$97 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 29, 2015 Check-out: Apr 1, 2015

BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites

3 stars
View map of 2470 Prospect Drive, North Charleston, SC 29406-4433

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
180 out of 180
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.9

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Patrick Blue in Green
Business
Monterey, CA
Oct 20, 2013

A comedy of errors

On arrival, I was found a chaotic front desk.One person was (attempting) to simultaneously handle all phones, check-ins and check-outs at the hotel's front desk-an impossible task and a first indication of future difficulties. Not a good sign. Upon check-in was told my credit card would have a temporary $150.00 hold to cover "incidentals". Asked what possible "incidentals" I could incur in this out-of-the-way establishment I was told that it was just "hotel policy". Went to my room and tried to go online to get some work done only to find that the advertised free wi-fi was not functioning. Called the front desk & was sent someone who seemed to know little about computers in general and nothing about the hotel's wi-fi in particular. So no wi-fi for the duration of my stay. Nice. OK, decided to try and get some news on the TV only to discover that there was no menu guide provided thus necessitating repeatedly clicking through most of the channels before I was able to find my desired selection. Again called the front desk and the same person who had addressed the wi-fi problem brought me a guide for the TV. As I was waiting for his arrival, I noticed that both of the notepads provided in the room appeared to have coffee stains. Wondered what else in the room might be dirty. Nasty. Also discovered a notice stating that, upon my departure, if any towels were determined to be missing, my bill would be adjusted accordingly. This must be what the $150.00 "incidental" proviso is intended to address. Must have a serious theft problem.Tacky. (An itemized price list was provided should I wish to purchase one of the hotel's apparently highly coveted bath mats or wash clothes.) Hours later, when I went to purchase something in the hotel's vending machine it took my dollar bill but refused my quarters and thus my selection. What next? Went to the front desk to address this but found the lobby to be nearly filled with guests, most of whom were speaking French, the all phones ringing off the hook and the same unfortunate front desk associate still doing her best in an impossible situation. Decided to forget it but ran into the same person who'd been dispatched earlier re: the failed wi-fi, etc. and together, many quarters and some laughs later, were able to get the machine to work. By now the hotel stay had become so bad as to approach the comedic. The staff I encountered were pleasant and certainly tried but... This hotel is a below standard, mis-managed and tired. It needs a serious refresh. I don't recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mr. Consultant
Business
Norfolk, Virginia
Oct 7, 2013

I enjoyed it very much

I had great time. The staff were great. The pool was very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
svaz
Business
Florence, SC
Sep 23, 2013

convenient clean getaway

The room and the hotel were very clean. aside from the beds being a little hard, our stay was very good. The location was easy to find and very close to the highway. Which made it easy to drive around and find places to eat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
nmck
Business
Chareleston Sc
Sep 15, 2013

Very poor hotel and accomadations

Staff was not professional, had one person working front desk, multiable phones ringing while trying to check us in. Very loud and banging of hammers until 11:00 pm. We did not report because we were afraid we would not get transport to airport next day. That is just the type of employees we felt worked there. When we went to our room we did not leave due to not feeling safe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
StrandedBusiness Traveler
Business
Lansing, Mi
Sep 14, 2013

Better than the luxury chains!

I came here after several days at a conference center hotel, and could not have been more delighted. Perfectly clean hotel, charming staff and even a full breakfast and airport shuttle at less than half the cost. If I had it to do over again, I'd stay here and rent a car. The only improvement would be fresh fruit at breakfast. Be sure to ask the staff for their ideas and assistance, they were truly helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Noisy Oyster sounded good, but was aggressively mediocre. Plenty of chain restaurants around that probably would have been lots better.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MrFJH
Business
Columbia, SC, USA
Aug 22, 2013

Nice Clean Hotel

Perfect place to stay while traveling for business

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kawika
Business
Honolulu, HI, USA
Aug 16, 2013

very clean and comfortable

The room was spotless, big, comfortable, and quiet. Breakfast was just okay, nothing special. The location is fine if you want to be near the airport, but it's about a 15-20 minute ride to get to Charleston. Overall, a very positive experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chrissyhubbard
Business
Wilmington , NC
Jun 30, 2013

Nice

It was a good place to stay . The gym needs to be cleaned . The elevator is super slow and the breakfast bar was clean and very organized but needs more healthy alternatives! Your cleaning staff are AWESOME and the front desk was super nice. I would stay here again .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NiXorbitz
Business
Chicago, IL
Jun 17, 2013

Just what i needed

It is really nice for the price! Heck of a deal! Best Western's are typically really good in my experience. Only problem was the staff were horrible. She didn't greet me when i entered, just asked if i had a reservation, then kept taking calls in the middle of our reservation, getting halfway through answering the person's question, then put them on hold and take another call. Was probably 15 minuets to get checked in. Otherwise everything was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
joy road warrior
Business
Sarasota, FL
Jun 13, 2013

Not very business friendly, more for family vacations.

Had to pay for early check in, even through they had rooms available, probably mine from the reservation. Breakfast, even "free", was very poor quality and very limited selections. Not even Yogurt or English Muffins to make a breakfast sandwich with the poor quality scrambled eggs and greasy sausage triangles. Would not stay there again, even if the price is good, as a business traveler I need a bit more "care" from the staff and amenities, plus location was very difficult for even local business folks to find.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top