$67 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 13, 2015 Check-out: Sep 16, 2015

Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

4 stars
View map of 415 S. Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
268 out of 268
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.7

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Stew 51
Couples
Maryland
Jan 21, 2013

We had a great stay

Very clean Resort with nice staff, just what we needed on a beach get away, will do it again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
militarywifeandmom36
Family
fayetteville, nc
Jul 8, 2013

Vacation that bombed

This is a time share hotel. So the part where it says that you have a stove, microwave, and washer and dryer in your room are for the time shares only! The hotel never felt like it was clean, and the refrigerator that we did have in our room was a piece of junk! We had brought food because we thought that there was a stove, microwave, etc in our room. We had to get ice from the ice machine to put into the refrigerator to keep our food cold enough! The only nice thing about this hotel was the fact that it was on the beach, and there was a lazy river for the kids to play on. Most all of the hotel was in need of repair or they were repairing while we were there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Refreshed and Rejuvenated
Family
Pittsburgh, PA
Jul 1, 2013

Great location but lacking in some areas

Timeshare facility with public access. Constant daily sales tours. Most of the staff was willing to assist when necessary. Tried to order room service the first night but was told they were too busy over the phone. Oceanfront property was great!! Kiddie pool kept my child occupied and entertained! Had a fridge inside the room but no microwave. Really? And the fridge was small. Holes in the bathroom walls. Housekeeping staff was friendly and helpful. Asked for a crib but was given a pack n play...and a broken one at that. Used our own pack n play instead. Friendly's restaurant located right across the street. Only owners in the timeshare could park in the lot directly in front of the resort. All others had to park across the street in a private lot. All-in-all, it wasn't bad. I've stayed in a lot better and a lot worse. An easy drive to Broadway at the Beach and the outlets.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fun with the Tanrus
Family
Toledo, ohio
Jun 23, 2013

Great Family Spot

This was our 1st family vacation. We stayed in the north tower in a 1 room villa. The pull out sofa bed was thin but comfortable for my 2 sons (6 & 8 yo). The king size bed was very comfortable and the room was very spacious and well stocked. The kitchen came equipped with pots/pans and dish ware. The location was great for finding things to do since family kingdom was right across the street. plenty of shops and places to eat within walking distance. A downside was the parking but we really only had an issue with finding a spot when we returned after 10pm. The hotel was making updates and there was some construction but we did not see or hear any of it. The only other negative was the timeshare staff. They were constantly showing rooms throughout the day and would walk thought the pool area. Since there was only 1 elevator area, it became quite crowded with those people and the tours. I would really recommend this hotel but to stay in the villa. I do not know how the regular rooms rate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Ripley's Aquarium is fun but small and not really worth the price. Me devil times dinner theater was a favorite of ours and enjoyed by all of us(however it was expensive so goggle for coupons)

Review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Val RN
Couples
Indiana
Jun 20, 2013

Myrtle Beach Trip

Upon arriving we were initially pleased but that ended soon. Our room was satisfactory, but we did upgrade. The hot tub at the resort was not working, the outside pool bar was also out of commission. I never saw anyone cleaning the pool or checking water purity levels to ensure sanitary levels. Their were workers painting the building and their was scaffolding around. I appreciate the hotel wan ting to maintain but I would of thought this would be done on off season and not during high peak travelers. This is not a resort for couples! family yes, to loud.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

bring walking shoes, you must pay for parking everywhere!!

Review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fun in the MB sun
Family
kentucky
Jun 18, 2013

Fun in the mb sun

The hotel was very nice! I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travel man 100
Single
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Jun 1, 2013

Myrtle Beach

It's in a great location. You don't have to use your car. Not a five star hotel, but you will be pleased.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Make sure you do your homework because some of these little burger places are expensive.

Review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Paying guest but nonowner
Couples
Kansas City, MO
May 21, 2013

Great for "owners" average for "guests"

I would like to say that the hotel rooms were amazing! Very spacious and comfortable! My boyfriend and I were looking to spend a long, relaxing weekend on the beach. We flew in, packing only carry on luggage. There are 2 parts to the resort, condos and hotel. The hotel is a pretty good walk away from the main lobby. I was unaware, and it wasn't a pleasant surprise since we arrived with arms full of luggage. No sort of complimentary breakfast, and wifi only allows for one item log in at a time. Our biggest disappointment came when we tried to use an umbrella and chairs on the beach. We approached the man checking the items out by the pool. He looked at us and asked if the front desk sent us out there and we told him no. He then asked if we were "owners", to which we again told him no. Only owners were allowed to use the resorts umbrellas and chairs. Every time we asked a question, the answer came back to whether or not we were owners. It was slightly belittling and degrading. I did not appreciate feeling like less of a guest because I was a "guest" not an "owner".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The 2nd ave pier restaraunt is delicious and has an open air bar above! Definitely worth dining in!

Review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BoundLabrys924
Philadelphia, PA
May 15, 2013

On the beach!

Had a great deal on this hotel and opted for an upgraded the ocean view room with 2 queen beds. The view was absolutely amazing, and the beds were comfortable. Though I was a bit disappointed, the hotel itself, especially the rooms seemed to be old with kind of just some paint splashed on them over the years and the TV had terrible service- the picture was disproportionate and kept going in and out. Also, was not a huge fan that I had to park across the street because I was not staying in one of the "towers." Breakfast was surprisingly and amazingly cheap, the eggs needed to be cooked more but for the price it was pretty good. Overall, good spot if you want to be close to the ocean, you can literally step off the hotel's back deck and be on the beach. Also, though I did not use the pools, they looked very well maintained. I would give this hotel a 4-star rating compared to others hotels in the area, nothing more or less. Great family spot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

To the airport, the front desk will call the cab for you and it is $9.20 each way.

Review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nan a boo
Family
Chicago, Illinois
May 14, 2013

Westgate Oceanfront Resort

Room was sufficent for our purpose. Didn't spend much time there. Staff was very nice!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MrMac2
Couples
Ypsilanti, MI
Apr 18, 2013

Westgate, really.

Among the worst travel experiences I can recall. Myrtle Beach did not disappoint ... but the Westgate did. Please understand that there is a difference in the 'Hotel' and the 'Resort' don't be fooled, the hotel is a mess, mold on the wall, slow draining sinks, poor WiFi connections (if you can get it to work). We had to change rooms twice and the breakfast omelet looked as if it was cooked in old cooking oil ... on the other hand the ocean view was great. Don't think I want to stay with Westgate again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are a number of good breakfast restaurants in the area - DO NOT EAT AT THE WESTGATE RESTAURANT

Back to menu Return to top