Inn & Suites offers a free continental breakfast, fitness center and a heated indoor pool.
Highlights
  • Convenient to airport, sporting events, convention center
  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Free Internet access
Rooms
The Best Western Airport Inn & Suites has 74 guest rooms, 70 are smoke-free. There are 15 suites and four accessible rooms.
Dining
The Best Western Airport Inn & Suites serves a free continental breakfast. The hotel is adjacent to Cracker Barrel and IHOP family restaurants and other restaurants are nearby.
Transportation
  • Charleston airport (7.9 mi/12.7 km)
  • Adjacent to Interstate 26
  • Amtrak station (6.9 mi/11.1 km)
Attractions
  • Charleston Area Convention Center (6.5 mi/10.5 km)
  • North Charleston Coliseum (6.5 mi/10.5 km)
  • North Charleston and American LaFrance Fire Museum (6.5 mi/10.5 km)
  • Charleston Visitor Center (13.4 mi/21.6 km)
  • Fort Sumter and Dinner Cruises (14.2 mi/22.9 km)
  • Drayton Plantation (15.3 mi/24.6 km)
  • Patriots Point Park including USS Yorktown (16.2 mi/26.1 km)
Business
  • Photocopy and fax service available (fees apply)
  • Meeting room accommodates up to 75 people

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites Rooms

1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,REFRIG,MICRWV,HI SPEED NET,TV 32IN,FULL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,REFRIG,MICRWV,HI SPEED NET,TV 32IN,FULL BREAKFAST
SUITE-2 QUEEN BEDS
SUITE-2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,3RD BD SOFA,OVERSIZED RM,MICRO FRIG,FULL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,NSMK,2 RM STE,WHIRLPL,2NDBD SOFA,MICFRG,FULL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,NSMK,EX SUITE,2 RMS,SOFABED,MICFRG,HISPD,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,MOBACC,COMAST,ROLLSH,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST
SUITE--2 ROOMS 1 BED
SUITE--2 ROOMS 1 BED,MOBACC,COMM ASSIST,BATH,WHIRL,SOFBD,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST
SUITE--2 ROOMS 1 BED
SUITE--2 ROOMS 1 BED,MOBILITY ACC,COMMASSIST,BATHTB,SFBD,NSM,FULL BREAKFAST
SUITE-2 QUEEN BEDS
SUITE-2 QUEEN BEDS,MOBILITY ACC,COMMASSIST,BATHTB,SFBD,NSM,FULL BREAKFAST

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Exercise gym
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Guest laundromat
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
FAX
Conference facilities
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Truck parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Room
Television with cable
Radio
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Over sized rooms
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Electronic door locks
Ironing board

Dining

Noisy Oyster
1.00 mile(s) from Noisy Oyster, full service, Seafood, open for: lunch, dinner,
Denny's
1.00 mile(s) from Denny's, full service, American, open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner,
Sticky Fingers
1.40 mile(s) from Sticky Fingers, full service, American, open for: lunch, dinner,
Outback Steakhouse
1.25 mile(s) from Outback Steakhouse, full service, Steakhouse, open for: dinner,
IHOP
Adjacent to IHOP, full service, American, open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner,
Longhorn Steakhouse
0.75 mile(s) from Longhorn Steakhouse, full service, American, open for: lunch, dinner,
Wild Wings
1.00 mile(s) from Wild Wings, full service, American, open for: lunch, dinner,
Cracker Barrel
Adjacent to Cracker Barrel, full service, American, open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner,
O'Charley's
1.00 mile(s) from O'Charley's, full service, American, open for: lunch, dinner,
Hooter's
2.00 mile(s) from Hooter's, full service, American, open for: lunch, dinner,

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
180 out of 180
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.9

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Military Landlord
Business
Hampton Roads, VA
Feb 17, 2014

Should've Listened to the Reviews

I was pleasantly surprised when I walked into the lobby of this hotel and it was beautiful... I had read about the overwhelming cigarette stench in the rooms so I was both pleased and a bit offended that I had to sign two different waivers stating that I would not smoke in the room. I have never, EVER been a smoker... Checked in and got my room key. When I walked up to the room, it was open! Like literally the door was open for anyone to come in. The smell of cigarette smoke was completely overwhelming. I asked to get another room but the hotel was booked full because of the recent winter storm blackouts. The next day, after coming back to the room, the smell was even worse. I am not an allergy suffer, but my throat has been sore since the first night and I have been coughing uncontrollably. I am NEVER staying at this hotel again. I am definitely calling to get at least some of my money back. Definitely not worth $100+ a night. Stay away!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Pattymay
Business
Cleveland, Ohio
Jul 13, 2012

Terrible experience

We stayed at this hotel for one night, on 7/6/12. When we arrived at the hotel there was a reunion party going on people roaming the halls, slamming doors. This went on all night long. We had to get up at 4 to catch a plane, we didn't need to worry we were up every 1/2 hour with the loud noise. There were no sheets or pillows to be found for the pull out couch. We were told the linen closet was locked. The gentleman at the desk did recommend a good restaurant. Would not recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
nmck
Business
Chareleston Sc
Sep 15, 2013

Very poor hotel and accomadations

Staff was not professional, had one person working front desk, multiable phones ringing while trying to check us in. Very loud and banging of hammers until 11:00 pm. We did not report because we were afraid we would not get transport to airport next day. That is just the type of employees we felt worked there. When we went to our room we did not leave due to not feeling safe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Patrick Blue in Green
Business
Monterey, CA
Oct 20, 2013

A comedy of errors

On arrival, I was found a chaotic front desk.One person was (attempting) to simultaneously handle all phones, check-ins and check-outs at the hotel's front desk-an impossible task and a first indication of future difficulties. Not a good sign. Upon check-in was told my credit card would have a temporary $150.00 hold to cover "incidentals". Asked what possible "incidentals" I could incur in this out-of-the-way establishment I was told that it was just "hotel policy". Went to my room and tried to go online to get some work done only to find that the advertised free wi-fi was not functioning. Called the front desk & was sent someone who seemed to know little about computers in general and nothing about the hotel's wi-fi in particular. So no wi-fi for the duration of my stay. Nice. OK, decided to try and get some news on the TV only to discover that there was no menu guide provided thus necessitating repeatedly clicking through most of the channels before I was able to find my desired selection. Again called the front desk and the same person who had addressed the wi-fi problem brought me a guide for the TV. As I was waiting for his arrival, I noticed that both of the notepads provided in the room appeared to have coffee stains. Wondered what else in the room might be dirty. Nasty. Also discovered a notice stating that, upon my departure, if any towels were determined to be missing, my bill would be adjusted accordingly. This must be what the $150.00 "incidental" proviso is intended to address. Must have a serious theft problem.Tacky. (An itemized price list was provided should I wish to purchase one of the hotel's apparently highly coveted bath mats or wash clothes.) Hours later, when I went to purchase something in the hotel's vending machine it took my dollar bill but refused my quarters and thus my selection. What next? Went to the front desk to address this but found the lobby to be nearly filled with guests, most of whom were speaking French, the all phones ringing off the hook and the same unfortunate front desk associate still doing her best in an impossible situation. Decided to forget it but ran into the same person who'd been dispatched earlier re: the failed wi-fi, etc. and together, many quarters and some laughs later, were able to get the machine to work. By now the hotel stay had become so bad as to approach the comedic. The staff I encountered were pleasant and certainly tried but... This hotel is a below standard, mis-managed and tired. It needs a serious refresh. I don't recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mona Frankli Armstrong
Business
North Charleston
Oct 28, 2013

State meeting

Not the best experience. The front desk people didn't communicate well because when I checked in I found problems the minute I opened the door. The room was very smokey and I did ask for a non smoking room. The microwave didn't work the front desk clerk gave me some spray to spray the room for the smoke smell and some carpet fresh to sprinkle on the rug. That didn't work to well I had to open the window and the heat didn't work at all that and the temperature drop that night a I did ask for another room but was not successful all I was offered from the front desk was extra blankets which didn't work to well. Over all the room was nice even with the smell but my stay was horrible. I also asked for a manager but one was not available until the next morning at 9:00am. That was just not great at all I couldn't wait till the next morning I left as fast as I could and told them that I would never stay there again without checking out the more in detail. I think that I should deserve a full refund for my not so go room stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dee Don't Do It Again
Business
Richmond, VA
Feb 18, 2010

Never Again

Done a lot of traveling and not satisified with this hotel. They had the wrong room booked which started it all. This did get corrected but the hotel had a unpleasant smell that triggered my allergies. There was a radio/cd player in the room, but it did not work. There were 2 flat screen tv, which one would turn on and off by itself and the other one was so cloudy it was not worth watching. The room ran out of hot water. Lastly, even with putting the door hanger on the outside door for housekeeping to clean the room, they did not clean the room. In speaking with the office manager, there was nothing offered to soothe over the experience. Don't think I will stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charlotte, NC
Jul 24, 2011

Cheap, but not worth the savings

My friend and I stayed at the hotel for 4 nights. The hotel was very conveniently located near restaurants, airport, Tanger Outlets, and the coliseum. However, the hotel staff was very rude and the hotel was not very clean. The sheets were very rough and stained. Our carpets had burn marks on them and half of the lights did not work. We went down for breakfast about 20 minutes before it closed and they were already putting away the food. If I was going back to this area of town again, I would most definitely pay an extra 20-50 dollars per night to have decent sheets, service, and overall experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ADH
Business
Chicago, IL
Apr 30, 2010

Poor overall experience

Definitely lacking in service, quality only mitigated by the convenience of location by the CHS airport. Had requested a crib/Pack N' Play to be ready upon our arrival - the hotel would not hold one for us, despite our having already paid for the room and calling to ask for this slight accomodation for our stay. When we arrived, we were put in a room already occupied by another hotel guest and the front desk could not have been more clueless about the entire situation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
in need of a shower
Business
North carolina
May 30, 2011

Great if you dont need a shower!

The hotel inself would have been a great base to see the Charleston area. Our big problem was the lack of hot water the first morning to enjoy a shower and the second morning no water at all. Worse than camping...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
greenville, sc
Mar 24, 2011

Terrible service and Management

We booked a king, non smoking for 2 nights. We arrived at 3:45, 45 minutes after checkin. We were asked by the counter attendant if we had a reservation. We replied yes, and he proceeded to look us up. He couldn't find out reservation, and told us he would call room service to make sure there was a room available that was already cleaned...at 3:45 in the afternoon?He finds our reservation and sends us on our way after 15 minutes of discussing where we would stay over the phone with management. We go to our room to find 2 double/baby queen beds. Of course, we are married and reserved a king, so we went back down to inquire. Management told us that they overbooked and it was too bad for us. There was nothing that she could do but offer us that room, then we could move the second night to a king room. A told her I understood, but what caused the overbook. She replied with a smirk and told me that Guest chose to stay over and that they TRUMP any new guest and parties who book with [...]. I was extremely dissatisfied and will never stay with this Worst Western ever again. No one in this place understands customer service, or even manners. Very rude and very unfriendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top