$104 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 17, 2015 Check-out: May 20, 2015

Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

4 stars
View map of 415 S. Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
309 out of 309
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.7

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Likes to sleep
Business
North Carolina
Nov 12, 2013

Myrtle Beach

Cleaning staff was extremely loud cleaning the rooms around us between 8am and 9am each morning. The shower temperature was very inconsistent. We took cold showers a few times. Room decor has been updated, but overall the hotel is run down. Won't stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Renee of the North
Business
Myrtle Beach, SC
Nov 11, 2013

After check-in problem, the rest was very good

Was told at check-in that our reservation had been canceled the day after we booked. Staff did not offer to call the booking company so we called ourselves - still don't know what happened because we were told the reservation was fine. Finally got it cleared up but what a hassle when all we wanted to do after a 5 hours drive was get to our room. Anyway, once settled in, all was well. Bed was most comfortable we've ever slept in. Boardwalk and beach was beautiful. Didn't like they charged to walk the pier though. Only $1, but still. We chose to go off season so no crowds, which we liked. Probably wouldn't be a good time for families though because the amusement park was closed. Had a balcony room so was able to leave the door open and listen to the waves. Housekeeping staff was wonderful, no problem having them come at a later time to clean the room. Oh, water pressure was really low and very small bathroom counter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Captain George's Seafood Buffet was fabulous!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Coach KK
Business
Charlotte, NC
Nov 5, 2013

Awesome

Awesome upgraded without even asking. Brand new room and all the comforts of home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Friendlys

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mechele
Business
New Jersey
Nov 3, 2013

Great

We only stayed one night but the staff was very nice. We stayed off season and was allowed to check in early which was good b/c our plane landed early.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Coach KK
Business
Charlotte, NC
Oct 23, 2013

Excellent - Clean, New and Great Location

I was pleasantly suprised at the great accomodations. It was a brand new tower and was upgraded to a queen suite with ocean view at no cost or request from me when we went to check in. It's right across the street from the amusement park. The ocean was so close and beautiful pools, hot tub and lazy river. The buffet was a good value for the money. Cheap and had everything my daughter and I like to eat in the morning. Plus Friendly's restuarant is right across the street for a good treat at the end of the day!!! It was great. Ask for Nyteli who waited on me when I checked in!! Great job and hotel. I stayed this past weekend, 10/26/13

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Right across the street from the Amusement park and a Friendly's restuarant.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
crysf
Business
charleston, sc
Oct 22, 2013

ok

My overall experience of the hotel was fine. The shower and the shower curtains could have been cleaned better. There were also cockroaches on the balcony

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Did not get what we expec
Business
Winston-Salem, NC
Oct 22, 2013

Disappointed

When we arrived the 1st thing aftrer we checked in we were directed to a desk so that we could be approached about a time share opportunity at this "resort". We most certainly would not have stayed there if we knew that this would happen, But, after staying there we are certainly glad we did not get talked into this!! Bathroom smelled like mold-mildew - not good for people with allergies like my wife. Found the source, the sink. Also, wall under countertop adjacent to sink had obvious moisture problems - wall finish was puckered out...Tried to change to another room that was the "same", various rooms under repair/remodeling. Nothing any better - so we settled for the original room. Room safe not working, had to have it replaced. Disappointed with the advertisement from which we booked the room - it said "newly remodeled" when it should have said "remodeling in progress...". Door to hallway had big gap at the top, so much for the fire rating. could hear other guests conversations through the walls. Balconies not private, all joined together & only separated by railings - people in neighboring rooms could easily peer around and look directly into your room. Cleaning staff very noisy outside our room where we had a do not disturb sign on the door - they were yelling up and down the hallway to each other in the mornings while we were trying to rest. We left the room one day just after noon and were gone all afternoon, yet our room was not cleaned. The next day we left the room about 11:30, saw the cleaning staff still on the hallway, yet our room was not cleaned. This was ok since the room was not really dirty or in need of cleaning. Evenso, when I went to the front desk to ask for one regular and one decaf coffee pack (which the cleaning staff would have provided had they visited the room) the desk staff person provided them but quickly reminded me that any more than that is an extra charge - funny, they are saving money by not cleaning our room, but scared they will lose a few pennies for coffee that would have been provided and that most people don't use anyway??? Parking was terrible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kenneth Mic
Business
Taylor Michigan
Oct 6, 2013

Anniversary get away

This place worked out great for us. We went in late September the facility was centrally located and very cost effective. Close enough for us to walk almost everywhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Coltbritt
Business
Chicago, IL
Sep 20, 2013

Beautiful relaxing retreat

My wife and I had a wonderful time at this Resort! Beautiful beach, plenty of poolside lounge chairs, one of the only Resorts with a pool side bar (complete with fantastic cocktails and drink specials)! The staff was extremely friendly and helpful! Good location, a little walk from the main hub but we loved it since it's such a gorgeous walk down the boardwalk. We would definitely return and recommend to other couples and families!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ocean Watersports for parasailing! AMAZING! Dirty Don's Oyster Bar & Grill - Fantastic specials on oysters!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TEE P
Business
PHILLY
Sep 10, 2013

FAMILY TIME

WE HAD A GOOD TIME, THE HOTEL HAS MANY AMENITIES FOR ALL AGES.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top